We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our vacation was ruined once we arrived to this hotel lobby....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Bay Sands to your Saves list
Marina Bay Sands
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our vacation was ruined once we arrived to this hotel lobby....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

- Our rooms were not available when we checked in. It was around 6 pm. The staff told us to check back within 2 hours. There are no chairs or anything to sit and my 80's parent has to sit on the floor, hungry and tired.
- Since we had not checked in and no rooms yet, I asked to leave a message with the Front desk staff for my brother who came to meet us for dinner, but they refused. (Frond desk in Tower 1)
- Room key (card) occationally worked in the elevators.
- Not all the Towers are accessible to the rooftop swimming pool, and there are so many hotel guests walking around the lobby in their robes, wrapped around tower and slippers.
- The swiiming pool is nice, but there are so many non-hotel guests who pay a fee to get up wandering around taking pictures.
- Room is all right but the room service is terrible and rude. They missed to refill the coffee and tea in second day and I called. When I came back to my room, there were 30 bags of tea all over on the table, look like someone just throw in with anger.
- The breakfast buffet was terrible and not worth for the price they charged, $40 Singapore dollar.
- When we checked out, the bill was filled with mistakes. We got charged for what we never ordered and the manager was skeptical to cancel them as if we were thef.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,422
    3,266
    1,474
    589
    522
See reviews for
2,989
3,929
508
1,459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,733)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dalkeith Western Australia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

To anyone considering staying at the MBS but they're concerned about the complaints people have made on here, my advice is ignore them. I read many of the bad reviews on here and there weren't that many that gave me the impression they were anything but genuine so my wife and I chose to book a 6 night stay to celebrate my retirement and we had a wonderful experience at this hotel. Trust me, ignore the nonsense manufactured rubbish people moan about because we didn't see, witness, hear of, let alone experience anything like what people have complained about. Ignore them and find out the truth for yourselves, you wont regret it.

We had a Club room in tower 1, checking in was fast and trouble free. Our room was perfect, very comfortable bed, large bathroom with a good size shower and bath. The room was well furnished and not crowded with too much clutter or furniture, the view is spectacular and when we had the do not disturb sign on no one bothered us. Just remember to turn it off when you leave your room or it probably wont be made up when you return which would be your fault not the hotels.

The pool is amazing and can get busy but there are no non guests in the pool area, that is rubbish, if you actually stayed at this hotel you would know its nonsense. The Club on the 57th floor is truly beautiful with wonderful welcoming, friendly and helpful staff and the same can be said of all the staff we encountered. I don't know where all these so called non English speaking staff are because we never encountered any. Service is excellent everywhere as you would expect.

I don't know why people complain about the location. Surely people have the sense to check to see if the hotel location suits their needs. If it doesn't there are 249 other hotels and no doubt more than a few would fit the bill. Don't complain about the location, that's your choice.

We had a fantastic time in Singapore, we both love the city and the people. The MBS was to us the icing on the cake that made the whole experience very memorable and special and we both intend to return sometime soon. Once again ignore the whingers and find out the truth for yourselves.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgewroe, Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback. Congratulations on your retirement! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You are right in saying that the infinity pool on the SkyPark is exclusive to our hotel guests. The Club experience on 57th floor has been a favorite with our guests. We are encouraged by the recognition you have given to our Team Members.

Once again, thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back at Marina Bay Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

MBS was just opened in April with lots of fanfare so my family with my parents decided to experience the hotel for New Year Celebrations. We stayed from the 28th till the 3rd. What began with high enthusiasm and expectations soon met with equally high disappointment all around from the very first day. The check in process was extremely slow and I am from Indonesia which should be used to agonizing delays. We checked in around 3 PM and still can not get our room till 6 PM and they gave terrible news that they can't give us a room facing the marina and the NY fireworks. The hotel was crowded and filled with people trying to get to the top floor, so it takes a while to get our bags up. The next morning we were again shocked at the lines to get our breakfasts, we had to wait 45 minutes to get seated or have to walk 1 mile to get to another breakfast area near the convention centre. This happened every morning and made you regret taking a room with breakfast when we could just go down to the food court for better and cheaper meals. The staff was friendly until i missed a tip and they started singing my room number outloud in the corridor going away, which was unthinkable if you stayed in Korea or Japan or Indonesia. We also had trouble sleeping because the room is not sound proof from the neighbors so at 1 AM we still heard people talking and laughing. Location was not very good and it is quite a walk from Marina area except at night which is cool. The price was too high for this type of room in this area. Mandarin Orchard is a bit cheaper but so much better. I even preferred Concorde which is way cheaper or Fullerton. We also didn't enjoy the infinity pool with so many people walking around and watching and so much wind up there. The only good thing is they missed charging us for extra beds but i will not apologize for it.

Room Tip: No breakfast No peak season and prepare TIPS
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgewroe, Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us for your New Year celebrations.

With regards to the experience you encountered with our Team Member, the behavior you have described is unacceptable. Tipping is not customary in Singapore where a 10% service charge is included in the bill. We have taken note of your comment and have shared it with the respective department to improve our training.

Our goal is to deliver consistent superior service to all our guests. Your comments are greatly appreciated as they help us to make Marina Bay Sands better every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Marina Bay Sands Hotel is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I recommended it for 12 others of my tour-mates, we thought we will pay a bit more for a nice hotel. We are from 4 different countries, HK, UK, Canada and Monaco. We have booked 6 rooms, when we first checked in, there were only 2 rooms available. That was 6:30pm in the evening even though we have called from Monaco a few times to reconfirm the bookings. Then after 2 hours of fights with the front desk, we finally got the rooms. Then, we try to enjoy some leisure time on the well-known infinity pool on the roof, it's full of tourist. It was so busy that I wouldn't say it's relaxing at all. They need to check your hotel key every step of your way. If you forget your key, you can't even get back to your own floor even if someone is in the room. It might be a security issue, but the staff there are not the friendliest people to help you. The worst thing is by the 3rd night, 2 of the rooms' key didn't work. My friends got locked out after a swim before dinner. We've called staff to help, the answer we've got was (shockingly) : the technician can be there in an hour, 2 hours, or by tomorrow morning. Marina Bay Sands is a huge hotel, where a lot of pop stars have stayed. I think, yes, they are famous, but they don't care about normal visitor like us! We stayed there, and it has ruined our first leg of the journey. I feel embarrassed that I've recommended it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgewroe, Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you and your tour-mates did not enjoy your stay with us.

We have taken note of the challenges you have experienced and we have shared your comments with the respective teams to improve our processes and service levels.

Access to the infinity pool on the SkyPark is exclusive to our hotel guests and our Team Members are required to ensure that the privacy of our hotel guests is maintained and communicated in a friendly manner.

Our goal is to provide consistent and superior service experience to all our guests. We hope you will feel differently should you consider another visit to Marina Bay Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We travelled to Singapore in March 2011. Stayed in the Atrium Room with two boyys 9 & 6 for one night after a four wait to be allocated a room. Here there was a sofa bed the size of a King Bed, enough for the four of us. We proceeded for a cruise for three nights and back to Marina Bay for four nights. Guess what? They did not have any rooms. After another 3 hours of haggling, they finally got a free upgrade to the Horizon Room, slightly larger. The sofa bed was enough only for 1. So an hour and a half later we got the extra bed. So much for an upgrade.
Upon checkout, I was told that if I pay by cash, the amount charged to my Visa card upon check in as deposit would be reversed. A full SGD 500/ still remains to be reversed from my card. They are now refusing to reply to any of my e-mails.
All I can say is go to this hotel if you have money to throw away.

Room Tip: Not at all worth the hype. Just abunch of thieves
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We had the privilege to stay in the Marina Bay Sands during a business trip. The hotel is beautiful, view is breathtaking and that is pretty much where it stops for us.

It took 2 1/2h to check in and there were only 4 other guests doing the same. Our room was nice, but not exceptional. The service in the hotel was the worst we've ever experienced. The majority of the staff can't speak English and they're not trained.

With a "do not disturb" light on, the housekeeping staff just opened the door and entered, while we were getting dressed; not a knock on the door, no warning. It happened twice in as many days.

There was only one waitress serving in the restaurant and 30 min after ordering coffee, we gave it up. When asking the other staff in the restaurant they either can't speak English or respond with "I am not a waiter."

This hotel was truly our worst stay ever and we've not heard a single positive thought from anyone who stayed there, our friends in Singapore or people in the industry.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanti_Tiwari, Director of Housekeeping at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

The challenge you experienced with housekeeping is unacceptable. We will continue to remind and train our Team Members of existing housekeeping service protocols in our daily briefings.

We have shared your comments with the Front Office and F&B teams.

We appreciate that you have taken time to let us know what we need to improve on. We are working hard to consistently deliver superior service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Overall value for money convenient to malls always taxis available that dont cost that much to get around on and the bus service to Malaysia was excellent too (day trip). Airport shuttle very nice all services were well presented clean and staff hospitality was very good

Room Tip: Seaside balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#34 Business Hotel in Singapore
#36 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Bay Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.