We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Bay Sands to your Saves list
Marina Bay Sands
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore (Marina Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
S$359 (SGD)
Ranked #34 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wow what a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

A really good modern resort hotel. Service excellent, food good, views outstanding if you pay the small premium for a high floor - we were on the 47th. However the
Best bit is the skylark with infinity pool on the 56th floor. Not a serious pool for swimming but looking over the edge across Singapore is a real experience.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,237
    3,706
    1,614
    617
    543
See reviews for
3,339
4,469
579
1,579
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,978)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I stayed here for one night so I can have a swim in the infinity pool, which is reserved for guests only. It was a breathtaking view and a good swim, even when it was full of other guests. Try early morning or late evening to get more space and better pictures. Guests of hotel can also access the skypark free of charge.

The building, the lobby, the rooms - everything were impressive. The room comes with floor-to-ceiling windows, and we were given a choice of either sea view or city view. We chose the latter and the view was fabulous, overlooking the marina channel. The "sea view" side is probably not so great currently, as it is a big construction site at the time ouf our visit. Either way, though, you can see everything once you get to the top floor where the skypark / infinity pool are.

Our room package included vouchers to restaurants owned by Marina Bay Sands, which included celebrity restaurants in the adjoining shopping complex. However, the food is outrageously overpriced (e.g. £100 for a steak main course - I can get better value in Michelin starred restaurants in central London.....). Even the "moderately" priced restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel - Rise - charged S$50 for breakfast buffet. There was a really wide selection of food and cuisines though, all of which were freshly prepared.

On the other hand, there is a food court in the shopping centre offering international cuisines, ranging from S$6 and upwards per dish, to compensate for the pricey choices.

The hotel gift shop was a dud, selling limited selection of souvenirs. Internet through the hotel was prohibitively expensive. But otherwise Marina Bay Sands was a fun experience for a one-evening stay. Its central location makes a great base for exploration. The staff are friendly, and you can also check out via in-room TV to skip the queues.

Room Tip: ask for city-view room for great PM cityscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Reich, Director of Food & Beverage at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your swim at the infinity pool on the SkyPark.

The rooms with sea view overlooks the Gardens by the Bay site which is currently under construction. According to the National Parks Board (NParks) of Singapore, Phase 1 of the Gardens is scheduled to be open for public preview in November 2011.

There are over 50 dining venues at Marina Bay Sands offering a variety of dining options for our guests, ranging from local favorites at the Rasapura Masters food marketplace to luxury dining experiences at our seven celebrity chef restaurants.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again at Marina Bay Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

best in Singapore, the location and view are incredible, the swiming poor at 57 floor are perfect for enjoying and parting......

this is the latest hotel open in Singapore and tallest as well....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Normally I don't like big hotels, to me they feel like factories without the personal touch.

However, I did like Marina Bay Sands, not that I got the personal feeling, but it is a really impressive place.

Attended meetings at the conference center for 3 days and just walking around enjoying the architecture in the hotel, conference center, shopping mall, casino etc is amazing.

Had a room on the 35th floor with a great city view, the room was nice, the only thing I could find to complain about was some hairs on the floor. The place was really clean except for this so maybe from the person cleaning the room.

But again, it is a huge hotel so don't expect the intimate feeling. Also spent some time at the roof top, including Ku De Ta where I (and a few others that I had dinner with) got food poisoning, so overall, I have mixed feelings.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Stayed for one night and loved every minute of it. The highlight was the sky park with the pool, spas and F & B out lets. The views are spectacular and is totally worth the money.
All staff were very friendly and were always on hand to help. Check-in was fine, there are many complaints with the long waiting time but with 2500 rooms, what do you expect. And they have about 20 receptionists too. Check out took under 5 minutes.
Location is great, close to most things. Shopping down stairs was great and the food court is good if you want a cheaper meal but still good quality.
Free airport shuttle is great, every 30 minutes so you never have to wait long.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

My husband, 5 year old son and I stayed at Marina Bay Sands in March, for my birthday. We are regulars to Singapore, and visit every second month or so, and we often stay in wonderful hotels. This was meant to be a big treat, paying $440 USD for one night. The location was not as good as many other hotels. The foyer was like an airport. No ambiance, nowhere to sit or relax. Big glass sliding doors opened into a huge empty hall. With many people rushing around. There were just 2 staff at check in, unhelpfully labeled Registration. We wondered if we were in the wrong queue, but the queue on the other side of the huge hall was 5 times longer, so we waited. And waited. And waited. Nowhere to sit. Most hotels have a welcoming foyer with couches and armchairs. Not even a plastic chair in this hotel. So the 3 of us stood and listened to the other guests complaining about waiting 20 minutes just to check in. The room was quite nice, but the drilling from the construction site next door was not. Very loud-and we were on the 26th floor! So we did not bother going on the baloney at all. Pool was nice after walking a very long way to the toilets that were rather awful. Staff were banging on the toilet door as I was changing, maybe they wanted to clean it, I don't know. Quite rude whatever they wanted. Because of a storm everyone was ordered out of the pool so that was the end of that. A 10 minute dip. The shopping mall was rather depressing, designer shops with not a customer in sight and lonely storekeepers standing outside, watching you and hoping you'll come in. Not my idea of fun shopping. We were not sure if breakfast was included in our $440, so we went down the next morning anyway. My son's hot chocolate never arrived, I had 1 yogurt and one croissant, my husband had a plate of hot food, and the breakfast bill came to $90 SD!! Luckily, we were able to see this weekend as an adventure and not to let this hotel's poor performance spoil our visit to Singapore. Total bill for one night : around $530 USD. We have found MUCH better hotels in Singapore for a fraction of the price, much better service and more beautiful surrounds. We won't be back. My advice would be look at the other hotels in Singapore.

Room Tip: Book another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santosh_Kuruvilla, Director of Public Area at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

It is unfortunate that you and your family were unable to fully enjoy the infinity pool at the SkyPark due to bad weather. It is for safety reasons that we ask all guests on the SkyPark to seek shelter during a storm.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the challenges you encountered during your stay and have shared them with the respective heads of department.

We will definitely work harder and push out more training to our Team Members. Our goal is to consistently deliver superior service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broadbeach
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

this hotel is fantastic, with free shuttle service by coach from the airport and return, you really don't have to leave this hotel as there is everything there that you want. If you are going for a relaxing time leave it for a stop over on the way home from your other destination or before we leave Singapore to head home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#25 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#32 Business Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Bay Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.