We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concept is good, but room just too bare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Studio M Hotel to your Saves list
Studio M Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book & Save 25% with us!
Ranked #140 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Concept is good, but room just too bare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for something different and a hotel not too overwhelmed by tourists. Check in was pretty efficient and this seems to be a good place for getting taxis - a perennial challenge in Singapore. The hotel was conveniently located for the quay and lots of bars and restaurants. The bed was in the loft and was comfortable, but the ceiling on one side was very low. The shower and the toilet was really too small and spartan. Worst of all in the sitting area there was no comfortable chair and no TV - this had to be watched in bed. So disappointing overall and not great value. Worth trying but would stay again, need more space and comfort - the photos on the website are misleading

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Blackwatchtower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hi i stayed here for 1 night and i found this hotel very modern.

Hotel is amazing, Very trendy and modern.

I booked via expedia and got a free upgrade which always helps.

The room itself is small but this is singapore so everything is very tight for space.

The pool is great and would suggest if you have a little time go down.

All in all i would return to this hotel.

I dont know why the negative feedback.

If you want a good hotel in the centre of singapore give this hotel a go.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Studio M Hotel. It is a fairly modern hotel with rooms that make up for a lack of space by putting your bed in a loft area in your room. Its a nice concept, however, having to climb steps to get to bed can be a little bit tedious. I know it sounds lazy, but if you have to get up to use the bathroom (which is incredibly small) in the middle of the night, it is not only a bit dangerous, but just kind of a pain in the rear to have to walk downstairs. Now, I'm simply saying, I prefer a room with 1 floor. The shower is self contained room with a door and no fan so there appeared to be quite a bit of mildew build-up since there is no circulation in the room. Also, since the TV is upstairs, if you want to relax and watch TV you have to head upstairs and sit on your bed, not a total bad thing, but a little inconvenient none the less. The pool area is nice with a long, lap pool and a large area for lounging. The gym is next to the pool and has a nice variety of equipment, however, it is open air... In the heat of Singapore, it can get pretty hot, almost dangerously hot in the gym. Also, they don't have any sanitation materials for equipment, which means if someone uses the equipment before you, it is pretty nasty. The restaurant is definitely something to avoid. This is the 5th hotel I've stayed at in this area and this breakfast was by far the worst... AVOID! Head to the Book Cafe across the street for a much better breakfast experience. Lastly, the free internet is a HUGE plus as most hotels in Singapore seem to charge S$20 or more for daily use. Overall, the M Studio Hotel is a great concept, but might not be for me since the room, gym and restaurant are very important when I travel and all were not ideal for my tastes.

Room Tip: Head to the Book Cafe across the Street instead of eating at the restaurant. Great food and friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at Studion M for the first time to celebrate my birthday. Shawn from reception checked us in and was very friendly, as with other receptionists on duty that evening.

Room was small but as a loft, it was well thought out. Cleanliness was an issue as i found strands of hair on the floor besides the bed on the upper deck and on the work desk.

The On/Off button on the kettle was not working and as a result, i scalded my thumb trying to turn it off after it does not stop boiling. Coffee sachet was also of poor choice.

During my stay, the hotel's F & B outlet was closed for renovation and as such, i cannot review on it.

Overall room and stay was acceptable but i will not be coming back for a second stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A good experience, exceeded my expectation.
Location is good, although the walk to the nearest MRT station is not that short, about 10 minutes walk but it's all good cuz we got to walk the side of Clarke Quay, had a good view everytime.
The room is compact, it is actually small but we didn't complain cuz the layout is right, everything works, although we never use the sofa at the loft. High ceiling do helps with this kind of small space.
Maybe the other type of room where the sofa is downstairs would feel better.

I think it's just suited for a weekend trip to Singapore cuz we didn't stay long at the room a lot anyway and when we stayed, the bed is very comfy.
So basically, no complain at all. All good.

Room Tip: The room where the bed is on the loft could be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Studio M over the Hari Raya Haji break for one night and got a free upgrade to the Premium Loft which was not too bad. The difference between the Studio loft and premium loft is studio loft has the queen size bed on the first floor and the working table is on top, the premium loft has the study table on the first floor and the bed on the second floor with the tv. So if you want to watch tv, you got to go up to the second floor to watch.
The high ceiling gives the room a better feel of not being so crammed. The only thing which I found that I didn't like was the toilet was a little small and didn't have enough hooks on the door to hang my toiletries.
Room service was so so, they charge money for ice. But it was nice of them to have wine glasses for our use.
The breakfast was average, nothing fantastic, they do have one live egg station and offer a coffee machine.
All in all, the stay was pleasant, however, i was very unhappy with their official website where they had this 'Best Rate Guarantee' policy on their website. I clicked on the form twice and since 2 Oct, no one has gotten back to me on any feedback. I called them up and was asked to write an email and that was Monday, and I still haven't gotten any reply till now. I went to the front desk and the duty manager couldn't do anything too. Worse thing is for the weblink on the terms and conditions gave a 404 error message.
It's disappointing for such slow or no response for a reputable hotel chain. Hope they can give a response soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jezzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for a day in Sep 2013, during the Grand Prix weekend. We loved the hotel, and the room. The studio loft idea is fabolous and the view with windows from ceiling to the floor is jus great.

Breakfast was decent. Wudnt say great. Cud have been better. Metro station is slightly far, but the hotel provides coach drops to Dhobi Ghaat station every 30 mins or so. Very clean, nice beds.

Room Tip: Take the higher floors for a fab view of the Singapore skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajitjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
M Hotel Singapore
#99 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#47 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#64 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing