We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice concept, but not for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Studio M Hotel to your Saves list
Studio M Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice concept, but not for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Studio M Hotel. It is a fairly modern hotel with rooms that make up for a lack of space by putting your bed in a loft area in your room. Its a nice concept, however, having to climb steps to get to bed can be a little bit tedious. I know it sounds lazy, but if you have to get up to use the bathroom (which is incredibly small) in the middle of the night, it is not only a bit dangerous, but just kind of a pain in the rear to have to walk downstairs. Now, I'm simply saying, I prefer a room with 1 floor. The shower is self contained room with a door and no fan so there appeared to be quite a bit of mildew build-up since there is no circulation in the room. Also, since the TV is upstairs, if you want to relax and watch TV you have to head upstairs and sit on your bed, not a total bad thing, but a little inconvenient none the less. The pool area is nice with a long, lap pool and a large area for lounging. The gym is next to the pool and has a nice variety of equipment, however, it is open air... In the heat of Singapore, it can get pretty hot, almost dangerously hot in the gym. Also, they don't have any sanitation materials for equipment, which means if someone uses the equipment before you, it is pretty nasty. The restaurant is definitely something to avoid. This is the 5th hotel I've stayed at in this area and this breakfast was by far the worst... AVOID! Head to the Book Cafe across the street for a much better breakfast experience. Lastly, the free internet is a HUGE plus as most hotels in Singapore seem to charge S$20 or more for daily use. Overall, the M Studio Hotel is a great concept, but might not be for me since the room, gym and restaurant are very important when I travel and all were not ideal for my tastes.

Room Tip: Head to the Book Cafe across the Street instead of eating at the restaurant. Great food and friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    498
    314
    106
    82
See reviews for
164
350
115
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at Studion M for the first time to celebrate my birthday. Shawn from reception checked us in and was very friendly, as with other receptionists on duty that evening.

Room was small but as a loft, it was well thought out. Cleanliness was an issue as i found strands of hair on the floor besides the bed on the upper deck and on the work desk.

The On/Off button on the kettle was not working and as a result, i scalded my thumb trying to turn it off after it does not stop boiling. Coffee sachet was also of poor choice.

During my stay, the hotel's F & B outlet was closed for renovation and as such, i cannot review on it.

Overall room and stay was acceptable but i will not be coming back for a second stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A good experience, exceeded my expectation.
Location is good, although the walk to the nearest MRT station is not that short, about 10 minutes walk but it's all good cuz we got to walk the side of Clarke Quay, had a good view everytime.
The room is compact, it is actually small but we didn't complain cuz the layout is right, everything works, although we never use the sofa at the loft. High ceiling do helps with this kind of small space.
Maybe the other type of room where the sofa is downstairs would feel better.

I think it's just suited for a weekend trip to Singapore cuz we didn't stay long at the room a lot anyway and when we stayed, the bed is very comfy.
So basically, no complain at all. All good.

Room Tip: The room where the bed is on the loft could be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Studio M over the Hari Raya Haji break for one night and got a free upgrade to the Premium Loft which was not too bad. The difference between the Studio loft and premium loft is studio loft has the queen size bed on the first floor and the working table is on top, the premium loft has the study table on the first floor and the bed on the second floor with the tv. So if you want to watch tv, you got to go up to the second floor to watch.
The high ceiling gives the room a better feel of not being so crammed. The only thing which I found that I didn't like was the toilet was a little small and didn't have enough hooks on the door to hang my toiletries.
Room service was so so, they charge money for ice. But it was nice of them to have wine glasses for our use.
The breakfast was average, nothing fantastic, they do have one live egg station and offer a coffee machine.
All in all, the stay was pleasant, however, i was very unhappy with their official website where they had this 'Best Rate Guarantee' policy on their website. I clicked on the form twice and since 2 Oct, no one has gotten back to me on any feedback. I called them up and was asked to write an email and that was Monday, and I still haven't gotten any reply till now. I went to the front desk and the duty manager couldn't do anything too. Worse thing is for the weblink on the terms and conditions gave a 404 error message.
It's disappointing for such slow or no response for a reputable hotel chain. Hope they can give a response soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for a day in Sep 2013, during the Grand Prix weekend. We loved the hotel, and the room. The studio loft idea is fabolous and the view with windows from ceiling to the floor is jus great.

Breakfast was decent. Wudnt say great. Cud have been better. Metro station is slightly far, but the hotel provides coach drops to Dhobi Ghaat station every 30 mins or so. Very clean, nice beds.

Room Tip: Take the higher floors for a fab view of the Singapore skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After getting used to a very cramped room this hotel can be OK. The pool area is spacious and comfortable.

Don't rely on Ta'ke, the in-house restaurant. It offers breakfast only and it's pretty average for the price. A discount is offered at The Bookshop Cafe across the road - a much better proposition.

A major problem is the distance to the MRT. It will be best to get to understand the workings of the bus system or, alternatively us a water taxi to get to Clarke Quay Station.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here during a business trip due to hotels selling out just after F1. Location wise this hotel is okay if you frequent the Downtown Core. It is about 20 mins walk to the nearest Clarke Quay MRT, but has direct bus routes to either the Orchard / Bugis precinct .

Facility wise, the complimentary internet isn't particularly top-notch as connections frequently drops out and you had to reconnect. This is particularly not workable if you need to do any kind of VPN tunelling for business purposes.

About 6 out of 15 days I stayed here, room hasn't been serviced when I returned from work (~6pm), although I could see housekeeping cart just next door. My room must've been the last on the floor. A little bit of an inconvenience.

Don't bother with the breakfast in the morning is pathetic. There is zero in-hotel restaurant, but I would suggest visiting the many pubs nearby along the riverside for food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Studio M Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio M Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.