We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Studio M Hotel to your Saves list
Studio M Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extra 10% off + breakfast
Ranked #148 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Staycation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at Studion M for the first time to celebrate my birthday. Shawn from reception checked us in and was very friendly, as with other receptionists on duty that evening.

Room was small but as a loft, it was well thought out. Cleanliness was an issue as i found strands of hair on the floor besides the bed on the upper deck and on the work desk.

The On/Off button on the kettle was not working and as a result, i scalded my thumb trying to turn it off after it does not stop boiling. Coffee sachet was also of poor choice.

During my stay, the hotel's F & B outlet was closed for renovation and as such, i cannot review on it.

Overall room and stay was acceptable but i will not be coming back for a second stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    475
    305
    103
    80
See reviews for
152
332
115
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A good experience, exceeded my expectation.
Location is good, although the walk to the nearest MRT station is not that short, about 10 minutes walk but it's all good cuz we got to walk the side of Clarke Quay, had a good view everytime.
The room is compact, it is actually small but we didn't complain cuz the layout is right, everything works, although we never use the sofa at the loft. High ceiling do helps with this kind of small space.
Maybe the other type of room where the sofa is downstairs would feel better.

I think it's just suited for a weekend trip to Singapore cuz we didn't stay long at the room a lot anyway and when we stayed, the bed is very comfy.
So basically, no complain at all. All good.

Room Tip: The room where the bed is on the loft could be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Studio M over the Hari Raya Haji break for one night and got a free upgrade to the Premium Loft which was not too bad. The difference between the Studio loft and premium loft is studio loft has the queen size bed on the first floor and the working table is on top, the premium loft has the study table on the first floor and the bed on the second floor with the tv. So if you want to watch tv, you got to go up to the second floor to watch.
The high ceiling gives the room a better feel of not being so crammed. The only thing which I found that I didn't like was the toilet was a little small and didn't have enough hooks on the door to hang my toiletries.
Room service was so so, they charge money for ice. But it was nice of them to have wine glasses for our use.
The breakfast was average, nothing fantastic, they do have one live egg station and offer a coffee machine.
All in all, the stay was pleasant, however, i was very unhappy with their official website where they had this 'Best Rate Guarantee' policy on their website. I clicked on the form twice and since 2 Oct, no one has gotten back to me on any feedback. I called them up and was asked to write an email and that was Monday, and I still haven't gotten any reply till now. I went to the front desk and the duty manager couldn't do anything too. Worse thing is for the weblink on the terms and conditions gave a 404 error message.
It's disappointing for such slow or no response for a reputable hotel chain. Hope they can give a response soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for a day in Sep 2013, during the Grand Prix weekend. We loved the hotel, and the room. The studio loft idea is fabolous and the view with windows from ceiling to the floor is jus great.

Breakfast was decent. Wudnt say great. Cud have been better. Metro station is slightly far, but the hotel provides coach drops to Dhobi Ghaat station every 30 mins or so. Very clean, nice beds.

Room Tip: Take the higher floors for a fab view of the Singapore skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After getting used to a very cramped room this hotel can be OK. The pool area is spacious and comfortable.

Don't rely on Ta'ke, the in-house restaurant. It offers breakfast only and it's pretty average for the price. A discount is offered at The Bookshop Cafe across the road - a much better proposition.

A major problem is the distance to the MRT. It will be best to get to understand the workings of the bus system or, alternatively us a water taxi to get to Clarke Quay Station.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here during a business trip due to hotels selling out just after F1. Location wise this hotel is okay if you frequent the Downtown Core. It is about 20 mins walk to the nearest Clarke Quay MRT, but has direct bus routes to either the Orchard / Bugis precinct .

Facility wise, the complimentary internet isn't particularly top-notch as connections frequently drops out and you had to reconnect. This is particularly not workable if you need to do any kind of VPN tunelling for business purposes.

About 6 out of 15 days I stayed here, room hasn't been serviced when I returned from work (~6pm), although I could see housekeeping cart just next door. My room must've been the last on the floor. A little bit of an inconvenience.

Don't bother with the breakfast in the morning is pathetic. There is zero in-hotel restaurant, but I would suggest visiting the many pubs nearby along the riverside for food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in October 2013 - the hotel was great! The studio loft is awesome with great views of the skyscrapers, and the swimming pool AND patio are awesome.

It would have been good if the pool closed a bit later (eg: 11 pm) as it is always so hot!

Staff was nice and friendly. The only thing was that the breakfast costed $20 each for a buffet, which I founded to be expensive.

I loved it and I would go back again anytime. It is closed to a river and it's surrounded from little bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Studio M Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio M Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.