We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with interesting room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Studio M Hotel to your Saves list
Studio M Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Location with interesting room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Singapore hotel rooms are generally pretty small and this is no exception. Its quite interesting with the Loft area in the room but I have got to say it is the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. OK for couples or for a business trip. I would stay again but only if I needed to be in that specific area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear masgendut,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    421
    279
    93
    71
See reviews for
134
289
106
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Location is good, right next to the water front with plenty of restaurants around. Staff is friendly and the hotel design is cool. The room smelled of humidity. We checked 2 different rooms and they were the same. It's unfortunate because everything else about that hotel is nice. Pool area is great. Not much sun but great to relax and to do laps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Michel J

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We value your comments and will take every step possible to address the concerns highlighted and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely helpful, giving good advice on transport etc and were especially helpful when I became ill and needed to find a doctor. The room was clean and the view was great. We stayed in a loft room for 4 nights and found it quite spacious, probably not the type of room for small children but great for couples. It was a bit of a walk to the MRT but there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the area. Great hotel will definitely stay again when next visit Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Jenny134,

Thank you for your feedback. Your good comments will certainly be conveyed to all staff which will definitely be encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hotel is in Robertson Quay, great area for bars and restaurants. Its a very short walk from all the action in Clarke Quay and Chinatown so you are right next to the best areas without being stuck in the crazyness of it all. The nearest metro is Chinatown or Clarke Quay, both only 15 mins walk away.

We loved our split level loft at Studio M. They are very modern and stylish. We were on the 9th floor so with the double floor windows we had a great view of the city. Our bed was downstairs and the lounge upstairs, it really felt like we had our own apartment. The bed was AMAZING, so comfortable, i could have slept all day in it. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and you can ask for whatever eggs you want and they will make them for you.

The only downsides are that the rooms are very compact so theres not a lot of space for luggage and there is no bathroom as such, its a small side room for a shower, another small room for a toilet and a sink outside (which seems to be increasingly common in hotels nowadays). After reading the reviews i was worried i wouldnt fit in the toilet but if you are under 6ft 2 you will be able to sit down, any taller than that and you will have to side saddle it !! If you like your space this hotel isnt for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear LW2010NY,

Thank you for taking time to share your good feedback. It is delightful to hear how the unique Studio M experience left a positive impression on you. Your good comments will certainly be conveyed to all staff which will definitely be encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Wanted to experience staying in the different hotels in Singapore and settled for this.

We stayed in 7 Apr 2013 for a night. Check-in was swift, staff were alright.

Corridor is rather narrow and dimly lit. our allocated room was cosy and stuff but kinda too "compact" if you prefer spacious rooms. The bath and toilet are separated and both small, just enough for one person to use at any one time. Bed and pillows were totally awesome though, we were lucky we got the room with the bedroom at the upper deck.

Breakfast was alright, nothing to shout about but i have nothing to whine about either. Also, i appreciate the fact that there werent screaming kids running around but there were mynahs attacking the unattended dishes on dining tables.

Gym isnt air conditioned, felt like a sauna when i stepped in. Pool is kinda small, reminds me of a pond.

There are quite a number of eating places and pubs (think Robertson Quay or venture further to Clarke Quay) around so you dont have to worry about going thru' starvation and there's a little 7-11 (convenience store) at the building (can't recall what it is) next door.

Overall I'm pretty happy with the stay and will patronise again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear DivyaLee,

Thank you for taking time to comment. We are glad your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to being of service to you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We keep re-booking Studio M because of the easy location, a very pleasant 15 min walk from Clarke Quay station and 1 subway stop from Chinatown. This area of the river is much quieter and less glitzy than the newer areas (ie. Marina). A stunning room (759) with a corner window and views up the river (thanks to the reservation staff for the upgrade – much appreciated). The room configuration with the upstairs bed works better than downstairs, but both layouts are functional. Really comfortable beds – great sleep. Tips: There is a large, excellent supermarket in the basement shopping mall under Novotel (~5 min walk). They sell particularly good sushi packs (and beer). A river view is worth the extra $$. Negatives: Pool is quite cold. The wifi is slow and can be annoying. Increased access to power points should be made available in the lounge area around the pool for those with late flights (ie. after room check out). Gym is open air (ie. not airconditioned).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear happytraveller97,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Your good comments will certainly be conveyed to all staff which will definitely go a long way. We value your comments and will take every step possible to address the relevant areas and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I fell in love with my room as soon as I stepped in. It was bright because of the large window and high ceiling. The decor and color screams urban chic. Also because it was a loft concept, there was a nice tiny staircase that led upstairs to a comfortable work area complete with desk and a sofa bed for lounging. The bed was tucked next to the window and was large enough for two people to sleep comfortably. The extra sofa bed is perfect for uninvited guest who may have had a little foo much to drink to be able to drive home carefully. Yes, the room layout may not be a practical in reality. But are we not on a holiday and don't we all deserve a little to indulge in a little something that's out of our comfort zone ;)

I've stayed in many hotels in Singapore and unless you are willing to fork out $$$$$ please don't expect large toilet/bathroom, room with space to walk let alone have a sofa, storage space to park your oversized luggage. And most of all, don't expect rooms with a view.

Having said that, I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The service was good and responsive, the waiting area was pretty chic with interesting pieces of furniture. My favorite corner had a Bose player and speaker that played some nice music to chill and watch the traffic go by.

It's close to the bars and hip restaurants that pepper Robertson Quay and a nice walking distance to Clarke Quay. Despite it's close proximity to the potentially noisy night spots, this hotel is tucked nicely at the quiet end of Robertson Quay so it's pretty peaceful. In fact, take a stroll/ or go for a jog along the Singapore river towards river valley and you'll be greeted with lots of greens and heritage buildings nearby.

One very important point to take note of, this hotel is more suitable for solo, couple or business travelers.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and will definitely book this place in my next trip to Singapore

Room Tip: Though all rooms share the same loft concept, some rooms have the bed in the upper floor, while the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioMHotel, Hotel Management at Studio M Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear alan_klangboy,

Thank you for taking time to comment. We are delighted to hear how our hotel staff left a positive impression on you. Your good comments will certainly be conveyed to all staff which will definitely be encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Studio M Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio M Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.