We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for Backpacker and Individual Traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A Beary Good Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added A Beary Good Hostel to your Saves list
A Beary Good Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   66 Pagoda Street, Singapore 059225, Singapore (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hotel for Backpacker and Individual Traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I had stayed in Beary Good Hostel for 3 nights. This was my second experience stay at backpacker hostel in Singapore. The location was strategic in China Town area and close to MRT Exit China Town, so did not difficult to find this hostel. The hostel was quite good enough, but the reception, dining room,pantry located in 1 area (no separated area). The ambience was like home and there was living room that you can see the movie by DVD or TV. The room i choosed was dormitary so I stayed with another people from around the world, quite good enogh. The bathroom was small and standing shower. The front desk was good and humble. Overall this is a quite good stay at backpacker hostel with minimum budget.

Room Tip: Dormitory for 4 - 5 person is better if you dont like share room with a lot of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    84
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
22
77
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I am not a pro backpacker and this was my second stay in the hostel in my life, but still it was very poor.
1. You have a chance to stay at the front door for a long time if you arrive late at night (one person works at two different buildings.
2. Bathrooms are terrible (they are cleaned maybe once a week if not more seldom).
3. The room has poor conditioning and I had really awful nights there.
No lock on lockers, no towels...
But on the other side its location and prices are perfect! So may be a good variant for not very demanding traveler. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

It's very convenient to go anywhere. Very close with MRT Chinatown station.
So...You can buy the cheap ticket from Sea wheel Traveler at People’s Park Centre (not far from hostel, just across the street and walk to there)
I think "A Beary Good Hostel" is the best hostel for newbie backpacker like me ^_^

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Nice people, clean, safe accomodations - a few steps from the train station. Very economical place to stay in expensive Singapore. Bathroom could use a little work but adequate. Overall this hotel is an excellent value.

Room Tip: All rooms are above street level - if you are lugging heavy suitcases ask for room on 1st floor (2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was a pleasant stay in A Beary Good Hostel! You will get to meet different people along the way and it's certainly a good way to meet new friends The employees that work in the hostel are very nice and kind too! Would definitely go back when I visit Singapore!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very homey, great staff. Internet was very fast. Location was fantastic, right in front of Chinatown station! Moreover, I was surprised the street noise does NOT reach the rooms. Super yay! This is a peaceful hostel for you less-party-like travellers. Cheap drinks available at the lobby ($3 Tiger beer vs. $5 hawker price, which is already meant to be cheap, 80cents bottled water). Little things like they'll mail postcards at postage stamp cost(50cents each) are really worthy services to the traveller. Towels are $1 each to rent that you can use over a few days and just leave it. Good for travellers who don't like to travel with a wet towel in their small luggage.

Toilets could improve. Space inside the shower stall is too tight and hanging racks are too near the shower anyway...overall my clothes always slightly get wet and bottom of my jeans when getting dressed. I suggest either a better drainage system and proper clothes deck but since it's too small maybe separating ladies' and gents' toilets so we can get fully dressed in the toilet hall instead of having to do it in the shower stall. I'd rather go use the toilet in a separate floor than have wet clothes.

The difference with its sister hotel(Beary Best) that I miss here are the pseudo-curtains in lower bunks but that was just a plus.

Room Tip: Stayed in a mix room and it was still good. Girl at reception even asked if I was uncomfortable, she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I travel with my friends, location is good near MRT and easy to find food nearby. The hostel need to maintain the cleanliness and also as far I know the hostel not allowed to smoke but so many cigarette waste on the second floor near the window of the toilet. Overall this hostel value for money.
Tips : bring your own soap, they didn't refill the soap container, breakfast limited and sometimes the bread run out, you must ask for more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Beary Good Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beary Good Hostel

Address: 66 Pagoda Street, Singapore 059225, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A Beary Good Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beary Good Hostel is a small charming backpacker's hostel in the very heart of Singapore’s Chinatown. Located in a conservation shophouse along the ever popular Pagoda Street, it provides travelers a unique opportunity of living in a heritage building and the convenience of having MRT (subway/tube/metro) and all the amenities/tourist attractions at the hostel doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your A Beary Good Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Beary Good Hotel Singapore
A Beary Good Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Beary Good Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.