We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average on just about every account” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Bugis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to your Saves list
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 8 Jalan Kubor, Singapore 199207, Singapore (Kampong Glam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Average on just about every account”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

+ Seems fairly good priced compared to other Singapore hotels
+ The room was ok in size for two persons and it was clean

+/- The location is between two stops on the metro (green line - Bugis and Lavender) so expect to walk about 500 meters. We found the location good, but it's not in the middle of everything
+/- The pool area was nice, but small and not well equipped (no cushions on the chairs, few chairs, no shower, etc.)

- We asked for a room away from the street, they said "Sure" and still gave us a room facing the main road. Maybe a misunderstanding, and the noise wasn't that bad anyway, but still...
- Breakfast was poor and crowded
- The safety box in our room wasn't attached to anything, which means you can take it with you and deal with the opening procedure later. Kind of pointless...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and noted the positive points about Santa Grand Hotel Bugis.

We are sorry to hear our breakfast did not meet your expectation during your stay. Our breakfast serves basically local food to cater for a wide preference of our guests and your feedback will serve as a good basis for us to work on improving the offer. Apart from that, we recognized the space of De Grand Restaurant is small and we will be increasing the seating capacity for breakfast to cater for its popularity, and will consider adding the opening hours should there be a need.

Meanwhile, the streets along Bugis tend to be a little noisy at night due to its ambience and food outlets in this Malay heritage area, and it can be troubling for some travellers like you. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets which we did but with regret that our front desk misunderstood your request. As regards our safety box and roof top swimming pool, we appreciate your feedback and will make the improvement.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    311
    136
    39
    19
See reviews for
139
218
53
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although I only stayed one night on my short trip, I found the Santa Bugis a rightly priced stay and agree with comments of others that the pool adds to the hotel's attraction. The size of the room was quite ok for me as solo traveller - the carpet could have been a little more vacuum-cleaned. The other commidities (shower, toilets, sinks ...) were quite clean though.
Breakfast was rather meager - a bigger choice of juices and fruits would have been nice - and the room could have been a little bit more inviting by putting some table cloths: the aligned barren tables made me think of my boarding school days ...
I appreciated very much that I could leave my luggage while shopping and leaving for the airport.

Room Tip: No special recommendations: my room was at the street side, but the rooms are quiet and mine even ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your patronage at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and also pleased to know that you liked our newly renovated roof top swimming pool. We definitely will share your positive feedback with the team. We have also noted all your points that you have highlighted and through such feedback like yours that we can continue to improve!

Once again, thank you for sharing with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Santa Grand over the weekend. Rooms were clean, location is close to a bus stop to town and very pleasant, staff was very friendly and attentive when we needed to solve problems. The Singapore breakfast buffet was fairly ok, so we can highly recommend this hotel, it is a very good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for recommending us! We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Once again, thank you for sharing with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was very small but clean. Staff was friendly and they answered all my question about the city. Breakfast was ok but not soo rich. The swimming pool is small but at night you can have a nice view of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your compliments. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and glad to learn that you liked our newly renovated roof top swimming pool! I'll definitely share your positive feedback with my team and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had taken a single bed occupancy, the place is quite neat n tiny sufficient for single person. Very cute place and staff were very hospitable. I would recommend for visitors to try this place.

Thanks,

Chandra

India

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for recommending us. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel East Coast at peranakan heritage area that you might interested. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime!

Once again, thank your for your compliments and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

looked for somewhere reasonable between airport and the centre at a decent price and found the Santa Grand Hotel and were pleased with what we got.
At a cost of £94 a night it was good for singapore, the room on the top floor was small but adequate, modern and clean with a good bathroom, there was some noise from the busy main road but not enough to impair sleep.
Breakfast catered for eastern and western tastes and there was enough for all though the breakfast staff never smiled once!, reception staff were helpful as was the doorman.
Problem with the free wi fi which was erratic although they did their best to try and fix it but to no avail.
Walking distance to 2 metro stops which we used extensively using the E Z card which saves money if you are traveling around a good deal, the hotel is also within walking distance to all the major sights if you can sustain 30 mins in this heat, we did and saw so much more than if we had been in a cab or on the Metro.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: try to get room onhigh floor away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Bugis is easily accessible with the MRT stations, shopping malls, Arab Streets and Malay Heritage Centre just a stone throw away. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that our free WIFI service occurred some technical issues during your stay. We are glad that at the very least, our Santa Grand IT team had tried their best to fix it and made the improvement.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Took the most basic room located on the basement floor. Typical of those small 3*hotel rooms in Singapore yet pretty clean. Coming form the airport, we thought its nearer if you go down in Bugis than Lavender MRT and just a 10-min walk to the hotel. We pretty much got a good deal (80sgd/night). And with Bugis nearby, you'll have almost everything you want from shopping souvenirs, grocery, wide variety of food and a private hospital (raffles). You also need to give a 10sgd deposit if you want to borrow the iron and board (refundable when you check out). They have a restaurant inside the hotel if you don't really feel like eating anywhere. Arab street is nearby and Chinatown is just a few bus stops away.

We tried the Kam Leng Hotel (at Jalan Besar St corner Lavender st) recently which is in the same range with this hotel and my husband thought that we preferred the room at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis rather because it definitely has a bigger space especially for our luggages. We had space to put our luggages and a simple cabinet to put a few clothes. This hotel served breakfast and a pool wherein we didn't get any of those in Kam Leng Hotel. Staff were helpful and polite too. The bathroom had a rain shower type in which we liked (you just have to wait a few mins before the water gets hot probably because we are in basement floor so water might be travelling slow).

Overall, I don't mind staying in this hotel again if I want a basic and clean place to stay (and affordable).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We definately welcome you back at Santa Grand anytime!

Best Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Bugis

Address: No. 8 Jalan Kubor, Singapore 199207, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Grand Hotel Bugis 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, operating since November 2009, has a swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym, cafe and business centre. Located on the fringes of the Little India District and a few hundred metres from the Malay Heritage Centre this hotel makes the most of an area rich in history. Just down the road is Bugis Street, now featuring a teeming street market and collection of roadside stalls which is a must see for leisure or shopping guest visiting Singapore. Also, conveniently nearby are an Indian temple and one of Singapore's best known Buddhist Temples. Besides sightseeing, guest can visit Sim Lim Square, which is only 10-minutes stroll away and it houses Singapore's biggest collection of IT and computer stores. Completing the attractiveness of Santa Grand Hotel Bugis is its accessibility to public transport such as taxis, buses, and Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) to various places in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.