We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chinatown tour by Janet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Singapore Walks

The Original Singapore Walks
D'Centennial Building, 100 Lorong 23 Geylang, #07-01, Singapore 388398, Singapore
(65) 6325 1631
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$28*
and up
Ranked #15 of 293 Activities in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The walks work on a simple principle: to bring people into places most other tours don't. Graveyards, smoke houses, wet markets, gun batteries, the city’s best-kept secret places. You name it, we have it. Since 2003, the Walks led by an eclectic bunch of researcher-guides have taken locals and travellers alike off the beaten track, and entertained with an endless store of anecdotes that reveal the true heart of the city. Pre-booking not necessary!
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chinatown tour by Janet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful tour of the historic district and got an excellent sweep of history of the Chinese in Singapore. Our guide Janet was very knowledgeable, very funny and has great cross cultural skills. She relates very easily with Westeners having lived in the midwest of the USA for many years. She gave wonderful descriptions and showed great examples of the difficult life the Chinese had getting to Singapore and building their community. Complete with old photos from the past she brought each location we visited to life.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    28
    6
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“3 Informative Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were able to fit 3 tours into our short trip to Singapore. We enjoyed the Chinatown, Changi and Colonial District. With these tours we learned about the history of Singapore, became more familar with the different areas and had a chance to learn about the culture of the Singapore people. The guides were well informed about their areas. Each of our groups were large, but we never had difficulty hearing. On the bus trip back from the Changi tour, we had a chance to ask questions about everyday life in Singapore. We learned that all young males have mandatory National Service, the taxes on car ownership, and the system of tolls on busy streets.
We bought our pass on-line and saved!
Please note that all three tours were longer than the advertised time. The tour guides seem to enjoy their subjects and never rushed us. We had to leave the 3rd walk early to catch our cruise!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Walk, learn and enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Did 2 walks so far this week, the Colonial District walk, and the Chinatown walk. Both guides were excellent, and gave a lot of background/historical information, that I would have missed, had I discovered the areas on my own. I can't wait to do the other walks as well!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't do the red lanten walking our”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing and over priced .Walking up a couple of alley ways looking into a door of a non descript building does not interest me or many of the others on this tour .No seedy side of life seen quite the opposite this particular tour is fraudulent do not waste your money .Just wander round china town yourself its safe and spend your money on dinner

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeWalks, Owner at The Original Singapore Walks, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear leepop,

Thank you for taking time out to review the tour. We are very concerned about your comments on your experience. We are aware that this particular section of Chinatown has undergone changes recently and we are actually in the process of reviewing the tour routing and content to keep them relevant to the evolving landscape.

While we are a bit taken aback by how negative your experience was, please be assured that we take your comments seriously. Our Director and senior Researchers are currently reviewing and re-scripting the walk and if they feel that your comments were justified, we will be happy to refund the fees. We will revert to you by 7 March on this - meantime, please give us details on how we can refund you. Alternatively, you are welcome to join any one of the other Singapore Walks free if you happen to still be in Singapore. We would really love for you to enjoy being in the company of our guides and to see Singapore through their eyes.

Sincerely,
Savita Kashyap
Executive Director
The Original Singapore Walks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A brilliant way to discover Singapore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

In July 2012, I joined a group to explore Chinatown in Singapore. Our guide was highly intelligent, funny and informative - great attributes for presenting the highlights of this diverse part of Singapore! The meeting spot for the tour was clearly stated and easy to find (despite the fact my taxi driver had left me on the wrong street!). The walking was flat for most of the tour, and easily negotiated even when we were caught in a downpour of rain. There was plenty of time to take photos and explore each stop along the way, and I felt it was the best way to get a real feel for Chinatown.
I was sorry to be unable to undertake more walks with 'The Original Singapore Walks', however my schedule did not allow enough time. I will be back for more - hopefully sooner rather than later!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Singapore Walks also viewed

 

Been to The Original Singapore Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Singapore Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.