We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Budget Saving"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wow Hostels

Save Saved
You added Wow Hostels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wow Hostels
67B Lor 27 Geylang, Singapore 388189, Singapore (Geylang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Taguig City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Budget Saving"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for 7D&6N at 1st we didn't know that the place was in the red light district area we just heard it. If your looking for a budget saving place this is the place to be. There are other hostel which is way cheaper than here but compared to location and sleep quality this is quite better. They got small room, small dinning area and lobby area. Breakfast is always the same. Staff is not always available, they only come to the hostel around 10 am and leave before 6-7 pm.So If you arrived in the evening you will just be staying in the lobby area and wait until morning you get your room keys from their staff. The good this about this hostel is its near the Aljunied station. This hostel is just ideal for sleeping and storing your luggage. This hostel is ok for me for we do not stay here all the time we just sleep here and take a bath. Of course for a budget saving place don't expect luxurious amenities,food and what so ever. This place is just ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
2
10
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

only 2 good things about this place, it's just next to the train station and cheap food around the area. Otherwise the service is bad because they don't have a reception if you need anything, sleazy area. If you don't mind all that, it's a good place for a few days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hi, I just finish my three day and 2 night trip from singapore. We travel in grups as 8 person,
So long story short, I arrive at friday midnight, we from airport take a cab directly to WOW HOSTEL. So after first night, my whole body which two legs & two arm, neck area and part around stomach was bite very severely with bed bugs!! It's like almost 100 bitesll over my body!
Actually i still have a doubt, and because the bite marks was very itchy, so I go to nearest clinic.
The doctor confirm me it's a bed bug!!!
Note to owner, please keep your hostel free from bed bugs!
It's just turn my holiday become nightmare!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The first time I heard that we'll stay there 3 nights, I am worried because Wow is in a red light area. So, I think, it is so dangerous. :) However, I had 3 nights in the Wow to save the money as it is on the Green line- EW line to the airport and downtown. If you go far from the station, it is a bit little of danger. When you stay in Wow, there is no reception, there is no service except internet with 2 computers and 1 massage chair- a good choice as you walk all day. :) I love the chair and use it 30 mins to have a good sleep. You can save money when use a room with 7 others, in addition, you have a free breakfirst with bread, preserved fruit,... I'll plan to back Sing and stay at Wow in 2013 with 10 members in my family, :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Wow hostel was our first place out of 54 that we stayed at during our travels around South East Asia and in hindsight, one of the worst. Don't get me wrong, the price was good, the location was good and Singapore is an awesome place but this hostel is one of those that spends more time on its website than on the actual product.

Location:

We found it very well located, right next to Aljunied MRT train station which is in between the city centre and the airport. We found it very quickly and walked up the stairs, taking our shoes of of course, and paid for our room plus a key deposit (fair enough). We then were walked out of the building to the annex. We climbed some pretty grubby stairs and were shown to our room.

Room:

The air conditioning worked very well, the bunk beds were comfortable and appeared clean but the main gripe was that we paid for a private double and what we got was a room that had been split into two parts with a partition wall that didn't account for the window. Basically you could hear the conversations from next door because there was a huge gap where the partition wall met the window. Not really a private room, and we found out the next morning when we were awoken by some pretty loud people in the next room.

Accommodation:

The door release system out of our building took a bit of working out and we genuinely thought we were trapped inside the building at one point until we worked out which button released the magnetic lock. The shared bathrooms (two shower rooms with toilet, four sinks) were clean-ish, depends who had been in before really but no real complaints.

The breakfast is a bit hit and miss - you'll probably get some toast and coffee but that's about it. They have a couple of PCs with free internet but they were normally being used. I did get on one once and it worked ok.

Neighbourhood:

In the neighbourhood there are some nice places to eat, especially the rough and ready curry place which we went to a few times and were shocked by how cheap it was for a really nice meal. There are some local bars and noodle joints too. Basically there is a block that you can walk round and eat, drink and be merry. There is also a small park near the MRT station and overall the location is pretty decent, albeit a stones throw from the red light district of Geylang (which is nothing to worry about at all).

Price:

The 10% booking fee with hostelbookers was added to the end bill which is a bit cheeky of the owners but they are clear about this on the booking site and still cheaper than most places so no real gripes here. We paid 176 SGD for four nights which was about the right amount for the quality of the accommodation.

Summary:

Again, the location is spot on - nice and near the MRT (which is superb) so you can just base yourself at Wow hostel, fill up on cheap food and drink, then go exploring the more expensive areas (if you're not on a budget, why are you staying here?).

Overall, it wasn't too bad - had the room been completely sealed it would have been really good but it wasn't and that's why I'm marking WOW down a bit. There really wasn't any wow factor to it.

Room Tip: If you go for a private double, check to make sure its a sealed room. Out of 54 places we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

It's in a perfect location not too far from the city and the airport. It's easy to get the public transit. The hostel have a lot of the guest so, in the morning, it's crowded during breakfast time. The internet Wi-Fi is fast!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

So just to make it clear. Geylang isn't really close to anything except itself (a red light district). There is no 24 hour reception. But it is on the way (East West line) to the airport and downtown. It is a very clean hostel with bunk beds. I stayed for 2 nights and i noticed that there were a lot of old people and people who seemed to get up for work. I'm not sure if this place is also housing for friends or family or something but there did seem to be a lot of non back packers. I'm sure that it is common for houses in SE asia, and probably else where, that the shower is in close vicinity to the toilet in the same room/stall. So be prepared for a wet toilet seat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wow Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wow Hostels

Address: 67B Lor 27 Geylang, Singapore 388189, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Wow Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wow Hotel Singapore
Wow Hostels Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wow Hostels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.