We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise for e environment..frust on the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lai Ming Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lai Ming Hotel
Save
You added Lai Ming Hotel to your Saves list
424 Geylang Road, Singapore 389396, Singapore (Geylang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #287 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“surprise for e environment..frust on the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

i have booked 2 nites stay thru email. it was replied and stated as confirmed it will b sgd75 per nite

later when we check in at the counter..e old lady insisted that e price is sgd 95 per nite. she never listen i said i have booked e room at sgd 75.

we checked in anyway since we were late for night safari.but e mattress n bed sheet were damn scary. with no elevator available.

n the lower floor used as transit room n of coz for their red bussiness.the girls even ask condoms from uncle at the reception counter.

i am aware wut geylang famous for..but i never expect it shall b this bad. during the night the place so crowded full chicks offering their bussiness.

never coming back for stay at geylang.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AsyikinAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I went to Singapore last year with my other 2 friends.
From airport, we took mrt until aljunied station. we looked for the map at the station & Lai Ming Hotel was in the map.
We thought it's quite far but only 200m from the station.
Transportation wise, I would recommend this hotel.

This hotel can offer a room for 3 people (of course with 1 extra bed).
For me, the cleanliness & toilet is ok. Clean sheets, water heater & tv functioning well.
We have slippers & enough towels for 3.

The only thing that I wasn't comfortable with this hotel was the Chinese lady at reception.
She was so weird when we asked for Hotel receipt. She said, she will only give for company claim purposes.

I think it's weird because I & my frens always keep receipts when we have a trip at any place (only for reference & confirmation)

But, I dont mind because it's cheap, commutable & worth to stay for 3 days & 2 nights.

Room Tip: just make sure you check everything first & report to the receptionist immediately because you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sufinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

As a solo, budget traveller this hotel suits me. The bed is comfortable and the water is hot. Nearby food shops provide cheap, delicious meals around the clock as the hotel is central to Singapore's red-light district.
As I was departing on the 10.30pm train to Malaysia it was cheap to extend my booking. At S$50 per night this hotel takes some beating.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

A group of six plain clothed "policemen" raided our room at 11:00 midnight. Even though they could see that we were a family, still they proceeded to record our passports and even checked my wife's handbag (for condoms?). It was a horrifying and humiliating experience for me, my wife and my children. They did not even announce that they were the police when they knocked on our room door. At first they said they were from the counter with something important, later they said they were the electrician. When we refuse to open to door, they forced open our room door with a master key! Never again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank leekamloong59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

This is a well located, budget hotel situated right on Geylang Road. It was suggested to me by my taxi driver for its very large rooms. My room was furnished with a very comfortable queen-sized bed, wardrobe, dressing table, bed-side tables, coffee table and two easy chairs. The bathroom (which was as large as some of the other budget rooms in Geylang), contained a full-length tub with shower over. Both the bath and hand-basin had small chips in the enamel which did not spoil their function. (Just the look.) The tv did not have satellite connection and there were only a couple of English channels. There was an electric jug and 2 mugs but no tea or coffee. Also there was no fridge in the room but this is normal for the budget hotels in this area which are often booked by "transit" guests. The aircon was very cold, adjustable and quiet. I had a room at the back of this very solid building and it was very quiet.
At only $50 (Singapore) per single/double per night I was more than satisfied with this hotel. The rate rises by $20 for public holidays and weekends.
The hotel is very close to the MTR and there are plenty of buses on Geylang Road.
The hotel is surrounded by a myriad of local eateries who provide both sit-in and take-away meals for tiny prices. There is an ATM, Post Office and Seven-Eleven only a few steps away. So although this hotel is quite basic it more than met my needs for the six nights I spent there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brandy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#125 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Geylang
Amrise Hotel
Amrise Hotel
#242 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#184 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 34
Hotel 34
#187 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Geylang
Four Chain View Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel
#210 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#144 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lai Ming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lai Ming Hotel

Address: 424 Geylang Road, Singapore 389396, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Lai Ming Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing