We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongbow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Brown Shoe

Old Brown Shoe
619F Bukit Timah Road, Singapore, Singapore
+65 6468 4626
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,422 of 7,382 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: European, British
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Strongbow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Cider at its best. Nice atmosphere outside in the wooden tables where you can enjoy a nice drink al fresco. Our favourite spot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went for the quiz and the atmosphere was very good, however the bar itself disappointed that evening.

No Tiger, beer prices in my opinion is high for the area, some food not available, miserable barmaid and the toilet area is not very clean....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Don't Eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Great pub but don't eat as the food was terrible. Maybe because it was a Sunday night but waited an hour for microwaved instant mashed potato... Ordered Shepherds Pie and was worst ever had globally.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small, but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I go to this pub often and they have the best fish and chips in Singapore and a good selection of beers, ciders and bitters.
It can get a little crowded, especially on quiz nights, but worth stopping for a pint when in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still looking for a pub with an extensive menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ok, maybe I'm asking to much, but I just want to find a pub close to me with a menu with more than 6 items on it. They have a menu here, and it does have more than six items, but apparently whatever is on the Specials board is what they are serving. And for a Saturday night to only have six choices is kinda lame.

But I had the vegetable samosas which were very flavorful, but mostly stuffed with potato. But for $7 and there were 8 pieces, it was good. We also tried the cheese fries with jalapeños. It was ok, but the jalapeños were pickled and they did not put nearly enough. Wanted to get a pizza but they were out pizza, not sure how that happens at a pub, but well, that was our answer.

But, on the good side, they do have a good list of ciders and they have some of the best liquor prices in our area. So, for that, I give them an average rating. Plus the staff there is very outgoing and friendly. Better than many of the bars of been into. But I still want a pub atmosphere with good food that's close to home. I'm going to keep looking and when I find it, I'll be sure to share it here

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Brown Shoe also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Old Brown Shoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Brown Shoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.