We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club to your Saves list
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B Connaught Drive, Singapore 179682, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Heyfield, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What a brilliant find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Well we did not know what we would get when we booked online, arrived at the hotel, with a welcome, taken to our magnificent room. We did not know much about Singpore or where or how to get around, the hotel staff helped us with everything and could not have been more helpful, each day when we returned they asked where have you been and what was it like, as they have only just added on 25 rooms in total to this recreation club we felt like part of the family. Buffet breakfast lovely, magnificent pool, shopping centre right across the road, we then went to phuket for a few days and had booked to come back to singapore and had originally booked somewhere else and when we arrived at this hotel we immediately booked out and went back to the Residence, do yourself a favour and stay there.

Room Tip: No tip you will get the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    225
    75
    16
    11
See reviews for
82
264
39
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We arrived early that weekend in May and the Resident Manager welcomed us to the Residence with warmth. He and the Staff lead us to the washrooms for us to refresh ourselves. We left our luggage in the hotel and immediately walked to the Esplanade. The Residence is in the Center of all the tourist attractions in Singapore. We came back to the hotel mid-day in order to check in our luggage and we truly were amazed by the splendid furnishings and set-up of the rooms. They were modern and refreshing...with fresh orchids in the bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and my children loved the congee. The rooms that we got were facing the Padang and we had a beautiful view of the City from our Terrace. The staff were very accommodating and the Club members friendly. We checked out on town, but left our luggage to do some last minute shopping at the nearby Funan Digital Mall...when we came back we used the Club's shower room by the Pool to freshen up. Truly a relaxing weekend in Singapore at the Residence. We will surely endorse this refreshing Hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Book early through their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Being locals, we haven heard of a residence here and bumped into this hotel on a website and it was relatively unkown as pple in SG dun really know that there is a residence for stay here. Fell in love with the pics online and i booked it immediately !

Our patio had a brilliant view of the Singapore skyline and the iconic Padang.. City Hall MRT is just 2 mins away... great for photography and we loved the indoor heated pool and jacuzzi... central location to travel all around the city and Sentosa... tip top service and free parking!

Book now! what are u waiting for!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth western australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed at the Residence earlier this month as I was attending a conference at Suntec.
Couldn't fault it ! It is excellent value for money compared to the rates charged by nearby hotels.The rooms were very nice and the view overlooking the Pedang was lovely.
Can't comment on the rooms facing the other way as my 2 other colleagues also had rooms facing the Pedang.
The shared balcony was spacious with a lovely view of the Singapore skyline,as did the seating area at the side.
We arranged for some of our work collegues to join us at the Residence and the cafe provided food that was brought up to the outdoor seating area.Thank you so much to all the staff in the cafe for such excellent service.
The breakfast in the cafe was very good.A recent review said it was a cold buffet.In fact there are hot and cold selections and in addition you can order eggs to your liking.
Duncan Roberts the manager came and introduced himself to us and let us know that he was on hand should we need anything.
The staff at reception were great.They were very prompt when i needed help with the safe and a loan of a international travel plug,and thank you also for the several buckets of ice !
The club facilities are nice.just had time for a quick dip and brief visit to the steam room.
I am returning to Singapore in July with my sister and our daughters for a holiday and have rebooked rooms at the Residence.Thank you Lita for your very efficient response to emails.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

In a city where accommodation is usually expensive and the rooms usually small, The Residence is a major discovery. Yes, the rooms are the usual size to be found in Singapore, but the price of The Residence is excellent for a hotel of this quality in the centre of Singapore.

Located diagonally opposite Raffles Plaza (where a MRT station is located), it is an easy walk to the Asian Civilisations Museum and the Merlion in one direction, and many shopping options in other directions. I am not a fan of Orchard Road so much prefer the attractions and shopping options in this part of Singapore instead so this location suited me perfectly.

The staff were friendly, but the reception area on the third floor must have the coldest air conditioning unit in the country. The room was a split level separated by several steps, with the upper level containing the well appointed bathroom and downstairs the main bedroom with a comfortable bed adorned in lovely colours. There was some noise from the street (my room faced the road) but that subsided well before midnight.

Food is taken in an area overlooking the indoor swimming pool, and the breakfast provided a good but not great selection of food. Dinner here was also more than acceptable. There are many facilities that guests can use such as the pool and gym, but I did not avail myself of this opportunity.

After checking out, I discovered that I had left my power adapter in the room, and so emailed them to see if they could retrieve it. Within five minutes, I received an email reply to say that they had found the adapter and would hold it for me until my return to Singapore more than a week later. Now, that is what I call service.

If I want a comfortable option for a reasonable price in an excellent location on future trips to Singapore, this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed for only one night but would have stayed longer if we had known how good it was. Because of a mix up when we had booked an earlier visit, Duncan Roberts the Resident Manager, gave us an upgrade to the Presidential Suite and I can only say that it fully lived up to it's name in all respects. Duncan and all the staff were extremely helpful and efficient during our stay and we would thoroughly recommend the Residence to anyone. Unlike some reports, we found the breakfast to be very good and enjoyed the dining room overlooking the pool. All in all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

right outside Raffles Place and the MRT, good price for Singapore but rooms small and shower even smaller. The hotel is within a local club and hence hotel and club facilities are shared. Breakfast was cold (buffet) but they did cook us a new one so thats a plus. No-one collects your baggage when you arrive so we ended up dragging it from the taxi up stairs etc. Its clean - reasonably good for the price ($125pn per room) through TA

Room Tip: face the padang
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Address: B Connaught Drive, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Singapore
#62 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#64 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.