We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty sheets, noisy location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   15 Hoe Chang Road | #01-01 Tower 15, Singapore 089316, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dirty sheets, noisy location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

the property is no doubt trying very hard to be trendy and hip, but it appears they've overlooked the basics. On check-in we found our bedsheets to be stained and had to call for replacements. Not a good way to make a first impression, and frankly quite a turn-off.

location-wise, the hotel is in the heart of the CBD, which is good for business travelers but not so much for leisure visitors. also be warned that rooms facing the main road will get very noisy during morning rush-hour traffic. the rooms were functional, but aren't anywhere as nice as they appear on the site. overall the whole experience was a disappointment- we really wanted this place to be good but they just couldn't deliver.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. At klapsons, we work hard to offer good and friendly service & we will continue to work harder to meet your expectations. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. If you’d like to contact me directly, I am most glad to receive your call. Once again, thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    48
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
5
45
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The style of the property was very modern. The room we had (302) had a separate bathroom and toilet. Both had natural stone laid on the floors and both were very badly stained. The same stone was used on the walls in both rooms and they were also stained, though not to the degree of the floors. The bathroom was generally not clean with glass requiring cleaning. There was unsitely corrosion on the metal shower screen door.

Likewise the carpet in the room was dirty and the blue walls adjacent to the toilet required repainting.

It seems materials were selected for their trendiness rather than for practically in a commercial environment.

There was quite a large balcony but did not look very appealing at is was screened off from adjacent buildings (I guess).

We were there on a Saturday and their restaurant was closed at lunch time. I can see why as the hotel is located in the CBD.

We did however have good night's rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. At klapsons, we're always listening & I have shared your comments with the housekeeping & maintenance team so we can make your future stay with us a more memorable one. Once again, thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I love the complimentary mini bar. The breakfast was nothing to rave about though decent. I must say we were quite late about 10:25am, when we reached the restaurant for breakfast, the waitress was very poliet but I felt the pressure to finish our food fast and leave cos there was a guy who kept peering out of the kitchen asking if there were any other diners, its getting late... The room we stayed also has ant problem. So overall was not as good as I've hope it would be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. At klapsons, we work hard to offer good and friendly service & we will continue to work harder to meet your expectations. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. I will personally follow up on the areas that we could further improve on. If you’d like to contact me directly, I am most glad to receive your call. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Klapsons Suite for 1 night.

The ladies at the counter were very polite and professional. One staff was also willing to give up her personal phone charger for me (i declined but her action is commendable).

The room was nice with an amazing bathroom - double sinks, shower & bathtub. the king-sized bed was very comfortable and clean. I loved the jacuzzi very much.

Morning breakfast was simple yet somewhat yummy.

Something to take note of:
The hotels restaurant ("the sleeping rhino") and roof-top bar is not opened on Sundays.I must have missed some info on the website that might have stated that. kinda sad that there was no food, had to pop by the mall for food..not quite what i had in mind.

some of the channels on the TV, which they mentioned they had, were not available at all..
not a big thing to me but management might want to look into that.

Should you be interested in the Klapsons Suite, get the one on the 2nd Floor, i hear it has a larger room.

Overall, we had an amazing stay - though i must admit, i expected a lot more.


Cheers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for having your staycation with us. All of us at klapsons are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your kind feedback on the choices of TV channels & will further improve ourselves to meet your expectations. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked the Oasis suite for two nights it was a very comfortable & memorable stay for us.

All staff were friendly and attentive , suite was luxurious nothing to complaint about. loved the out door Jacuzzi and the bathroom.We had a lovely time and we will definitely choose klapsons if we are going to Singapore aging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive comments. It is extremely encouraging when guests acknowledge the good work of our team & that we made your stay a memorable one. All of us at klapsons are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Booked the klapsons Suite for a one-night stay & it was one of my most memorable stay. Geared towards couples, the entire hotel room was pretty luxurious. The interior of the hotel was very well designed. Loved the bathroom area especially with the sinks side by side with a bathtub & standing shower! Kudos to the jacuzzi because I just wanted to stay in there all day & night. Pretty romantic. The view was from head to toe & it was a great sight to wake up to. With Chopard bathing soaps, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay & would stay there again & again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments. I have shared your kind words with our hotel team & all of us at klapsons wanted to express how gratifying it was to receive your kind note of support & encouragement. Once again, thank you for choosing klapsons & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a very pleasant stay at Klapsons.

First off, the beauty of this hotel, and its hallmark, is the design. From when you first see the lobby from outside, with the lamps at odd angles, to the reception egg, to the rooms themselves, there is a unique design. It gives the hotel a quirky feel.

We stayed in an Oasis Suite, which due to the open design is not like most suites, no separate rooms for sitting and sleeping areas, but provides you with plenty of space, if not quite as much as a usual suite. The bed was on the firmer side of comfortable, but sleep quality was still good. There was some intrusion of road noise in our room, and some of the large windows did not have blinds that fully covered them, but sleep quality was still high as the area is pretty quite at night. The bathroom was large and well designed, with plenty of space for two people and a large shower. What made the room for us was the outdoor jacuzzi on the small patio, which was comfortable for two people and was a great place to soak after a long day.

The internet in our room was pretty poor, especially when there were many users on the wireless. After being unable to check our business we asked reception what they could do for us, and they provided a 3G modem for our laptop that allowed us to get what done what we needed.

The service was above average, with reception always giving a greeting and all of our requests were met. The air conditioner in our room was broken at first, but after reporting it they had someone in to fix it that day.

Breakfast at the hotel was a disappointment. A small selection of meats, fruits and breads with eggs cooked to order. There was no rice, with which I have grown used to breaking my fast. There is enough to be filling, but we skipped breakfast at the hotel a few times to eat nearby.

The location is great for business and pleasure, being a short 5 minute walk from an MRT station from which you can get to anywhere in Singapore. We went to the Singapore Zoo and Universal Studios on this trip and had no troubles. We even took the MRT to get too and from Changi, which was very cheap and not terribly bothersome. There is a mall nearby, 100AM, that has many restaurants and a food court on the top floor where you can get a wide selection of dishes at very good value.

Overall we had a great stay and enjoyed the hotel. If we for any reason visit Singapore again we would definitely consider Klapsons for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments & valuable comments. All of us at klapsons are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your feedback & will further improve ourselves to meet your expectations & make your stay the most memorable one. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel

Address: 15 Hoe Chang Road | #01-01 Tower 15, Singapore 089316, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#94 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the southern fringe of the Central Business District, klapsons, The Boutique Hotel affords quiet sophistication, refined luxury and functionality. Passionately crafted by William Sawaya of contemporary design forerunner Sawaya & Moroni, guests luxuriate in a practical yet innovative alternative to mainstream perceptions of a hotel stay. Each guestroom is individually characterised such that no two rooms are alike. Boasting over 750sqm of event space with superlative views of the Singapore Port and the heritage of the Tanjong Pagar residential estate, klapsons is the first boutique hotel in Singapore to offer three intimate yet distinct venues for corporate seminars, meetings, social engagements and weddings.The Sleeping Rhino is the hotel's bistro-styled restaurant that conjures wholesome casual dining at Lobby Level; Lucas Deli serves up gourmet and takeaway bites; while the sky-terrace bar, Fabrika, perched on 17th floor was opened in August 2010. To ensure that we continuously provide a pleasant environment for all our guest, the hotel reserve the right to levy a surcharge for any gatherings consisting of more than two person per guest room without further notice. External food and drinks are not permitted within the hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.