We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Services and Extremely Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   15 Hoe Chang Road | #01-01 Tower 15, Singapore 089316, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Top Notch Services and Extremely Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My GF and I stayed at the Oasis Suite for a night and I also took the opportunity to propose to her. I'm glad that I've certainly made the choice to choose Klapsons for the proposal.

I've called up a week before my stay to request for a "site survey" on the Oasis Suite. The staff over the phone, Jaci, picked up and mentioned that she'll be able to show me a room of a similar layout (I suppose its the Oasis room) because the suite was occupied. Went over in about an hour and Jaci gladly brought me up to the room for my "site survey"

I wrote several emails to Klapsons in the week leading up to the proposal and not only they were quick in responding to the email, but it seems that they are more than willing to acede

Room Tip: My GF and I stayed at the Oasis Suite for a night and I also took the opportunity to propose to her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    48
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
5
45
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Occupying the first 3 floors of an office block in the Central Business District (CBD) / China Town area of Singapore it is a very interesting experience. We booked a Klapsons Oasis Suite 301 from memory which was a good sized room but no separate sitting area as the suite name would suggest. The bathroom on the other hand is extensive but the shower only has one setting which is in the form of a large tap tipping water over you from a great height. Not for everyone as if you turned facing the shower there was a danger it could to drown you! The volume and direction of the water poured out onto the floor although this appears to have been catered for as there was drainage.

Room decor was modern and the light settings interesting and worked pretty well.

I note that there have in the past been some complaints over the Jacuzzi which is outside in a separate area (not a problem for Singapore). We found it to be clean although it too a couple of minutes to remove the bamboo leaf deposited presumably due to wind. Despite intital trepidation this was a great way to unwind at the end of the day.

Overall service was fine, check in efficient and needs catered for. The pod is odd and the acoustics off putting but you will remember it.

Breakfast was reasonable with a fresh cooked option that worked well. If you are looking for a vast international buffet here you are not going to get it as there are only 17 rooms.

We went up to the top floor (Fabrika) which is an open lounge / light food bar and spent a pleasant hour listening to a couple of guitarists - The happy hour two for 1 is reasonable value but note that this is the (CBD) and so they are closed on Saturday and Sunday nights as there is no trade.

As the hotel is in China town there are many bars and restaurants in the area with the nearest MRT (Tanjong Pagar) around 400 metres away. China town night market can be walked to (slowly) as well as Club Street (one of the happening areas of Singapore) the rest is a taxi ride.

So all in all if you have business in the CBD then this is an option. If you were planning a reception and wanted to put guests up here, this is an option. A acouple of nights stay in Singapore if you are fed up with large hotels.......great but this is an aquired taste.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel location is suitable for business trip especially, it's located on the heart of business centre nearby MRT station. The hotel decoration is very nice for those who like modern decoration style. The metallic cycle reception counter was very attractive for me as well as the lighting.

Once I opended the door, it made my surprised because of the transparent glass shower tube in the middle of the room!!! Good that we have close toilet in room :D
I personally like the decoration and the room size is quiet big compares with others hotels in Singapore. I love comfy bed with many pillows, it made me sleep very well after my entire stressful meeting.

Besides the decoration, the facilities is one thing I like:
- floor to ceiling window with city view
- wide wall mirror
- digital weighing apparatus
- fridge
- coffee machine (you can have your cappucino or decafeine coffee with fresh milk not a kettle with instant coffee!!)
- lighting, curtain and air condition are able to adjust at the entrance, window and on your bedside!

Breakfast was ok with limited selection due to only 17 rooms capacity. But the quality was good with service minded staffs.

I would love to stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Klapsons is more peculiar than boutique, the ridiculous pod you climb into to register on arrival certainly sets the tone for a different but less than remarkable experience.

in their desire to be different, clearly they are trying hard unfortunately in this instance 'trying hard' comes across as 'try hard' as the important things are missed in preference to emphasis on the odd and impractical.

In my room
the lighting particularly in the bathroom was inadequate and broken.
shower with a full window to the street was ridiculous given it lost its effect because you had to pull down the blind to stop people in the street watching you shower.
the wireless internet was as good as useless, best place for reasonable reception was to stand in front of the lifts.
the room was clean and the introduction of a coffee pod machine was a nice touch but then that is becoming industry standard now.
the toilet by the from door and the shower at the other end of the apartment requires some forward planning
plenty of hanging space for clothes if you ar a long term tenant.
bed was ok
lobby
the tables and chairs in the lobby were a missmatch of quirky pieces with no rhyme or reason to them, not comfortable to sit and do business and again internet was only good in one corner.

What little interaction i had with staff was stock standard Singapore helpfulness and friendliness

over all I would stay there again if I had to but would not make it my first choice, there are plenty of other hotels offering better planned and functioning facilities in Singapore

Room Tip: avoid the window in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was having a break on the way back to Austrailia from Europe. Was an excellent way to re-charge the batteries. The room was lovely and clean. Food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Everything was very good.. Room was decorated with flower petals.. Jacuzzi was the best of it that my hubby n I enjoyed... Things that are not good is.. E outdoor mini lamp 2 of it is the working and e technician said that the wire is faulty that's all... If not the outdoor will look even nicer n brighter during e nite.. Lastly, the front desk person is not very knowledgeable, friendly n willing to help more...,

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location was not optimal forme as I wanted to be closer to Chinatown .it was a good 15 min walk thru lots of traffic It was also not convenient to Scott's/orchard . The direct locale a bit barren for cafe or restaurants except for a nice tiny cafe outside the hotel. I am normally attracted to small hotels . Trying to get taxis is a problem bbut maybe an island wide problem This place felt impersonal with reception staff all cooped up in an egg like space where one approaches like into the ET SPACESHIP . I got a room with odd glass windows onto the void downstairs so had to keep the curtains drawn else direct view up into the room. The space was tiny and claustrophobic . I think it was more than 300sing$ . No where to move in the bathroom or hang your towel . Yes it was small . What was good about the experience? Interesting infividual design everywhere but put together it felt too try hard . Good use of old office building .
The espresso machine was a nice luxe touch .
The breakfast buffet was mean , maybe it was a quiet day and they cut down the spread , I would suggest doing ala carte on days like this . Overall I think i would stay elsewhere next time

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel

Address: 15 Hoe Chang Road | #01-01 Tower 15, Singapore 089316, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#94 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the southern fringe of the Central Business District, klapsons, The Boutique Hotel affords quiet sophistication, refined luxury and functionality. Passionately crafted by William Sawaya of contemporary design forerunner Sawaya & Moroni, guests luxuriate in a practical yet innovative alternative to mainstream perceptions of a hotel stay. Each guestroom is individually characterised such that no two rooms are alike. Boasting over 750sqm of event space with superlative views of the Singapore Port and the heritage of the Tanjong Pagar residential estate, klapsons is the first boutique hotel in Singapore to offer three intimate yet distinct venues for corporate seminars, meetings, social engagements and weddings.The Sleeping Rhino is the hotel's bistro-styled restaurant that conjures wholesome casual dining at Lobby Level; Lucas Deli serves up gourmet and takeaway bites; while the sky-terrace bar, Fabrika, perched on 17th floor was opened in August 2010. To ensure that we continuously provide a pleasant environment for all our guest, the hotel reserve the right to levy a surcharge for any gatherings consisting of more than two person per guest room without further notice. External food and drinks are not permitted within the hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.