We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel that offers a very warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wangz Hotel to your Saves list
Wangz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore (Tiong Bahru)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Explore Singapore On Us
Ranked #16 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Noosaville, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel that offers a very warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel - a little out of the way but they do offer a free shuttle service to all the main tourist areas and the Singapore taxi's are very cheap. The service and warmth of the staff however is unbeatable. We arrived very early for check in, tired from an early long haul flight, only expecting to leave our luggage for the day but as our room was free they happily offered to let us check in early, free of charge and we had a very unexpected but most welcome shower and rest. The staff could not do enough for us throughout our stay and were most accommodating. The breakfast was included, it was really substantial, offered a huge variety of Asian style and continental breakfasts and you could also order freshly cooked eggs. This filling breakfast was really economical when travelling with a growing, never full teenage boy as meals are generally very expensive in Singapore.
When booking we pondered over whether to stay at one of the larger hotels and very nearly booked Marina Bay Sands but when I read the TA reviews saying that you couldn't leave your luggage for a late check out and that it was very busy and impersonal I changed my mind and chose here instead and I am very happy with my decision. We visited Marina Bay Sands and it was truly amazing but a visit was enough.
The area is near to China town (5 mins in a taxi) and the amazing food markets where you can fill your boots with amazing Asian food for a few dollars. We didn't visit them but the restaurants next to the hotel are supposed to be good too. Most shopping malls offer good reasonably priced meal choices in their food halls.
Singapore is beautiful, clean, safe and the people are very friendly, we had a great time, my only regret was not booking afternoon tea at Raffles it looked like an amazing treat.
Make sure that you visit the Gardens by the Bay and set aside at least half a day for this.

Room Tip: As a family of 3 the "Deep suite" offered us space and privacy from our teenage son
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mandy C,

Thank you for choosing WANGZ Hotel as your choice of accommodation during your recent family vacation. We are happy to have exceeded your expectations and appreciate the positive feedback you have for the service and warmth of the staff, breakfast service and the Deep Suite and hotel facilities.

All of us look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back at our hotel.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    248
    61
    8
    4
See reviews for
106
400
63
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent the last 2 nights after a 5 week European holiday and we couldn't have made a better choice. We were both jet-lagged and unwell but being at the Wangz helped us recover. From the minute we stepped out of the taxi we were well looked after. Kumar was always there to help and I am sorry he wasn't there on the day we left. We found all the staff very helpful and friendly at all times.

Our room was beautifully presented and decorated with extra quirky additions, lovely toiletries as well. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. The decor throughout the whole hotel was just so different and I loved it

Breakfast was perfect and although I nearly missed it due to jet lag/sleeping, there was always plenty to choose from and the breakfast staff were lovely.

I would definitely stay here again and even though it's not near the MRT, there is a shuttle service.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear lovechocolatecake,

Thank you for choosing to stay at WANGZ Hotel after your long vacation in Europe. I am sorry to hear you fell ill during the last leg of your travels but am comforted to know you recovered after a welcoming stay at our hotel.

Everyone here, especially Kumar, send our warmest wishes to you and your family. It has been a great pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you back home very soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I had a short 3 night stay at Wangz hotel whilst in Singapore. Judging by the response, the hotel is not well known by most taxi drivers so it's best to have some idea of nearby landmarks to help guide them if needed. The location is ok, being within 10 minutes walk of an MRT station and a few restaurants within a block or two of the hotel.

The hotel provides fantastic service from their staff who are always friendly. The check-in staff made an extra effort to select an appropriate room. The room was quite spacious with very good lighting. There is ample space in the bathroom, however it was of a slightly unusual long elongated shape, similar to a corridor. As expected from a boutique hotel, there was a nice touch to the amenities from Molton Brown. The bed was comfortable but I found the pillows a little hard. The daily complimentary beverages from the mini-bar is welcoming for the Singapore heat. Although they accommodated my request on room type, the room that I was in was incredibly noisy from the traffic on the street. As the hotel is located at the corner of an intersection, I can imagine most of the other rooms would get this noise too. Fortunately this did not interrupt me, but those light sleepers may want to consider this.

For the business traveller, there is a large work desk and ample international power outlets. The internet however is terrible. At different times of the day it was slow making it impossible to do any online conference calls. Downloading files is also painstakingly slow, taking me an hour to download a file size of 30MB. There is also not much of an entrance with the taxi dropping you off in a small basement carpark to take a lift to the reception. A lobby is almost non-existant, with a couple of chairs shared in an open space area with reception and the restaurant.

The restaurant serves a buffet breakfast, providing the usual continental offerings and eggs cooked to your liking. There's not a huge variety, but enough to help start the day. There is a very small gym however I did not use it.

Wangz is a very nice small hotel with exceptional service from the staff and I can see they are striving for improvement. It is certainly ideal if you are after something different from your standard hotel., But if you rely on steady internet for work or leisure, you may need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Jetsetter_AU,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent business trip to Singapore and recognising the team’s exceptional service.

Whilst you enjoyed your spacious room and the amenities provided, I am disappointed to learn of your trying experience with the internet access and do sincerely apologise for the resulting disruptions to your work.

Please allow me to address this matter after a thorough investigation. During your period of accommodation, we had not received feedback from guests regarding internet connectivity issues thus we were unaware of any difficulties then. Nonetheless, we value your feedback and fully understand the importance of reliable internet connectivity for all travellers alike. Since your review has been posted, the IT department has been monitoring the bandwidth strength throughout the hotel regularly to ensure that everything is in working order.

You may also be happy to know that we do provide a select pillow menu with softer options should you find the provided ones in the room too hard for your liking. Unfortunately, your first experience fell short from expectations but I hope that you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in our product. Wishing you well.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Not only the artistic space that suits my preferred choice, the service from the front dest to the manager at the front desk was like a gentle breeze that sooths the melting heat of the hot weather. I was arranged to stay at one the only 2 balcony rooms with very spacious and comfortable settings , and the pillow menu was a luxury treat for light sleeper like me, i personally recommend the aloe vera pillow, it makes me doze off in split seconds. For a intimate or even romantic drinking space , there is Halo that provides live band and great varieties of cocktail , spectacular view over looking both the city and the green heritage of Outram and Tiong Bahru area. A great choice for newly weds, young couples or even business travellers that seeks high quality business trip stay at a 5 star boutique hotel!

Room Tip: look out for the local art pieces that was tastefully selected in different space as well as all lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear JIUJIAN1MOROUND,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am very happy to read of your positive experience and appreciate the many compliments you have showered for the hotel facilities and amenities and the team’s service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to WANGZ Hotel should you be around the vicinity.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way back from the UK to Oz and it was a perfect stop-over hotel. It was perfectly located for us as we like to get out and about and explore more than the standard tourist spots; and was also located well for a short walk to the bus stop for the tourist City Tour Bus.
Right from the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome and the reception staff and bellboy were only too happy to assist us with recommendations on things to do and see. Our room was on the sixth floor and although not at the front of the hotel was perfect because it was a bit quieter with street noise. The room itself was clean and fresh and had everything we needed including the free minibar (soft drinks). The room was modern and comfortable. After a short siesta we headed out and made our way around no problem and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The rooftop bar (seventh floor) was very chilled out and has a fabulous cocktail list and live music a couple of nights a week. The bar snacks were also very tasty.
The brekkie is included in the tariff and has loads on offer. The waiting staff (Dianne) was great and very attentive - all our dietary requirements were met. Perfect hotel for short stays and very efficient service. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear scozzieaussie,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and highly recommending our hotel.

We are glad to have met your expectations during your stay and thank you for the many positive comments for the service, hotel design and amenities. It is also great you had an opportunity to enjoy the rooftop lounge and yes, we do offer live music on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Once again, we appreciate your support and all of us at WANGZ Hotel look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

A really lovely boutique hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms were well appointed with very comfortable beds. I especially loved the fact that they have installed multi country power outlets. The rain shower is also great. The breakfast buffet was great. There was enough variety to keep everyone happy and I enjoyed the fact that the hot food was changed daily. Bad points (and only minor issues) - there is no pool to take a dip and renew after touring around in the heat and the rooftop bar snacks were not fantastic and a little expensive but I did note that the menu had changed on our last day, including lower prices and it looked a lot better. So keep this in mind. Drinks are much cheaper elsewhere if not drinking during happy hour which runs for four hours. We walked to china town a fair bit whilst there, about 20 minutes and found the location whilst a little out of the way nicely located away from the hustle and bustle. Great place and would highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Nic H,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. Your compliments for the team’s service and the hotel facilities and breakfast offering are truly appreciated.

On the other hand, I am sorry that the snacks at Halo were disappointing but yes, we have just launched a new tapas menu this week and the feedback received so far has been positive. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay at WANGZ Hotel again and please do try the new items at Halo rooftop lounge when your travels bring you back to Singapore.

We wish you well.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Lovely new, modern Hotel in a peaceful neighbourhood, close to transport, only a short walk away to MRT. Very friendly staff with a personal approach to their guests. Steven at the Nectar restaurant went out of his way to accommodate our needs, Rasa was very attentive and lovely serving at the table and last but not least was Gaya who made my b-day celebration special with a drink voucher for the Halo Bar and the other personnel who send me a birthday cake to the room. Just one thing as a guide to other prospective guests to this hotel I did my google "walk" to find the way to direct the taxi driver as some reviewers mentioned that the drivers did not know their way to it.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor was perfect, quiet no traffic noise despite being on a busy intersection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Barbara W,

Thank you taking time to write this positive review. We are honoured to have you celebrate your special day with us and are glad you went home with many pleasant memories.

Your compliments for the individual team members are much appreciated and all of us look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Singapore in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#16 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#19 Business Hotel in Singapore
#19 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel - check out the rooftop lounge, Halo, with its panoramic views of the city - and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. Wangz Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wangz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.