We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wangz Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wangz Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Best Rates
Ranked #12 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Friendly staff, clean awesome rooms. Very quiet too, which i always appreciate. The location is really great if you don't mind a short walk to the MRT station (alternatively, the hotel provides a shuttle to the Outram Park MRT, Orchard Road and another popular location that I am blanking on). I did not have breakfast at the hotel, but it smelled good every morning!

Room Tip: Request an upper floor if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear spocksf,

We appreciate your time in posting this review and thank you for your compliments for our service and amenities.

In case you may still be wondering, the other shuttle drop-off location is actually at Raffles Place/Marina Bay. It is unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy breakfast this time but I do hope you will have an opportunity to join us during your next visit to WANGZ Hotel.

Happy holidays!


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    220
    51
    5
    4
See reviews for
102
334
53
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Funky rooms! Colourful and fun! Had this awesome bathtub overlooking the town. The hotel itself is small, so felt very nice and personalised. I didn't like the location which was the only downfall, you had to get a taxi into China town otherwise it was a fairly decent stroll.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear ThanhThiTran,

Thank you for writing this review. We appreciate your positive feedback on the ambience and service in the hotel.

While we are unable to change the location, we believe the accessibility of public transportation and the complimentary shuttle service provided has somewhat eased your travelling around the city.

We certainly hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Place was all in all great! Good neighbourhood, good connections, really nice interior, friendly staff, really cool rooms and good breakfast. Most certainly will stay there next time in Singapore. Our warmest recommendations! Good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Harrisaur,

Thank you for taking time to post this review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your accommodation experience and appreciate your many compliments for the hotel.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Our room on the sixth floor looked out onto a big road but it somehow added to the experience. The soundproofing was perfect, the bathroom was designed to overlook the view without sacrificing privacy. The bed was divine and the bar on the top is great. Very attentive service at breakfast and they ordered our cabs. Nearby is Tiong Bahru, a conservation area of Art Deco buildings. We only wished we had found it sooner. Forget the big hotels, this one is special.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mary M,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are very pleased to read of your favourable experience and appreciate your many compliments on the hotel's design, amenities, facilities and service.

The Management and team welcomes you into the WANGZ family and look forward to your many returns in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Although the Wangz Hotel is in Tiong Bahru, which is a wonderful 1930s art deco area of Singapore (well worth exploring - I strongly recommend following the Tiong Bahru Heritage Trail), in no way is it 1930s.
Instead the unusual cylindrical building (and everything inside) it is an exercise in hi-tech that fits well with Singapore, where technology seems to rule.
Our room was amazing, although it did take us a while to work out how to operate the technology and turn off the ambient music. Huge double bed - needed a cab to get from one side to the other, but hey, they're so cheap in Singapore! Walk-in shower was brilliant too.
For an evening drink or two, the bar at the top is open to the stars, so that the slightest breeze comes in - much needed after the and humidity of the day. The bar is open to the public so, when ordering, don't forget to tell the bar staff you're staying in the hotel...
Although not at all hi-tech the breakfast gave a wide enough choice for us, so can't complain.
The staff were really helpful and made our one-night stay as relaxing as a one-night stay can be.
Thanks, Wangz.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear GreenwichPowderhound,

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your overall accommodation experience from your room amenities to the hotel facilities and our team’s service. We love the distinctive architecture and charm of Tiong Bahru as well and are glad you spent time exploring the area during your trip.

Please visit WANGZ Hotel again when your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frillesas, Sweden
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived around 8 am thinking we would be able to store our luggage and come back, but much to our surprise, our room was ready and we checked in. Very nice after 12 hours on a plane! Not only that, we were invited to help ourselves to breakfast. Very helpful and pleasant staff, always eager to assist with whatever we needed. Clean and comfortable room. A nice change to the often very impersonal larger chain hotels. Small breakfadt buffet but had the essentials. Ten minute walk to MRT. Nice rooftop bar. Will definitely stay again if we visit Singapore some other time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear MiaEJ2013,

Thank you for sharing your experience at WANGZ Hotel. We are glad you had a memorable experience and appreciate your compliments on the team and facilities.

All of us look forward to your return visit soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I can only agree with all the positive reviews I've read so far.
The location is perfect. If you are coming by plane, just take a 2 dollar ride from the airport directly to the nearest metro station (Outram
Park). No need to take a taxi.
The metro is just 5 minutes away and in a couple of stops you'll get to the main landmarks. You can probably walk to most places but I didn't try so I don't know exactly I long it would take.
The room was fresh, pretty, modern and had everything, including a docking station for iPhone.
The service was good and both the receptionist and the manager who greeted us during breakfast gave us a lot of tips and info and were open for feedback.
The breakfast was good. Some could argue that there was not so much variety as the buffet was quite limited but I was very satisfied.
I definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for an accommodation that combines both quality and location at a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Marinillo,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are pleased to have met your accommodation expectations and hope to see you at WANGZ Hotel again very soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Singapore
#12 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel – check out the rooftop lounge, Halo, with its panoramic views of the city – and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. Wangz Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore’s main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as Molton Brown bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wangz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.