We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wangz Hotel to your Saves list
Wangz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Explore Singapore On Us
Ranked #13 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Funky Rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Funky rooms! Colourful and fun! Had this awesome bathtub overlooking the town. The hotel itself is small, so felt very nice and personalised. I didn't like the location which was the only downfall, you had to get a taxi into China town otherwise it was a fairly decent stroll.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear ThanhThiTran,

Thank you for writing this review. We appreciate your positive feedback on the ambience and service in the hotel.

While we are unable to change the location, we believe the accessibility of public transportation and the complimentary shuttle service provided has somewhat eased your travelling around the city.

We certainly hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    229
    56
    7
    4
See reviews for
105
360
56
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Place was all in all great! Good neighbourhood, good connections, really nice interior, friendly staff, really cool rooms and good breakfast. Most certainly will stay there next time in Singapore. Our warmest recommendations! Good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Harrisaur,

Thank you for taking time to post this review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your accommodation experience and appreciate your many compliments for the hotel.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Our room on the sixth floor looked out onto a big road but it somehow added to the experience. The soundproofing was perfect, the bathroom was designed to overlook the view without sacrificing privacy. The bed was divine and the bar on the top is great. Very attentive service at breakfast and they ordered our cabs. Nearby is Tiong Bahru, a conservation area of Art Deco buildings. We only wished we had found it sooner. Forget the big hotels, this one is special.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mary M,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are very pleased to read of your favourable experience and appreciate your many compliments on the hotel's design, amenities, facilities and service.

The Management and team welcomes you into the WANGZ family and look forward to your many returns in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Although the Wangz Hotel is in Tiong Bahru, which is a wonderful 1930s art deco area of Singapore (well worth exploring - I strongly recommend following the Tiong Bahru Heritage Trail), in no way is it 1930s.
Instead the unusual cylindrical building (and everything inside) it is an exercise in hi-tech that fits well with Singapore, where technology seems to rule.
Our room was amazing, although it did take us a while to work out how to operate the technology and turn off the ambient music. Huge double bed - needed a cab to get from one side to the other, but hey, they're so cheap in Singapore! Walk-in shower was brilliant too.
For an evening drink or two, the bar at the top is open to the stars, so that the slightest breeze comes in - much needed after the and humidity of the day. The bar is open to the public so, when ordering, don't forget to tell the bar staff you're staying in the hotel...
Although not at all hi-tech the breakfast gave a wide enough choice for us, so can't complain.
The staff were really helpful and made our one-night stay as relaxing as a one-night stay can be.
Thanks, Wangz.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear GreenwichPowderhound,

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your overall accommodation experience from your room amenities to the hotel facilities and our team’s service. We love the distinctive architecture and charm of Tiong Bahru as well and are glad you spent time exploring the area during your trip.

Please visit WANGZ Hotel again when your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frillesas, Sweden
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived around 8 am thinking we would be able to store our luggage and come back, but much to our surprise, our room was ready and we checked in. Very nice after 12 hours on a plane! Not only that, we were invited to help ourselves to breakfast. Very helpful and pleasant staff, always eager to assist with whatever we needed. Clean and comfortable room. A nice change to the often very impersonal larger chain hotels. Small breakfadt buffet but had the essentials. Ten minute walk to MRT. Nice rooftop bar. Will definitely stay again if we visit Singapore some other time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear MiaEJ2013,

Thank you for sharing your experience at WANGZ Hotel. We are glad you had a memorable experience and appreciate your compliments on the team and facilities.

All of us look forward to your return visit soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I can only agree with all the positive reviews I've read so far.
The location is perfect. If you are coming by plane, just take a 2 dollar ride from the airport directly to the nearest metro station (Outram
Park). No need to take a taxi.
The metro is just 5 minutes away and in a couple of stops you'll get to the main landmarks. You can probably walk to most places but I didn't try so I don't know exactly I long it would take.
The room was fresh, pretty, modern and had everything, including a docking station for iPhone.
The service was good and both the receptionist and the manager who greeted us during breakfast gave us a lot of tips and info and were open for feedback.
The breakfast was good. Some could argue that there was not so much variety as the buffet was quite limited but I was very satisfied.
I definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for an accommodation that combines both quality and location at a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Marinillo,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are pleased to have met your accommodation expectations and hope to see you at WANGZ Hotel again very soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Wonderful boutique hotel with quirky designs and friendly staff.

Stayed in a canopy room on the 4th floor, comfortable, spacious, clean and modern. The hotel is a low rise building and the surroundings are of the same. The freeway is nearby, but we were unaffected and the room was quiet. Views from the bathroom (yes, part of the quirkiness) were into the city. The shower and bath area was huge (weirdly huge!!).

Situated within Tiong Bahru with interesting and rich history, lots of thing to explore and see within a 3 block radius. Food safari with the hawker food market place, bakeries, local restaurants.

Nearest MRT is Outram Park which is an easy line to reach popular destinations and is on the same line as Changi airport. The MRT is a 12min stroll along a nice tree lined road passing Singapore general hospital....this is a short stroll but for those not used to SE humidity, could be a little uncomfortable. Therefore, hotel also provides a shuttle drop off from hotel to the MRT and Orchard Rd (scheduled timetable). Taxi ride from the airport is S$20 and we had the hotel shuttle drop us and our luggage at the MRT to go back to Changi. Overall, the hotel location is convenient and suited us as we wanted a different experience from our previous stay at Orchard Rd and City Hall.

Complimentary Wifi and movies a great value add.

The hotel serves a daily Continental breakfast..... we found it perfectly ok.

Have a drink at twilight and chill out at the rooftop bar.

Great customer service; thank you to the team there.

Some very minor observations:
- mini bar fridge is more like a wine cooler and the contents were not cold
- missing a full length mirror
- more bench space in bathroom and room

Overall, highly recommended if you want a 5 star experience in an intimate hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear PaulineAndBear,

Thank you for choosing to stay at WANGZ Hotel recently. I am delighted you had a wonderful experience and had the opportunity to enjoy our rooftop lounge, Halo and explored the surrounding Tiong Bahru vicinity.

Your comment on the mini-bar temperature setting has been noted and looked into. I apologise that it was malfunction during your stay. Unfortunately, we are unable to include full-length mirrors in all our rooms or increase bench space now but these will be definitely be considered should we upgrade our hotel facilities in future.

All of us look forward to your return visit soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Singapore
#13 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#14 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel – check out the rooftop lounge, Halo, with its panoramic views of the city – and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. Wangz Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore’s main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as Molton Brown bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wangz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.