We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need, and some more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wangz Hotel to your Saves list
Wangz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore (Tiong Bahru)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Early Birds Saver
Ranked #15 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“All you need, and some more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, stylish design and good location. Strong wifi and complementary soft drinks in minibar are nice additions. Finally a hotel with detectable night light switches! Also, Wangz is surrounded by small and inexpensive (for Spore standard) chinese restaurants. Nice alternative for dinner or lunch.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Kai S,

We are delighted you had a pleasant accommodation experience with us recently. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    263
    62
    10
    4
See reviews for
114
433
68
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée and I went there for one night and liked it.

The room was well decorated, the amenities are full range and we had a very good general impression.
The complimentary drinks in the minibar are very welcome, the balcony we had the chance to get has plants, chairs, table, very nice for breakfast.

An example of the sense of service of this hotel : we arrived in the morning, too early to check-in, so we let our luggage to the front desk receptionist. In night time, when back to the hotel, the luggage was already in the room. Same the next day, we let the luggage upon check-out at noon, came back at 5pm to get our luggage and requested a taxi. Waiting for the taxi, they serve us a complementary drink, and when taxi arrived and we have been escorted to the basement, we had the good surprise to see our luggage already in the trunk of the taxi.
Small intentions but good effect.

Room got full equipment (big screen tv, DVD player, iPhone dock radio clock, and even you have a volume button that enables you to listen to a very nice lounge music, sometimes latino, very enjoyable.

Shower is modern, towels smell very good and are comfortable to use ; which is not often in the hotel.

The location is 5-10 min from Outram MRT, 15 min from Chinatown main street. Quite nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Papystaga,

Thank you for the positive review and I am glad you and your fiancée enjoyed our service, amenities and attention to detail.

All of us hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here on a weekend break with my parents and brother. Both our rooms were spacious with comfortable beds, large pillows (which you can swap for a more regular sized one if you prefer), mini bar with some complementary drinks, a great shower and a strong wifi signal. One of the rooms was upgraded and so was bigger, and the shower had a full floor to ceiling window (there are blinds in there so you don't have to shower in front of the whole world!). There was no problem with noise from the traffic even though the road outside was a busy one.

The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle bus to the MRT station (which is only a few minutes walk away) and various tourist points (such as Orchard, and the Harbour Front) fairly regularly, finishing at about 5pm. Taxis are quite cheap too - it was about $5 SGD to get to Orchard. Because the hotel is relatively new and is small compared to a lot of other hotels in Singapore, most of our cab drivers hadn't heard of it. But the room key cards had a map on the back so we just showed them that, which seemed to do the trick.

The rooftop bar is pretty amazing, though the drinks are expensive ($13 for a beer). The fitness room is tiny but sufficient, containing a treadmill (where the top speed is a brisk walking pace), a versatile weights machine, and dumbbells (the largest is 9kg). There was also a couple of floor mats, exercise balls and complimentary towels and water bottles.

The staff were lovely and always looked happy to see us and help out. I'd definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor in 501 and 502. Both rooms were great, though room 502 was bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Rachel O,

I am very delighted to know of your favourable accommodation experience at our hotel and appreciate your detailed review of our facilities.

We hope you had a restful break and look forward to your return again.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Booked their weekend special for a short getaway from the city.

Checked in slightly later, but room were not ready so they upgraded us to deluxe room.

Deluxe room is spacious and the shower/toilet with window view is also a plus point. (Remember to wind down the window cover before bathing!) Although it was not at high floor (5th floor), facing the main road, it was not as noisy as we think it would be. However, there's slight smell from the toilet, could be sewage problem.

Location is great with lots of eateries such as Tiong Bahru Market and the Tiong Bahru bakery!

Breakfast was well served with own selection of eggs! You can asked for overeasy, sunny side up and many others.

Nothing much to complain about. Definitely, a great getaway from the city :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Cindy L,

I am happy you had a great getaway at our hotel. We do apologise for the slight smell in your toilet and have looked into that matter.

All of us welcome you back when your next well-deserved break beckons.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had three very enjoyable days in Singapore aided by the quality of Wangz Hotel and their very obliging staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. If we return to Singapore, we will definitely return here

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear mikki2shoes,

We appreciate your positive review and have enjoyed serving you and your wife as well during your short stay in Singapore. Please visit us again very soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Relatively new boutique hotel, 5-10 minutes walk from the MRT or a free shuttle service available at certain times to the centre.

Rooms were decent size, everything well decorated. The free drinks in the mini bar were a nice touch.

Staff were helpful, organised a shuttle in the evening and also an airport transfer. One small improvement they could make is to offer currency exchange.

Food wise:

Breakfast was good but limited.
Rooftop bar has good views out over the city, cocktails were nice.

Gym was small but had a good selection of equipment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear TomasK81,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We appreciate your constructive feedback and will consider it as we continually journey towards improving our service.

May we have the pleasure of having you and your family as our guests again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I spent 9 nights in Singapore over two weeks, and the Wangz was first for 4 nights, St. Regis was second. Extraordinarily friendly staff -- helpful, smiling, and during the entire stay, were terrific. We liked the location, not too far from the National University of Singapore...a 10 dollar tax ride. Also, near China town, so we enjoyed some good local food. The rooms are kinda funky, but comfortable with very nice bathrooms, a little moderne for my taste, but no surprise. The free WIFI is a plus. Breakfasts are too, not always an inexpensive matter in Singapore, but they do fry eggs for ya. At 200 bucks a night, I think it was a reasonable value and would stay again. By contrast, the St. Regis is a luxury hotel....but starts around $350. Service wasn't really much different, just more elegant, white glove and special at the St. Regis.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor....acceptably quiet and trees, provided privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear crucian-high,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your recent visit to Singapore. I am delighted to know you and your wife enjoyed our service, amenities and location.

We look forward to your return visit soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
#2 of 301 in Singapore
5.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#10 of 301 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#11 of 301 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#16 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#19 Business Hotel in Singapore
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel - check out our rooftop restaurant and bar, The Rabbit Stash, with its panoramic views of the city - and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wangz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.