We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & Nice Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wangz Hotel to your Saves list
Wangz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% Off Available Rates
Ranked #12 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy & Nice Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Visited in Sep 2011. Little boutique hotel, new, outlook shape like a wine barrel. Room is very clean and the brightness from natural sunlight is what I like the most. Free newspaper, breakfast is typical but with fresh hot eggs in whatever style you like. Staff is super nice especially Simon who has sincere smile, you just feel comfortable but not over enthusiastic when you come back from outside every time. 8 mins walk to Outram MRT station, bus stop just cross the road, taxi is easy to catch. Free newspaper. Price is not low but nowadays every hotel in Singapore is expensive. You will not find it unreasonably expensive. Surely will recommend to friends who are visiting Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management Team at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a wonderful review.
Your kind words on our hotel and staff are much appreciated.

We look forward to your return trip to WANGZ Hotel soon.


The Management Team
WANGZ Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    221
    52
    5
    4
See reviews for
103
339
53
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This hotel is by far the best we have ever stayed in! It was very clean and as I have a passion for interior design, I loved the design of this hotel. As soon as we stepped through the door the staff could not do enough for us. And for a designer hotel the price was very cheap. The rooms were very comfortable and I loved the rain shower. I also liked that soft drinks in the mini bar were free and there was free wifi.

We will definitely stay in Wangz when we return to Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We booked this as a last minute place to stay while visiting Singapore for a few days, and could not be happier with our choice. The hotel is about a 5-10 min walk from the MRT, so good location. Room was lovely; clean, modern, and with a stunning bathroom with large viewing windows over the city, certainly not for the shy. All the usual perks you'd expect from a top hotel were present - Strait Times newspaper tucked under your door each morning, Wifi, good choice of tv channels, good room service, etc. Breakfast choice was a little limited, but can hardly complain. The staff were very helpful and gave us tips on getting around Singapore. If visiting here, you must try the rooftop bar, which was strangely deserted when we visited, but was still delightful. Not the cheapest hotel in Singapore (or the most expensive!) but excellent value. Would be ideal for a romantic couple, or a businessman (if you can the company to expense it!)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed at Wangz during a 4 days retreat to Singapore and booked a comfortable twin room.

The hotel is small and modern designed. I would not call it a boutique hotel for any other reason than having only 40+ rooms, but it has a nice design. The Front Office associates were friendly and did everything to make us feel comfortable. We had a small incident during breakfast on our first day and the hotel management was so generous to offer wonderful compliments throughout our stay.

All in all, the hotel is nice and comfortable. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern. The only two things we would recommend to take action on are 1) to reduce the intesity of the scent in public areas. The smell is too strong and during breakfast rather not so pleasant. And 2) An all-day breakfast option and extended room service hours. 24/7 room service, even with limited choice, would certainly upgrade the product.

Lastly, two particular people should be mentioned here who made our stay truly worthwhile: Jin who just started 3 weeks ago in service and Sufian, the shuttle driver who always tries his best to please his guests. All associates were friendly, but those two receive special recognition from us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This is a lovely, futuristic-looking hotel with a modern décor and furnishings. The rooms are bright and clean with floor-to-ceiling windows, original art, and a large comfy bed. Wifi is provided free of charge throughout the hotel. The room has a good-sized work desk, a fridge with free water and sodas, a kettle and selection of teas, and a large flat-panel TV with a good number of channels.

Eclectic original art pieces by contemporary artists are dotted throughout the hotel and in each room and add a stylish “nature” theme to the modern décor.

The hotel is close to Chinatown, about a 10-minute walk to Singapore’s fab rapid transit metro system (MRT) and provides a free shuttle service to the Orchard Park shopping district, Raffles, Marina Park and Chinatown.

The partially enclosed rooftop bar and restaurant has great night views of the Singapore skyline and the food is a first-rate mix of French and Asian cuisine. The complimentary breakfast had a great selection of fruit, pastries, cereals, bacon and even smoked salmon. Eggs and omelettes can be ordered to taste and so can espresso coffee.

An excellent selection of new age and easy rock music is played in the lobby restaurant, the rooftop patio bar, and in the rooms (where you can adjust the volume or turn it off).

On the downside, there is no readily visible front entrance, as the building is squeezed into a triangle at the intersection of two busy streets. What entrance you can find is hidden up a flight of stairs and is not well marked. Our taxi driver had to circle the hotel a couple of times to find out where to park. The taxi drop-off is accessed via the basement off a little lane behind the hotel. Inside is parking for only a few cars. A poorly marked doorway leads to the elevator that takes you up to the lobby. There is a larger parking lot across the street for those with their own car.

Once you have checked in, however, excellent service and quality take over. Staff are friendly, efficient and welcoming.

Access to your room is secured by placing your room key over a small pad on the elevator control panel. This is to prevent restaurant and bar patrons from accessing the guest rooms. It’s a nice comforting feature.

On the third floor the hum of traffic from the two busy streets was drowned out by the A/C fan and we slept quite well. The ultra-modern glass-wall shower and bathroom were spacious, bright and clean, and a rain showerhead provided lots of hot water and good pressure.

One of the best features was the way staff treated us like friends or regular guests. There were always attentive, friendly and addressed us by name after the first day. They went out of their way to ensure that we were always comfortable and well looked after. This would be a great place for a longer stay or for business people who want space to work with the comforts of home.

Room Tip: Room 208 is adapted for wheelchair use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear DanoCanada,

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

We appreciate your effort and are encouraged by your pleasant experience. We will also be looking into how to improve wayfinding for new guests.

We hope to welcome you again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


From the Management of WANGZ Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Upgraded me one level without asking, and one more level to a balcony room upon my request.

Liked the room a lot, including the all glass bathroom + shower. No, I'm not shy!

Location is not super great, but still a short cab ride to anywhere [Singapore is small].

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear SMS111,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your accommodation experience in the Balcony Room. I would also like to highlight that we offer complimentary shuttle service daily to Outram Park MRT Station, the financial districts and Orchard Road to enhance accessibility of guests around the area.

We hope to welcome you back to WANGZ Hotel again soon.


From the Management of WANGZ Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We arrived five hours before our 2pm check-in and were immediately asked if we'd like to take breakfast at no charge started the stay well. The room we'd booked was still occupied and we were offerred, and accepted, an alternative (upgrade) which was adapted for disabled travellers and was on the second floor. A huge ceiling to floor window dominates the room but there is little by the way of a view. A huge blown-up photo of parrots over the bed and a couple of ornaments fit for a car boot sale were more kitch than boutique. Although the room was on a low floor and looked out over the back of some restaurants and had a busy road running by it was very quiet at night and we slept well.

Do use the rooftop bar for an evening drink, the views are amazing. The bit of distance from the city centre and the dark space provided by the park give a great perspective of Singapore. The staff throughout the hotel were very professional and friendly.

The 10 minute walk to Outram Park MRT isn't bad if you're mobile and has some shade from trees in the hot weather.

Having said the room was adpted for disabled travellers a ceiling to floor glass sliding door to the bathroom was very heavy and a fixed glass screen next to grab rails don't allow a wheelchair to be pulled alongside the toilet. I'm not sure this would meet UK standards on accesibility.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#13 Business Hotel in Singapore
#13 Family Hotel in Singapore
#14 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel – check out the rooftop lounge, Halo, with its panoramic views of the city – and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. Wangz Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore’s main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as Molton Brown bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wangz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;