We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Peranakan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Peranakan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Peranakan Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 East Coast Road | Katong District, Singapore 428994, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fine for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My adult son and I shared a twin room for 6 nights....in retrospect I would book two single rooms in future as there is really not enough room for two people with luggage in a twin...however we learnt that if someone was moving around the room the other had to sit :-) and really for the price in Singapore it was fine. Plenty of eateries around and close to the airport one way and everywhere else the other. Staff were good, checkin and out fine, and WiFi fine.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you for your kind review. We do have a family room available which is much larger, it has a queen sized bed and 1 single bed. We look forward to your next stay with us. Cheers!

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    59
    53
    21
    11
See reviews for
15
36
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived late to the hotel and were greeted by rather surly, grudging service. We requested a room close to the lift, and of course, got the farthest one. We were shocked when we opened the door. The room was the size of a jail cell! You could literally lie in bed, open the door and hang out the Do Not Disturb sign! Morning service was nicer, but I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Have $50 for the room key deposit. Don't bother with special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment you faced when your requests were not met. At Le Peranakan Hotel, we always do our best to accommodate the special requests whenever possible but at times its just not possible to fulfill the request.

As for the room size, the standard double room you booked indeed is very small. I highly recommend the Superior/Deluxe rooms which are much larger.

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is definitely one hotel in Singapore that you should give a huge miss. Pokey rooms, shower is smaller than the WC on an aircraft. No coffee making facilities, no fridge, no service whatsoever to assist with luggage to your rooms or for that matter anything. Couldn't wait to vacate the room. If you are a backpacker give it a miss. The cost of the room is absolutely outrageous as they charge premium rates for nil service etc.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Maree,

Thank you for your review. I can understand your frustration due to the size of the room and lack of amenities, also that we did not help you with your luggage to the room as we are running on a one man operation per shift. We have taken note on your concerns and will improve in the areas we are lacking. Feel free to email me directly at Kevin@Leperanakanhotel.com and I will handle your reservation and check you in personally if you give me us a chance.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked this hotel for one night, like most people on the way to airport. We had a ton of luggage that barely fit in the room. It was quite comical, really, except when you had to use the loo. We became hurdlers, trying to jump over all of the bags. The towels (2 tiny ones) are so threadbare and the soap is the liquid kind that you pump - it is body wash, hand soap and shampoo!

If you are one person, this hotel would work, but not two people with a ton of bags. The windows don't have shades in the toilet, and there is a glass partition to the bedroom so all night you get a blinking red/green light from the traffic lights outside.

Was really glad when we left!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Pelorojo,

Thank you for your review about the window in the bathroom that causes a lighting discomfort at night, we will definitely be looking into that.

I apologize for the discomfort you faced in our standard rooms which are small and also in the lack of amenities. I highly recommend the Superior/Deluxe rooms that are much larger.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Be forewarned, the lobby, rooms and bathrooms are tiny and some rooms don't have a window.
You are asked a deposit of SDG 50 for the room key, which is returned on departure.
The person at reception is informative and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Kate,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our Standard rooms are without a window but with a skylight opening, and our Superior/Deluxe rooms are all with windows. We look forward to your next stay with us. Cheers.

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

the title says it all, I booked this hotel for 6 days, and the staff doesn't care if your room is cleaned - no room service - no tea coffee water - it sucks. No complaint book - when asked they are all ready to fight- very rude people - disconnects your phone

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Ritz,

Thank you for your review and I sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had at the hotel. Your valuable feedback has reminded us that we must not take our level of customer of service for granted and that every guest is important.

We have taken extra effort to make sure rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, and with the room amenities such as bottled water, coffee/tea replenished.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our flight arrived in Singapore in the middle of the night and I did not want to pay $300.00 for a room I would only be sleeping in for a few hours, so we rented a room here for the night. It is very close to the airport. The room has no windows and has a queen size bed that takes up most of the room. There is a small space at the foot of the bed and a small walkway when you open the door that goes into the bathrooom. That is it!

That said, the guy who works the front desk was very nice.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Texas,

Thank you for your review. Yes you booked a standard double room and it is quite small. I highly recommend that you book the Superior room in future, which is slightly more expensive but you get to enjoy a larger room with windows. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Peranakan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Peranakan Hotel

Address: 400 East Coast Road | Katong District, Singapore 428994, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#206 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Peranakan Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Peranakan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Peranakan Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Peranakan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.