We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, tiny and blinking lights disturb your sleep” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Peranakan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Peranakan Hotel to your Saves list
Le Peranakan Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 East Coast Road | Katong District, Singapore 428994, Singapore (Joo Chiat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Noisy, tiny and blinking lights disturb your sleep”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked this hotel for one night, like most people on the way to airport. We had a ton of luggage that barely fit in the room. It was quite comical, really, except when you had to use the loo. We became hurdlers, trying to jump over all of the bags. The towels (2 tiny ones) are so threadbare and the soap is the liquid kind that you pump - it is body wash, hand soap and shampoo!

If you are one person, this hotel would work, but not two people with a ton of bags. The windows don't have shades in the toilet, and there is a glass partition to the bedroom so all night you get a blinking red/green light from the traffic lights outside.

Was really glad when we left!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Pelorojo,

Thank you for your review about the window in the bathroom that causes a lighting discomfort at night, we will definitely be looking into that.

I apologize for the discomfort you faced in our standard rooms which are small and also in the lack of amenities. I highly recommend the Superior/Deluxe rooms that are much larger.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    63
    57
    26
    11
See reviews for
15
38
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Be forewarned, the lobby, rooms and bathrooms are tiny and some rooms don't have a window.
You are asked a deposit of SDG 50 for the room key, which is returned on departure.
The person at reception is informative and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Kate,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our Standard rooms are without a window but with a skylight opening, and our Superior/Deluxe rooms are all with windows. We look forward to your next stay with us. Cheers.

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

the title says it all, I booked this hotel for 6 days, and the staff doesn't care if your room is cleaned - no room service - no tea coffee water - it sucks. No complaint book - when asked they are all ready to fight- very rude people - disconnects your phone

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Ritz,

Thank you for your review and I sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had at the hotel. Your valuable feedback has reminded us that we must not take our level of customer of service for granted and that every guest is important.

We have taken extra effort to make sure rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, and with the room amenities such as bottled water, coffee/tea replenished.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our flight arrived in Singapore in the middle of the night and I did not want to pay $300.00 for a room I would only be sleeping in for a few hours, so we rented a room here for the night. It is very close to the airport. The room has no windows and has a queen size bed that takes up most of the room. There is a small space at the foot of the bed and a small walkway when you open the door that goes into the bathrooom. That is it!

That said, the guy who works the front desk was very nice.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Texas,

Thank you for your review. Yes you booked a standard double room and it is quite small. I highly recommend that you book the Superior room in future, which is slightly more expensive but you get to enjoy a larger room with windows. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. My wife and I booked it for one night because it was near the Airport. The room is two large steps from wall to wall. It appears they took a bedroom, added a bathroom and shower, Put in a stand up closet, and called it a hotel room. T.V. had approximately 6 channels but were so snowy you could not watch them. Internet did not work and when I asked the Desk about it they said they had tried to fix it 7 times but it was not working. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: Don't book this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sosarge,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the frustration you faced when the internet didn't work. But we have upgraded our internet facility so that every guest will enjoy free wireless high speed internet dedicated access per room as we know the importance of the internet in these modern times.

I do hope you will give us another chance and I will personally make sure you will not regret your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The rooms were small but perfectly sufficiently, good hot water pressure, comfortable bed. Location right near an assortment of various restaurants. Service good, enjoyable stay all around; after experiencing several other similarly prices but vastly inferior products from the myriad of Singapore hotels, I will definitely come back here every time I have a stop-over in Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear C H,

It was a pleasure reading your review and it has greatly inspired us to provide better service and upgrade our room facilities further. We look forward to your next stay with us, and feel free to drop me an email Kevin@Leperanakanhotel.com. I will personally handle your room reservation.

Cheers!
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Place where you get to experience heritage culture and local eateries around the hotel. Very convenient and a 10 min to the nearest shopping mall. There are buses to city area like orchard or to th airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Panda,

Thank you for your review. Indeed Le Peranakan Hotel is well situated with many eateries around the area and with a good bus route to almost every popular attraction in Singapore.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Peranakan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Peranakan Hotel

Address: 400 East Coast Road | Katong District, Singapore 428994, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Peranakan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Peranakan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Peranakan Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Peranakan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.