We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More character than your average budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Peranakan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Peranakan Hotel to your Saves list
Le Peranakan Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 East Coast Road | Katong District, Singapore 428994, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“More character than your average budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A real effort has been made to give the tiny rooms character by adding Peranakan style furniture and art. I would not recommend this hotel as a 'stopover' hotel because its location is what really makes it. The neighbourhood is steeped in Baba history and culture and it would be a shame to just spend the night. On the other hand, if you only have a day or two and want to experience authentic Singaporean culture, this hotel would be a good place to start.
On a completely different note, it is next to one of the best Mexican restaurants in Singapore and around the corner from Bruno's Bistrot (that is not a typo) which serves excellent pizza.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear ABC,

Thank you for your review. Indeed the Peranakan theme fits well with the surrounding area with its heritage buildings. There are also a couple of nearby Peranakan Restaurants nearby that would go well with the stay at Le Peranakan Hotel.

We look forward to your stay with us.

Regards,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    62
    55
    23
    11
See reviews for
15
38
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I booked for an overnight stay in transit to another city. The hotel was very small, the cab driver had to call them for directions because the address on the hotel voucher seems to be incomplete. Found it not near the airport which is the reason why I chose it. From the hotel lobby, to the rooms, to the bed, shower room, they are relatively small. They even asked for a SGD50.00 deposit. I thought for what? It was returned without question before i checked out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Efren,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next stay with us. Perhaps you can try staying in one of our Superior/Deluxe rooms which are much larger.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Its been truly great experience with Le peranakan,
although the rooms are small, the underlying factor is that, great food is all within walking distance,
katong laksa, beach road prawn noodles, 5 mins to roxy square where you can enjoy food massage, further walk to parkway parade.

overall, great hotel for great value, and equipped with great eateries, malls, movie theater, all within walking distance.

Room Tip: do get hotel that is at the main house, so you could enjoy the jacuzzi. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

i stayed there for 2 nights. i found out that the cab driver need to ask me twice to ensure the hotel address. it was fine though, the room was so small and its like 10 mins drive away to every Singapore CBD. Wasnt my favorite place, yet the housekeeping was like in badmood to ask whether i like to have my room cleaned or not.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I book this hotel because my flight on the next morning was 6am, I need a budget hotel near the airport. overall was OK, althought no window in the room, but basic needs were catered. lots of good foods around the corners, and very easy to get a taxi as early as 4am. not recommended for traveller with kids to stay in room like this. but i think they have bigger room which is more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I haven't been to Singapore for 2 years and realized hotel prices have almost doubled compare to last time I was there. My friend recommended this hotel and booked for me as it's near by his work place so it's easy to meet up.

The single room is TINY. probably no more than 15 square metres. I did not really mind as it was just for 2 days and i just brought a small luggage. Bed size was fine for me but for guys it's probably too small.

My room was just beside the terrace so it was convenient to just step out for a cigarette. However the hotel can really do with some pest control. I dropped just a few cake crumbs by accident and had an army of ants on the floor. while sitting on the terrace i also heard a girl saying she saw a rat.

Reception was very helpful and efficient. I arrived 3 hours earlier than the check in time. The gentleman gave me very good suggestions on what I could do to pass the 3 hours. 1.5 hours later my room was ready. He actually came to the cafe next doors to let me know.

Overall the stay was just OK. you pay for what you get. Now that I know the price range of hotels in Singapore, next time I will probably pay a bit more and stay in bigger hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel three times over the last year, always to save money in the otherwise-expensive Singapore.

Some of the rooms are tiny, with barely enough room for the bed and small advertised desk. Some of the rooms have no windows and only a skylight.

Generally I've always found the place to be rather grimy. On my most recent stay I found a big tangle of long black hair on the carpet when I arrived, and a wad of black hair over the drain in the shower (I have short brown hair).

Stay here if you need to save money, but don't expect much.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms... although the person at the front desk may not know which those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Peranakan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Peranakan Hotel

Address: 400 East Coast Road | Katong District, Singapore 428994, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Peranakan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Peranakan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Peranakan Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Peranakan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.