We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but conventient” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Peranakan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Peranakan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Peranakan Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 East Coast Road | Katong District, Singapore 428994, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small but conventient”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

This hotel is just less than 10min. from the airport and is on the main road of East Coast Rd. There are quite a few good eating places around this hotel. eg. East Coast Lagoon Food Village,Katong Laksa,Tian Tian chicken rice ........
The room is very small so is the shower , just a word of warning please make sure your room window is locked before you leave the room ,because the window is quite easily reach from the ground floor if someone were to trying to break in.
The staff are quite friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    59
    53
    20
    11
See reviews for
15
35
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

My room was very small but not a big deal because i stayed alone without partner, the room is very clean, free wifi in the room, friendly Receptionist, very good quality of the room, will return to here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Nice location in Singapore.
Their cheapest rooms do not have windows. They are so small that I under estimated it completely. I travelled with my son and his stroller and 3 bags. I couldnt even get 1 bag in there. Had to keep as a pile and 2 bags in their store room. They fit in a bed with hardly 1 feet of walking space around it before you end up in a small bathroom.
Their superior rooms would be more roomy but I can't comment.
Their day-time manager couldnt upgrade us because none higher end rooms were available.. neither could he move us to some little better window less rooms (apparently they have of different sizes). At night, another manager was there (a lady) who was super duper nice to us. She realized that it is a nightmare to stay in that small gibber room. Although she wouldnt upgrade us to higher grade room, she was kind enough to give us a room for Physically challenged. So since you need to have access for wheel chair, atleast the room size grew and we got some space. What a relief.
Most of the lower end rooms in Singapore are small and incredibly small. So this is nothing indifferent.
I would suggest this hotel for other better reasons and bigger rooms if available.. For solo travellers with just a Backpack this room is also ideal and cheap.
For Indian families, I would suggest Claremont Hotel in little India area where they would get Indian food and bigger rooms for same price.
Away from main downtown. Takes 10SGD to reach from Marina Bay hotel. Buses to go to MRT stations and downtown available nearby. Amazing mexican, Italian and Thai restaurant below. Lot of other local food options nearby as well. Restaurants are very pricey and expensive.. but amazing food.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

What a terrible stay. Aircon constantly breaking down. No-One answering at reception. Ladies of the night everywhere. This is not a family hotel. You have been warned. Rooms far too small. We had bare electrical cables where wall lights once were. Covered with a sliver of masking tape.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I booked Hotel Le Peranakan because of cheap price, but when we saw our room, it was really really small. Its impossible that 2 person can walk in the room at the same time. My wife must wait on bed, until im finish. There´s only one bed and the aircondition is directly above the bed. The cold wind comes directly on you during night.

The roomservice didnt clean our room one night.

You should spent litte more money and choose another hotel. Its absolutly not comfortable to stay in this hotel. Only if you´re alone, maybee it works.
Its a chinese hotel and all rooms are same size.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is a small charming hotel about 10 minutes from central Singapore by car. The rooms are tiny and therefore I would only recommend this for solo business travellers. The broadband was fine and free. The area had some nice little coffe shops and bars as well as a service station a tire shop etc. There was an area of historic shop fronts a few blocks away. We paid $120 per night for a superior room because we def wanted a room with a window. I'd happily stay here again if I had to, but not by choice. I think you can do better and get a bigger room in Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Had to stop over in Singapore for a connecting flight. Didnt want to wait in the airport for 8hrs so i decided to look for an affordable, close to the airport bed to stay.

As i walked into the Hotel an elderly man walking out with a younger female handing back the keys, i got suspicious??? Bt then i was greeted with a great big personaility of a guy which completely blew me off guard and woke me up, please note that i was checking in around 2am.....

I opened the door to the room and found all bed... i was like where do i place my luggage??? There really isnt much room as it is mainly all bed but for a few dollars who can complain, the funniest thing is that i just fit in the shower without moving. Any movement would mean that i will be cleaning the wall with my arms (FYI: I am not that large of a person and can easily fit in a budget airline seat and still be comfortable).

The room has a TV, Desk and Warddrobe, although it had a scent in the air.... i will leave that to your imagination. But yes for a VERY SHORT trip of a few hours it is worth trip.

Taxi's are quite easy to get anytime of the day, it only took me 1.23mins before a taxi arrived at thte front of the hotel and cost around $18 to get to the airport. So not that far at all.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Peranakan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Peranakan Hotel

Address: 400 East Coast Road | Katong District, Singapore 428994, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Peranakan Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Peranakan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Peranakan Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Peranakan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.