We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fragrance Hotel - Royal to your Saves list
Fragrance Hotel - Royal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Telok Blangah Road, Singapore 98838, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small but comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We initially booked a room that the website said accommodated two adults. I clarified via email with the Hotel and was told it could accommodate two adults and one child up to 12 years of age. Several emails later I realised we would all be in one bed. We then upgrade to the Family Room, which has a double and a single bed, which suited us.
Room was small but we managed. Shower is in same small room as toilet and basin, so everything gets wet in there.
Location is convenient to accessing the cable car to Sentosa (about a ten minute walk). Also similar distance to VivoCity shopping centre.
Taxis are cheap so location not really an issue.
No breakfast included, so by the time you pay for breakfast elsewhere, there are probably better hotel options.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
11
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I shared a room with a friend. The location is perfect, the rooms are too tiny. Wifi over payment. I had a bite on my hand, not sure if a spider or a bug that last long time. The staff is very friendly and the facilities are very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is well located for traveling to Sentosa and the attractions.
The rooms as most mention are very small and dont give much room for manouvering for 2 people.
Reception was very helpful and the 2 philipine staff we dealt with were very proffesional and helpful.
The first room we were allocated smelled of smoke but this was rectified immediatly.
There is no restaurant but the 7/11 is basically part of the hotel and dont sell sim cards.
Wouldbe nice to have a shower curtain and the toilet is very small also.
Not bad for a budget hotel but not cheap all the same.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I've been in fragrance hotel royal for 13 days while looking for a permanent accommodation. The personnel was helpful and kind in every occasion. There is no restaurant or breakfast service, only the laksa steamboat restaurant just next to it, otherwise is quite isolated and you need to go to Harbourfront or to Telok Blangah for some alternative. Rooms are very small, some even without windows I heard. The price is good compared to the local average. The location is reasonably near to the circle line, therefore gives easy access to many places but I wouldn't call it ideal position for tourists.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed one night on 19 April, reason being close to relative's residence in Telok Blangah. Walking distance to Telok Blangah MRT, just one stop to Harbourfront and 7-11 is next door.

Small room but equipped with necessary amenities and Front Desk is quite flexible for late check till 1pm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Mere words cannot express my disgust at what I found in this hotel. Dirty, disgusting blood soiled pillow case and sheets and a smell that the fragrance pumped into the rooms could not hide. What did I expect for the price? Nothing like what I got!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Royal, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi Barbara,

I am dismayed to learn of the experience you had during your stay at the hotel and would like to offer my apologies. Upon receiving your feedback, my Duty Manager had immediately performed a room change for you. This matter had also been brought up the attention of my Housekeeping Manager and the staff concerned had already been briefed to be more alert and careful in the room cleaning duties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked to this Hotel thru www.booking.com. Unfortunately, upon arrival at the Hotel - the Staff informed us that the www.Booking.com did not even forwarded our booking details to them. We ended up getting a room that we didn't want and we even pay more. Since the Hotel is not expecting us, we have to wait for almost 1 hour to finish cleaning up the room! It was a terrible experience!

After waiting for so long to use the room, found out that there were no towels and no slippers provided at all. Though lady staff was very apologetic and helpful. She even offered us an extra pillow and blankets.

The Hotel's location is not so close to the MRT Station as you need to take a cab for about 10 minutes to reach the nearest Kopitiam, Vivo City (Shopping Mall) or Harbourfront MRT Station.

Overall, it is a budget hotel. So we cannot expect too much from it. If you want to save on your $$$, you can book this Hotel. But if you are willing to pamper yourself a bit, then you can top up a bit and get a nicer Hotel. In the end, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Royal, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I am sorry to learn of your experience during your stay at the hotel.

I had verified that due to a wrong booking date which you were unaware, the room was not reserved in the system and thus not ready for occupation upon your arrival at the hotel. As it was a already past midnight and there were no clean vacant rooms, a Housekeeping Staff from another sister outlet was immediately called for service.

For this room service delay, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and your guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Royal

Address: 400 Telok Blangah Road, Singapore 98838, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fragrance Hotel - Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Royal Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fragrance Hotel - Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.