We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce

Spruce
320 Tanglin Road, Phoenix Park, Singapore, Singapore (Tanglin)
+65 6836 5528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,500 of 7,404 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Café, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tanglin
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not great value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We found this place, very highly recommend, to not be great value for money for dinner meals. We had the sharing plates to start with a group of 10, then I had the burger, and a brownie sundaw. The food was good, but the ambiance was lacking. Super loud people there and the music was really loud too. Hard to hear each other talk. The wines were okay, but, again, expensive. Heard that brunch is better here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    39
    20
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Waited 45 mins for my food, how???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Went and arrived at 130pm on a saturday afternoon.. bistro was half packed, with a few vacant tables. We ordered a sig burger and sandwich plus 2 coffees with a snobbish looking indian lady. Thereafter, we waited for 30 mins and was getting impatient, called a waitress to inform them of our wait. . 15 mins passed and still no food on the table. Not even the coffees! In total, 45 mins. Its only after 45 mins of wait were we smart enough to cancel the orders, and its ONLY then that we got all the attention from the staff. How can such service standard survive in this stiff competition in singapore. How???

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food poisoning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with 2 friends on Thursday 9th April 2013. 2 of us got food poisoning from the Tapas.
Tried to report it to the manager but still waiting for a call back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Family lunch at Spruce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place for breakfast or lunch - offer both indoor and outdoor seating. Food is very good, service pretty good. Great for families with kids - they have a play ground and a good kids menu. Will for sure come back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience for a pleasant meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is the SPRUCE branch set up in an ex-Fire Station. Free parking. Quite pleasant surroundings for meal. Salad is huge enough for a single meal. Soup is also quite generous portion. The burger is $18++ but taste better than popular fast food chains because you can decide how the burger is cooked. The French fries are crunchy. Drinks are expensive - fresh orange juice $8++, 50cl bottled still water $7++. Currently, Citibank credit card has 15% discount on food bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Spruce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.