We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient hotel in an interesting neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Value Hotel Nice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Value Hotel Nice to your Saves list
Value Hotel Nice
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 Balestier Road, Singapore 329738, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient hotel in an interesting neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at Value Hotel Nice on Balestier Road this past December, 2013. I needed a place that was close to the city, but also far enough away to be less crowded, less expensive, and still surrounded by great food options. Balestier is a great place for these reasons.

I had a truly good experience at The Value Hotel Nice. The hotel was clean, quiet, and convenient. I was able to catch buses from Balestier Road, and even the walk to the nearest MRT station (Novena), was easy and quaint, considering you needed to cut through a nice, upscale set of streets to get there.

The food options nearby the hotel were excellent. Like much of Singapore, there are every manner of food choices just about anywhere you go. The best part about staying around Balestier is that the choices are great, and the prices very reasonable whether you are at a small eatery or at a restaurant.

The hotel itself has perfectly fine amenities for a budget hotel. The room baths are modern and clean (with shower, but no tub). The beds are fitted with excellent sheets and very comfortable pillows --- something often lacking at a budget hotel. There were 2 bottles of complimentary water every day, and an in-room kettle with instant coffee or tea should you need a quick drink before heading out.

I highly recommend this hotel to budget travelers. The rooms are good for 2. The air-conditioning is central, not by room, so it can be very cool at times. But this is better than the opposite, and the bed comes with a very warm comforter, so it is perfect for me. The TV is modern, but the cable package is limited. This should not be an issue though, because Singapore is too fantastic a city to be spending too much time in a hotel room.

Lastly, the front desk staff are absolutely excellent. Hats off to the ever-pleasant, courteous and helpful staff. The greetings when coming and going were always genuine. The front desk staff really do seem to wish you have a pleasant stay. Thanks for making the stay so welcoming and hassle-free.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear WanderingAboutAsia ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

We are grateful for you to have taken the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor .
We would also like take this opportunity to thank you for your high recommendation for Value Hotel Nice .

Value Hotel Nice is truly a small hotel concept that prides itself for offering excellent value for money accommodation which does not compromise the comfort of our guests and the accessibility of necessities .

We are very fortunate to have the nicest front office staffs .
And of course our ever tireless house keeping staffs .

We are excited to let you know that we have just upgraded our cable TV package to HDTV on fibre optic which comes with HD BBC World News , Super Sports Arena , Fox Movies , HK World TV , Shen Zhou News , TLC , CCTV 4 .
Our engineers have also fixed the bug and all our free to air channels , Vasantham , Suria , CNA , Okto , CH8 , CHU , CH5 , are now available .

We are very happy about your pleasant experience here as intended by our management and staffs .
We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guests .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to have you again .

Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    74
    51
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
42
24
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Me and my wife stayed in Value Hotel Nice for two nights. As everyone says the room and the bathroom is small but other than that the place is good for the price we pay. The customer service is really good. The room and the bathrooms are clean and nice. I would recommend this place for a short stay. We did not carry any luggage with us only two small back packs. There are lot of near by places to dine. Easy to go around the city due to its location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Thiwa_W ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

We have read your experience and we are very grateful for your feedback .

Value Hotel Nice is a small hotel concept that prides itself for offering excellent value for money accommodation which does not compromise the comfort of our guests and the accessible of necessities .

On Balestier Road , all around Value Hotel Nice , everyone can enjoy closer interaction with our Singapore culture and soak in its cosy ambience. It was great that there are many restaurants and eating places offering local and western cuisines just around Value Hotel Nice around the clock . We can also help to order food in . Thus , while we do not serve breakfast in-house , every guest can enjoy a wide variety of food , at most reasonable prices , all round our hotel .

Value Hotel Nice is just outside the city and a 17 minutes bus ride will bring you to Orchard road and the bus stop is just in front of our hotel .
There is no MRT station on Balestier Road but the nearest Novena MRT station is only 3 bus stops away .
We have also started a FREE shuttle bus service to Novena MRT station .

We are very happy about your pleasant experience here as intended by our management and staffs .
We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guests .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to have you again .

Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here on Jan 19 2014 Rm 604. The staff is awesome, very nice, helpful & friendly. The staff that works at night are cool & nice, Mr. Kelwe Yoon is amazing, two thumbs up! The place overall is presentable. The room is nice & clean. They cleaned up everyday unless u put do not disturb. Reasonable size (your not here to host a party), flat screen TV, very cold aircon, a table and a phone. The washroom is clean, hot & cold water. Bus stops in front of the hotel, lots of taxi's passing by. Resto's around the area, Convenience store right next to the hotel. All in All great place to stay for value, cleanliness, safety and location :)

Room Tip: If you need something just ask, they more willing to help :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear CyGenJon ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

We are grateful for you to have taken the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor .
We would also like take this opportunity to thank you for your compliments on our front office staffs .

We are very fortunate to have the nicest front office staffs .
And of course our ever tireless house keeping staffs .

Your review will be the reason for us to strive for better excellence service .

We are very happy about your pleasant experience here as intended by our management and staffs .
We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guests .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to have you again .

Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed here with my partner for 5 days. We really enjoyed our time at the Value Hotel Nice with the good services provided by Mr. Kelwe Voon. He is really helpful, friendly and gentle.

Room condition
- clean but very small.
- No hanger, no space to put your luggage.
- Only got 1 socket.
- Sound proof was not really good. You can hear what happening outside the corridor.
- Centralized air conditioner (consider very cold for us)
- Suitable for a single executives, backpackers or couples.

Bathroom condition
- small.
- hot shower need to wait another 10 minute after previous person took bath.

Location
- Easy accessibility to all around the city.
- Bus stop from the door step of the hotel.
- Quite far away from nearest metro station (about a 15 minute walk).

Foodie
- There have a local market behind the hotel which serving all kinds of delicious food with reasonable price.
- McDonalds, KFC and some good restaurant are available nearby.

Wifi
- came with free Wifi.
- Speed quite fast.

Shuttle bus
- This hotel have provided shuttle bus (FOC) to nearest MRT from 8.30am - 12.30pm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear 77Lim ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

We are grateful for you to have taken the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor .
We would also like take this opportunity to thank you for your compliments on our front office staffs .

We are very fortunate to have the nicest front office staffs .
And of course our ever tireless house keeping staffs .

While taking our positives in pride , we will look very seriously at the
negatives and aim to rectify these situation as soon as possible .
Here at Value Hotel Nice we take all comments with high regard .

We regret that Value Hotel Nice is a small hotel concept but prides ourself for offering excellent value for money accommodation which does not compromise the comfort of our guests and the accessible of necessities .

Thus we are offering guests with excess baggage to store at our luggages store .

We have also debriefed room reservation to assign rooms accordingly to type of guest , i.e. Family , business , couples , to different level as to minimise noises .

We will be engaged with our engineers to install weather stripping to improve on the sound proofing .

Our centralized air conditioner will also improve when our engineers are finish with the fine tuning of the air handling unit .

We are very happy about your pleasant experience here as intended by our management and staffs .
We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guests .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to have you again .

Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Value hotel as their name suggests, is a hotel with value. Well, frankly I think it really is the case. Although Value hotel is probably more of a budget hotel, it sets itself apart from fragrance and hotel 81. It is priced very competitively and sometimes even cheaper than fragrance and 81 yet the quality is much higher.

They have comfortable beds, with Wifi access and flat LCD TVs, proper comforter type blankets and cotton pillows. It was like a 4 star hotel, but simply back to basics with all the fancy fairies being removed from the menu. The rooms are not very large but spacious enough and with ample space for big suitcases. The basic amenities are provided as well.

The staff is a group of wonderful and friendly people, led by Mr Kelwe, who always greets us passionately with a big smile in a very cheerful manner. I also noted that he does that not only to me, but to every guest, whether the guest was stepping into the lobby from the entrance or coming out from the lift. This friendly and positive attitude from Mr Kelwe and his team is also one of the reasons that I liked about this little place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear eng10523 ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

We are grateful for you to have taken the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor .
We would also like take this opportunity to thank you for your compliments on our Value Hotel chain .

Value Hotel Nice is a small hotel concept that prides itself for offering excellent value for money accommodation which does not compromise the comfort of our guests and the accessible of necessities .

We are very fortunate to have all wonderful and the friendliest front office staffs .
And of course our ever tireless house keeping staffs .

We are very happy about your pleasant experience here as intended by our management and staffs .
We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guests .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to have you again .

Have a Very Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year from all of us at Value Hotels .
Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Rooms are small bet clean. Hotels in Singapore are expensive. This is a nice business trip stop at lower cost. Desk service is always good. Lots of Chinese food near by. Take 6th and, I think 5th floor, if you want a window.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear GuyJW ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor .

Value Hotel Nice truly prides itself for offering excellent value for money
accommodation and we are proud to have good front office staffs .

By the way , only our rooms on level one does not equip with windows and rooms on higher level are more quiet .

We are very happy of your pleasant experience as intended by our management and staff .
We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guest .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Have a Very Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year from all of us at Value Hotel Nice .
And lastly don't get into trouble :)
Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is my first time staying in Value Hotel Nice. Although just staying over one night, I'm quite enjoy with the environment of the room. Location is abit not favorable but overall I'm still fine with it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Jia Jun C ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor .

We are delighted of you enjoyed your pleasant experience as intended by our management and staff .
We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guest .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Have a Very Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year from all of us at Value Hotel Nice .
Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Value Hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Hotel Nice

Address: 302 Balestier Road, Singapore 329738, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Value Hotel Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Hotel Nice is a low cost hotel concept offering the ideal combination of comfort and value to the savvy and cost-conscious traveller who wants to make the most out of each trip . Contemporary and tasteful interiors and locations easily accessible by public transportation make it a great choice for business or holiday .At Value Hotel Nice , we have made it our mission to cater to the needs of today’s travellers , with the overriding consideration to keep rates attractive. Within each room, guests will find the ubiquitous essential guest amenities/facilities, needed for a comfortable stay . WIFI internet (broadband) access is offered free to our guests . If you just need a comfortable room , Value Hotel Nice will be just be what you need , for a little less.Our colleagues will be most happy to share with you , what to do or eat whilst you are here . You may be pleasantly surprised at the myriad offerings along Balestier Road and the surrounding areas . Getting around is a breeze , as Singapore has an extensive and very reliable public transportation network which connects all parts of the country . Thus regardless if you are on business or leisure , let Value Hotel Nice be your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Value Hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Nice Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Hotel Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.