We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Value Hotel Thomson to your Saves list
Value Hotel Thomson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   592 Balestier Road, Singapore 329901, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very clean and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Was staying at VHT for 3 days in Feb. Found that the rooms are as clean as they were 2 years ago when the hotel was new. The only downside is that the hotel isn't near the subway, but luckily I rented a car during my visit to Singapore so that was not a problem for me.

Enjoyed my stay and staff were very helpful.

Cheers guys

Room Tip: Choose corner rooms to avoid the noisy corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    563
    312
    94
    51
See reviews for
110
162
84
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Since my favorite place to stay in spore has been only Novena, then i decided to book here due to their affordable rate.
And it wasn't disappointed.

I stayed in 1001 room(if i'm not mistaken). These room with extra bed contained one single Queen bed plus one sofa (modifiable to be bed).

Aircon was fine, cool enough and the toilet quite spacious and clean as well.
So many buses passing through this hotel, don't forget to ask the hotel business card in receptionist since you can find the information which bus will stop there.

Planned to stay in here again for my honeymoon next year.

@ayirlangga

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Place was suggested by one of our good friends who is living in Singapore. He wanted us to stay in a central location ( Novena) which easy access to main cities to main cities and also inexpensive. ( 8k-10k LKR Double BB)

Ideal for BB stay and there are some restaurants just outside hotel. Metro is just 15 mins away from a walking distance but you can get there by free shuttle service hotel has.
Staff was good and they are really helpful.

I have forgotten my camera with pack in the shuttle but driver has returned it to the reception and I got it back! Thank you so much guys. After all its Singapore and one among things we love about Singapore.

They have a pool and a gym. Wi-fi is given free. They also have a free city tour for guests. There is a person next to reception you can go talk to him about excursions. We stayed there for 5 days and first day we were given a room which wasn’t cleaned! They immediately gave us another room when we informed.

Room Tip: Standard rooms do not have windows it doesnt matter only if you are there to sleep! if not you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Its a Good budget hotel with 10-15 mins walk to MRT but Has a bus to take u the nearest metro station. Also is well connected with Bus Service.
Rooms are small but neat and tidy. Also the Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Room was TINY and the toilet was basically in the shower. Another two things that weren't so great was the breakfast that is offered at a restaurant next door and the noise from the cleaners in the passage in the mornings.
However, the rooftop pool, location, cleanliness, WiFi and friendly staff made up for the above.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

A good budget hotel though the location is not the best of it as it is 15 mins walk to the MRT station.The room which we had the AC did not work and we had to change the room where the AC was just okay.
Rooms are bit small.Restaurant is a corner place shared one with no much variety.
A short stay for a day and looking for a budget hotel then Value is the one for you otherwsie not.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

PROS:
Clean and well-kept rooms. Bed was comfy. TV had cable but didn't have that many English language channels. There's a small restaurant just outside the hotel lobby which makes breakfast and dinner easy. Pool was crystal clear but had time restrictions.

CONS:
Far from the famous tourist spots of SG so you have to take a cab or catch the hotel shuttle to take you to the train station.
Front desk attendants hardly spoke any English and couldn't even explain to me where the hotel sits on the map.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Value Hotel Thomson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Hotel Thomson

Address: 592 Balestier Road, Singapore 329901, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Hotel Thomson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Value Hotel Thomson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Thomson Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Hotel Thomson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.