We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel but quite far from MRT station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Save Saved
You added Value Hotel Thomson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Value Hotel Thomson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   592 Balestier Road, Singapore 329901, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Surabaya, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean hotel but quite far from MRT station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is quite clean with nice pool, but less gym equipment. The room is too small with only 1 plug electricity. Have to go by bus from hotel to the closer MRT station, otherwise could walk 30minutes to MRT station. my advise: ask for triple bed for family leisure. have a food court across street, but not 24hrs available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    528
    282
    86
    44
See reviews for
91
143
63
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5D4N. The nearest MRT station is Novena and this station is about 10-15 mins walk away from the hotel. A specialised fertility hospital (Thomson Medical Centre) is located right opposite the hotel thus this hotel is also convenient for any international patients patronising Thomson Medical Centre. The room is small but comfortable although the toilet is really tiny. My room was missing a stool/chair that will allow me to work on the dressing table. Room is generally clean and bedsheets as well. Many famous restaurants lined both sides of Balestier road so eating options are plentiful. There are 4 lifts to serve 12 levels of rooms which I find adequate. Waiting time for lifts is short. Counter staff are polite although general staff can behave in a more professional manner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as some rooms are facing buildings still in construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed 4 nights there, attracted by the reasonable price for Singapore. Unfortunately I had payed all in advance through Agoda and it was formula one time. The first impression was OK, new Hotel and the room was clean, but that was about it on the positive side. My room and, guessing by the architecture of the building, half of the rooms, had no window. The bathroom was tiny with no shower cabin, just a shower hose rigth next to the toilet. The first night revealed the total lack of insulation, you can hear anybody talking in their room on the whole floor and the guy in the room next to me was snorring like he was lying next to me. What makes it worse is that the vast majority of guests are new middle class chinese tourists with really bad manners and extremely noisy, especially at night.The amount of prostitutes going in and out of the hotel were at a number never seen anywhere before, sometimes I had the impression, sitting at the cafe next to the entrance, it was a brothel. It also seemed like some of them actually operated in the hotel, receiving male visitors on an hourly basis in their room with the associated funny noises audible over the whole floor. If on a budget, it's probably better to stay in hostel, which is even cheaper and certainly less noisy and infested by prostitutes.

Room Tip: Check in advance that the room has a window. Ask for quiet room in written, so you can ask your mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I don't know what to say about this hotel unless the staffs was very unhelpful and unfriendly. on the second day when I want to get into the room, the door card was error and i must go down to check what's happen although i'm so tired but the receptionist helped me with a lazy face and has no intention. the room itself was very small and not too clean. no breakfast. hotel's location is rather far from MRT station but there is bus lane. Unrecommended hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This value hotel can be better if the management look into the overall of the hotel.Nice design but small. Customer service at the lobby need to be improved. Housekeeping need to recheck when handing over the room to next guest.Ensure that nothing is left behind. I hope to see improvement when the next time i visit the hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with windows to see city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for 5 days, in August.

Location: rather far from the city center, a 10-15 minutes taxi trip. Not many breakfast possibilities around it, except for Asian food.
Rooms; really, really small and the bathroom even smaller; however, clean and comfortable
Really noisy housekeepers each morning.

However, a convenient choice from the financial point of view if you compare it to other hotels in Singapore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

i haven't written any review before. But i think i have to write something here.

The story began with hotel booking. In the beginning, i intended to book V hotel there as that is new built but when I got to there, they told me it is Value Hotel! How come the booking info is so confused!

Okay fine, then i went to Value Hotel, the first impression was alright but small! The bathroom size is the smallest that i have even seen. But, okay fine, i just need a sleep there but i though i could tolerate it. Then, i went to have bathing, and when i opened the bathroom door, a cockroach fell from the top of the door! Luckily, it was fallen onto my head!

The next day when i backed to hotel, no room cleaning service! and i found 2 cockroaches crawling on the wall! I was angered and asked for changing room. They told me the hotel was fully booked. But later, when i asked for changing to other value hotel, they immediately provided another room to me! Too bad. The other room had 4 cockroaches in the bedroom and 1 big one in bathroom.....

This is the worst hotel i have ever had in my overseas trip life!

Room Tip: Not recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Value Hotel Thomson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Hotel Thomson

Address: 592 Balestier Road, Singapore 329901, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Hotel Thomson 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Value Hotel Thomson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Thomson Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Hotel Thomson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.