We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting exhibits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peranakan Museum

Peranakan Museum
39 Armenian Street, Singapore 179941, Singapore
65 6332 7591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 279 Attractions in Singapore
Type: Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
1,189 reviews 1,189 reviews
730 attraction reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
597 helpful votes 597 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 NEW

Came here with our 4 year old daughter for a quick visit. Entrance is free for Singaporeans and PRs so that's a bonus. Displays were all quite interesting: especially since it was my first visit having lived for many years in Singapore. Not too much to keep young children entertained though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    190
    38
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“cozy museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

Great place to visit and learn about Peranakan culture from the displays and artefacts. There is small homely cafe on the side of the museum.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Singapore Melting Pot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

China, India, Malay, Indonesia with a sprinkling of European salt make for a tasty cultural mix.

Focusing on the Chinese of Singapore, I leared how this community became seasoned with elements from other cultures. Glad I took the docent led tour having the exhibits explained in greater detail.

This was my favorite museum in Singapore.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could use more lively exhibits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

The exhibits were too staid and lifeless. The Peranakan culture is all about life, colour, music, and food, and we need to see more of that at the museum. Bring in the "live" Peranakan in the country to share their stories , have more interactive exhibitions.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good museum but limited subject”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Interesting insight into the Peranakan culture - I learnt who they are and how they live. Some nice displays of typical houses, clothing, weddings etc. It is a good way to spend a rainy afternoon, but by it's nature the subject matter is limited.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peranakan Museum also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Peranakan Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peranakan Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.