We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value in a decent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Madras Hotel Eminence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madras Hotel Eminence to your Saves list
Madras Hotel Eminence
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   407 Jalan Besar, Singapore, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
S$15 off room rate
Ranked #230 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good value in a decent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Singapore is such a great city, with so much to do (and buy), we wanted to save money on our lodging. This place was a good choice. The location is OK, about 10 minute walk to the awesome MRT system. On the edge of Little India , a 10 minute walk takes you to a wide range of excellent indian food. Their is also a fairly good singpaporean "food court" across the street.
The only turn off is that this place is across from a nightlife area and their was a bit of "hourly room" traffic. One night of our stay included a drunken guy that couldn't find his room. No big deal, but this kind of thing may annoy an uptight traveler.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    24
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
11
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Our family was stranded in Singapore during the volcanic ash disruption and we found it very difficult to find any available accom. We eventually found this hotel on a web site and managed to book two rooms. We arrived before lunch and both rooms were ready for us (they provided us with connecting rooms with no problems unlike some other Singapore hotels) Both rooms were clean, had new A/C unit which was very quiet and had new beds. They were cleaned well each day and bottles of water supplied. We had 3 very good nights sleep in this hotel with no noise.
The staff were so helpful and friendly with everything we asked for and we got 15 mins free INTERNET each day. There is also a launderette area which was reasonable to use and a life saver for us!
Breakfast is basic in a very basic room but was included in the price and was fine.
All in all we had a nice stay here and liked staying in Little India-a great experience which contrasts to the chic, up -market areas of Singapore. Glad we did it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

You never really know what you're gonna get, even looking at places online :) Well, to my surprise it was pretty nice. Mine was air conditioned room with a TV and a toilet. Plus it came with free breakfast and free Internet. No Complaints.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

First of all I would give the hotel staff an Excellent rating!
I was travelling with my family where i had my father who had health restrictions.. The hotel staff were communicating with me very promptly both via emails and chat and patiently answered all my questions. They even made arrangements for an early check-in.

The rooms were decent and clean. We booked 2 rooms for 5 people. The TV was small and cute, never seen such a tv! :)
They provided us with a very basic free breakfast which was decent with scrambled eggs, toast and bananas.

The only problem we faced was that the MRT (train station) was little far for my father.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

My wife,adult son & I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were not charged for early check-in at 0830 and the reception staff were very friendly and kind. Free wi-fi was very useful to stay in touch with friends and the location of the hotel was excellent and the cleanliness was spotless. I will stay in the hotel any time I will go to Singapore and I will gladly receommend this hotel to all my friends from India. Kudos to hotel management for running the hotel so nicely.

A mini-fridge in the room will be a welcome addition

V.LAKSHMI NARASIMHAN \, CHENNAI, INDIA

  • Liked — Quiet privacy
  • Disliked — Absence of a fridge
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetic Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Handy location at northern end of "Little India".Clean rooms,AC,clean bathroom.Friendly staff.Breakfast plain but good.10 min.walk to MRT-stations."Lavender Food Court"across road,open from early to late.Tip:Try to get a room facing out back,NOT overlooking Jalan Besar Rd,which is very busy and noisy.
Great value as it is so close to Chinatown,Little India and CBD.
Tip: If you plan to use MRT and busses while in Singapore,Buy an "Ezy-Ticket" for S$ 15.-(at any MRT station),works on MRT+busses (where drivers DO NOT handle cash and exact change is needed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madras Hotel Eminence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madras Hotel Eminence

Address: 407 Jalan Besar, Singapore, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madras Hotel Eminence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Madras Hotel Eminence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madras Hotel Eminence Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madras Hotel Eminence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.