We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel quite well located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Madras Hotel Eminence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Madras Hotel Eminence to your Saves list
Madras Hotel Eminence
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   407 Jalan Besar, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Directly@Low Rates
Ranked #212 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel quite well located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Actually it is quite difficult to rate a hotel in Singapore as hotels in general are extremely overprized. We paid around 100 EUR for a triple which was quite small with a tiny window. However, the room was clean (except under the bed, where we found a used condom), bathroom was alright and the location of the hotel convenient. The staff was friendly and very helpful and breakfast basic but ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
11
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
County Down, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

My partner, myself and another couple stayed here for a weekend while in Singapore. We were looking a budget hotel that accommodated the 4 of us and this hotel did. We stayed in two adjoining rooms that were clean and laid out well. The rooms had a good a/c unit, tv & desk and the bathroom was nice. The breakfast in the morning was basic but nice. The service at reception was excellent, happily booked us a taxi anytime we needed one and was able to offer us information on the surrounding area. There are 2 nice friendly dogs that stay in the reception so you'll be greatest by them once you walk in. Would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent three nights here in early october 2013. The room as clean and staff were nice. Breakfast was adequate.

The mattress was bumpy and lumpy and hard to find a comfortable spot. Springs almost bursting out!

In its price range it was ok as Singapore is so expensive but really to get a good review they need to change their mattress(es)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This budget Hotel offers excellent value for tourists or business visitors on a budget.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. With a wall mounted TV (with a Movie channel) - good writing area, kettle and your own lockbox for valuables - although the rooms are very safe
and with security cameras on each landing. The beds are a good size and provide
a great nights sleep. Although there are no room fridges there is a water cooler near the rooms
for ice cold water anytime.Two complementary bottles of mineral water are also provided daily.

The rooms I have stayed in were located at the back of the Hotel
with large windows high ceilings and a pleasant view of a few trees and old Singapore architecture nice and quiet too. The hot water from the ensuite shower is temperamental and I did have problems with the door lock - but these are minor issues compared to the
comfort guests enjoy. There is an excellent washer and dryer for the use of guests along
with an iron and ironing board. Breakfast is included and available in a downstairs
dining area. This comprises a small buffet choice of cereals,bread / toast / scrambled egg / peanut butter jams and butter - plus loads of banana's - tea and coffee.
The resident well fed cat will probably come along to miauw good morning.
Two very friendly dogs may be by the front desk to greet you upon your arrival.
The duty managers,receptionist and room staff are most accommodating and friendly.
The location of this Hotel is fairly central although a 15 minute walk to the nearest MRT Station.
The famous Mustafa departmental store in Little India selling almost anything is also just a 15 minute walk. (It's open 24 hours)

It is easy to catch a cab either by pre-booking or simply standing outside the Hotel for 5 or 10 minutes. The staff are happy to book a cab on your behalf. There are plenty of local eateries nearby including an excellent low cost licensed restaurant at the AQueen's Hotel just a few hundred metres away. On the doorstep opposite the Madras Eminence is a very popular Food Court ( I found one of the best Hawker places for Beef Rendang - but there's every other choice too!). There is a left luggage store room if you need it. The free wireless connectivity available in every room is excellent. By the way there are more Spa Massage places in this area than I have seen anywhere in Singapore. Plenty of Karaoke too.

Room Tip: For absolute peace and quiet perhaps request a room that does not face Jalan Besar Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was my first solo international trip. Hence I wanted to make sure that I stay at a safe hotel. I visited during peak season and I was late in booking hence most of the options where I would have loved to stay were expensive. This hotel fell in to second level of options. I am happy that I chose. It turned out to be exactly how it was described on tripadvisor. Buses available at walking distance. Metro station about 1 km away but safe to walk down in late night too. little india is about 1.5 kms away. not too many nearby eating options for veg people but little india is a place where one can go for the same.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went on a family trip to Singapore. I was initially looking for an accommodation in the Kitchener Road. But one of my friends discovered this hotel from Trip Advisor and suggested this. I booked the hotel from Sep 12 to 15 and enjoyed the stay there. If you're looking for a family budget hotel in the Jalan Besar area, you can consider this hotel. The receptionist there was very helpful and gave proper suggestions when i asked for sightseeing places.

And, we also got complimentary breakfast during the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel from 18-21 August when my family visited Singapore on vacation. The two staff members were so courteous and helpful. They gave us excellent directions to bus routes for all our travels. The room service too was excellent. Everyday there was clean linen left in our room with bottles of water, toothpaste, tooth brushes and combs.

This Hotel was so close to a food court that we only had to cross the road to get there. Mustafa the famous shopping mall was only 15 mts away.

We truly enjoyed our stay at Madras Hotel Eminence since the customer service was very good and it was situated at a convenient location and very close to a bus stand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madras Hotel Eminence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madras Hotel Eminence

Address: 407 Jalan Besar, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madras Hotel Eminence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Tingo so you can book your Madras Hotel Eminence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madras Hotel Eminence Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madras Hotel Eminence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.