We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality food...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilico

Basilico
Regent Singapore | 1 Cuscaden Road, Singapore, Singapore
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 7,412 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Authentic and Seasonal Italian Food. Antipasti Station, Espresso Bar, Dessert Counter, Wine Cellar and Wine Club, Al Fresco Dining, Private Dining.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant offers an interesting concept, a buffet all you can eat starter and main, or an all you can eat buffet starter with an a la carte main course/dessert.

The food offered, even on the buffet is of an exceptional quality. An excellent choice of antipasti and cheese for starters.

Good quality a la carte menu, steak comes highly recommended and cooked nicely.

Service attentive but not intrusive, well polished. Would eat here again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent_Managament, Guest Relations Manager at Basilico, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear CargoCharterGuy,
Thank you for recent review about your meal at Basilico. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed the whole experience.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Julie Hanssen
Food & Beverage Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    52
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cooking Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I came to the resturant with some workmates for a team event which was throughly enjoyed by all. Chef Luca was great. The team was still raving about the risotto we made a week later.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent_Managament, Guest Relations Manager at Basilico, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Leebythesea,
We are delighted to read that you and your collegues enjoyed Chef Luca's Cooking Class. I will be sure to share your positive comments with him and the kitchen team as there is no greater motivator than recognition for a “job well done”.

Thank you again for visiting us at basilico. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Julie Hanssen
Food & Beverage Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Thoughtful service, heavenly food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I'm writing this review mainly as a public thank you to the staff of Basilico, from the polite and efficient receptionist who called to confirm my reservation and to offer a special surprise for the birthday dinner, to the excellent waitressing that was attentive but non-intrusive. My family enjoyed the sumptious spread, and special mention goes to the home-made lychee sorbet that got us going for multiple servings. The antipasti was a good spread and the choices of seasonings was a pleasant indication of the attention to detail by the chef(s). The desserts were enticing and tasted even better. One comment I would make for the beef tenderloin was that it was a bit overcooked for a medium, and would've been better if slightly pink. Other than that it was a dinner to remember. Thank you for the experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Basilico, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed this special birthday dinner at Basilico and that you gave us the opportunity being your hosts. Your words are the best motivation for us to keep up our efforts and to give our best every day.

Thank you as well for mentioning your concern about the meat cuisson. I have forwarded your comment to our Executive Chef as it is only owing to your valuable references that we are able to determine the strengths and the weaknesses of our restaurant and improve on a day to day basis.

We look forward to welcome you and your familly back in the near future.
Best regards,
Julie Hanssen
Food & Beverage Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tha Hague
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Its nice enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice service... food is ok.. but not going to go out of your way for this place... its a busy place... without enough light and which to be honest has too many people for the ammount they can realistically service... also had NO IDEA what I wast talking about when I requested Eggs Benedict... REALLY? - At a four seasons hotel???

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Authentic and Lavish Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The ambiance is conducive and service is 5-star hotel standard. The buffet spread is extensive comprises most elaborated antipasti (even multiple types of salt flakes! ), regional and seasonal fresh greens, four to five types of tomatoes. The cold crab, lobster, mussels, scallops, live cooking of meat, floe gras, pizza and pasta, sumptuous beef, lamb, chicken, ham and bone mallow are a feast for the sense and we were spoiled for choices. Most interesting is their cheese room, squid ink bread and pizza and the heavenly Millis coffee iced cream, homemade gelato, Italian cakes, tarts and chocolates...beware of over-indulgent! A great place to celebrate special occasion and let yourself go, once in a while. About S$100 per head without wine, great value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent_Managament, Guest Relations Manager at Basilico, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Ms Fanny,
Thank you for recent review about our Sunday Brunch at Basilico. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed ambiance, food and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Julie Hanssen
Food & Beverage Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilico also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Basilico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.