We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where you just sleep...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ABC Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added ABC Hostel to your Saves list
ABC Hostel
3 Jalan Kubor, Singapore 19920, Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Where you just sleep...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed for 5 days and chose the private one for around 60$ something per night *totally forgot bout the price.* there's a shower inside my room but no toilet. The room is for 2 - 3 people.
Actually, I'd say I'm really satisfied with the location. It's near to MRT, Raffles hospital, sevel...and some malls. That's it.
but the hostel itself ain't really comfortable. There's some marks on the wall and I believe it's kind of fungus... :( The room has no window so u can imagine how fusty it is. There's a shower room inside but no window. Omg.
the breakfast is okay. But don't u ever try to have ur meal in the back side of the hostel. You'd find rats watching you everywhere... that's creepy. So I suggest u to have ur meal in the kitchen no matter what.
But the receptionist was quite nice. I hardly understand singlish at the first time. But they kindly gave me all the info I needed. So, if u looking for a place to (just) fall asleep.. this place is recommended ... u should go have fun out there by the time u woke up. But if u looking for comfy place.. to relax or whatever. .. no no for this hostel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
7
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Felt compelled to inform other travellers… The reception are rude and unhelpful, you won't get any useful information from them. Like others have said, the rooms are occupied by tenants with all their rubbish everywhere, looks like a storage room. The bed was ok, but everything else is a nightmare. The internet is bad, the kitchen is far beyond bad - it's outside on a dirty balcony, with old computers as seats. There are people washing and brushing their teeth in this tiny little kitchen, as well as other people sitting around breathing smoke all over the food.

I have been travelling for over a year so far and so these complaints are not from the standard fool who booked a hostel expecting a hotel.

Pay an extra $2 and stay next door, OR put in a bit more money and go somewhere else.

Poorly managed, POOR breakfast, very bad value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The location is quite strategic from Bugis MRT and two bus stops. It's also near Kampong Glam and situated like an old place, with lots of heritage buildings, but lively at night from bar and cafe nearby.
I stayed with 9 friends, all girls, in ten-beds dorm for three days. We used mixed dorm but booked the room. The price is considerably cheap, booking via email, downpayment 50%, deposit s$10 for room keys, towel, and blanket that will be refunded when check out.
The service was good, simple breakfast (bread with jam) on time, all facilities in web can be used well, and it had very nice ambience.
Mustafa center is in walking distance, seven eleven less than 5 minutes, around 7 minutes to bugis junction and bugis street.
Lots of Indonesian stayed here. The staffs are also very nice. I think I will come back soon :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stay in mixed dormitory room ,is clean and with A/C .Location is ok . Staff is friendly ,Breakfast is poor just bread and jam .Kitchen is very small. Room doesn't have door lock , nor realy safe because front door is unlocked to and at the front desk no staff.For chek-in we wait there 5 min .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Bali
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have been staying here twice. We have private room with sharing bathroom. I have good experience staying here. The location is great, just walked for about 7 minutes, you will find Bugis station. And bus station is right in front of this hostel. There are seven eleven only 50 meters away and Nasi Padang only about 75 meters away. The bathroom is quite clean, the staff is so nice. It was a good experience staying in ABC Hostel.

Room Tip: Corner room is larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I don't really think that this place is a hostel, since when I stay there, there was some Singaporean that stay at this hostel for 1 month or more.It looks like a student's dormitory.
I was staying at the female dormitory, but unfortunately the room already occupied by 2 Singaporean that have stayed there for a month or more, so when I arrived there the room was full of that 2 people's things. They used all of the lockers and almost all of the room space. One of them was not friendly too.

Room Tip: If you still want to stay at this hostel, choose the private room with shower room inside, because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

when arrived in this hostel, warm welcome from the receptionist. But the owner not that friendly. They got angry with the aircon-man who repair the aircon in my room, they screaming and using bad words. How they talk just makes me shock. The washing machine cannot be used by customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ABC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC Hostel

Address: 3 Jalan Kubor, Singapore 19920, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your ABC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc Hotel Singapore
ABC Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABC Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.