We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel or student's dormitory ?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of ABC Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added ABC Hostel to your Saves list
ABC Hostel
3 Jalan Kubor, Singapore 19920, Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Surabaya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hostel or student's dormitory ?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I don't really think that this place is a hostel, since when I stay there, there was some Singaporean that stay at this hostel for 1 month or more.It looks like a student's dormitory.
I was staying at the female dormitory, but unfortunately the room already occupied by 2 Singaporean that have stayed there for a month or more, so when I arrived there the room was full of that 2 people's things. They used all of the lockers and almost all of the room space. One of them was not friendly too.

Room Tip: If you still want to stay at this hostel, choose the private room with shower room inside, because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
7
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

when arrived in this hostel, warm welcome from the receptionist. But the owner not that friendly. They got angry with the aircon-man who repair the aircon in my room, they screaming and using bad words. How they talk just makes me shock. The washing machine cannot be used by customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

It is not recommeded for the cleanliness and many aspects that needed improvement

We were travelling as family of four. Me, husband and daughter (12 years old) and son (3 years old). I was surprised when we checked in. Because I have to pay SGD 18 more for my son without any extra facility (no 'extra bed'), he even used our existing bed. And we also asked to paid deposit that needs to be paid on arrival. So make sure you have spare cash.

The fridge is dirty and very full. I am gonna find another hostel for my next visit to Singapore

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

ABC hostel was the first hostel I stay during my first visit to Singapore. My first impression was, "it was okay!". For me, it's not recommended for the cleanliness, but the place it's very strategist. It's behind Arab Street and Haji Lane, which is a famous hipster street in Singapore.
Overall, I'm enjoying my stay at ABC Hostel but I think I'm gonna find another hostel for my second visit to Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

ABC was the cheapest hostel that we could find in Singapore, which was great. Unfortunately, there were many aspects that needed improvement.

There is a deposit that needs to be paid on arrival, that was nowhere in our Agoda booking, so make sure you have spare cash.

The beds are like boxes, which is ok if you only wish to sleep. However, the hostel allows guests 24hours-a-day, so the 16 Japanese tourists who checked in - along with flash photography and much locker banging - at 3am, a process repeated from 6am til 8am when they checked out the same morning, could have been avoided by the owners.

The showers, toilets and Internet access were adequate, but nothing special - I guess you get what you pay for.

Some of the staff were very helpful and the laundry service was OK.

recommended if budget conquers comfortability.

Room Tip: Maybe try the smaller dorm by reception if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

i would give 5 star for this hostel, every went to Singapore, i would like to back to stay to this hostel, it very clean, and cheap, all the room and especiality bathroom is clean for my standar. and i really like the environment in here. if your minded just need a place to sleep, you can get more than that. Free to use internet in computer they already give, have a free breakfast, and free to use all their fasility like wasing machine, refrigerator, microwave if you need to cook some thing.
The loacation is very strategic, near MRT station, near Bugis Junction where you can buy a very cheap thing, like a souvenir or any else. but for me, the most important is near fastfood subway (my favorite place for breakfast).
and in behind of this hostel, you can find a many restaurant, especially arabian food. cool!!!!
And i have very please that they provide me many brochure in front desk for us, as an tourist, it really help me so.
and since there are many guest from Indonesia stay at there, we can very easy to book and put downpayment since they have an bank account of Indonesia local bank.

that thing make all thing feel so completely.

Room Tip: since this hostel always full, i suggest you to book it earlier from your trip day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from March 24. The hostel was really well known among Indonesian backpackers, so we decided to try. We booked a room for two (with common shower and toilet) and paid for about 60 SGD/pax. The rate includes blanket and towel. The room was about 2x3 m, with bunk bed and locker. I think the room was also functioned as a storage since our room has a small space. It was packed with old mattresses.

Since our room is next to the receptionist, it is quite noisy. I'm so shocked to find some baby cockroaches running easily in our room. The common bathroom near the basin/ironing area was very small. It was hard to close the door with ease. My suggestion, use the bathroom near the pantry. It is bigger. The jet spray in all toilets lost its head. And one of my discomfort was the stinky toilet. I wish they would pay attention to the cleanliness.

I got my laundry done with 10 SGD/3 kgs. It was only for washing. It is quite new experience for me since in Indonesia, doing laundry means we got our clothes ironed as well.

Despite all the experience, the hostel located perfectly in a busy yet serene area of jl. Kubor. I prefer to use buses everywhere instead of MRT since it was quite far (about 15 minutes to walk). There were nice cafes, minimart and spa around the hostel. The receptionist lady was really helpful too. It was ok, but i'm not interested to go back again. Might try another hostel next time.

Room Tip: for common shower, use the one next to the pantry. do mind that the jet spray is not working well in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ABC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC Hostel

Address: 3 Jalan Kubor, Singapore 19920, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your ABC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc Hotel Singapore
ABC Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABC Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.