We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel near Bugis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ABC Hostel

Save Saved
You added ABC Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ABC Hostel
3 Jalan Kubor, Singapore 19920, Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice hostel near Bugis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in 10 beds shared dorm. The room and the shared toilets are clean. Its a basic hostel and very popular among Asian travellers. Near to Bugis and Arab Street. 10 minutes walk to the Bugis MRT. 5 mins to the famous Zam Zam Murtabak. 15 mins to Mustafa Centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
7
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice hostel with a helpful owner. The air conditioner works well. The shower is ok. The wifi is good.

I and my friends stay in a dorm with 10 beds, and it is fairly enough with the cash you pay for each.

Things that out of our expectation is: the female room is located in the 3rd floor so it's quite tiring to go downstair.

Out of all, this hostel is a nice place to stay in singapore.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Semarang, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

this place is nice. Indonesian fav place to stay. the staff can speak Indonesian. i forgot the name. This place is near from MRT Bugis. walking about less than 7 mins. I pay about 20 SGD / night. and we can booked via email. their laundry service is fast,only one day. free towel,wifi,and u should deposit 10 SGD and after check out u back the 10 SGD. dont forget to take your key,if u wanna going out from room. modern key door.

Room Tip: if u're female and solo traveling,maybe u can asked them about female dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

It's cheap absolutely what always a backpacker's consideration. Pretty clean and neat. Many Visitors from Indonesia love it, It is always be Indonesian backpackers favourite. It's located between two strategic bus route. So many bus line through these ways. Just about not more than 50 meters U will find bus to any destination. It's a nice place for moslem because near Two Mosque and many halal food there

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Clean, nice hostel in a very good location (close to MRT and Arab St) with comfy beds, warm shower and friendly staff. Very good contact via e-mail (I had loads of questions which were patiently answered) and help from staff when it came to exchanging money or catching a train. It's a pity we stayed there for one night only :)

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opole
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

clean, everyday clean room,linen ,towel new, freee wifi,or koputer, breakfast including, cheap,very cheap ,
\Idael location; close to Arab stret-50 metr, close to Small India, close to metro/tube/ fast city train. very friendly staff, very friendly owner,gave us hotel member club To sentosa, so we save over 100 dol usa for tickets one day !!
also cold drink, beer, cheaper than 7/11 ,evening time is posible to seat outside and smoke cigarets / singaopour is fre of cigaterst,but this hotel for stranger have psobility to smoke/
Plenty of help of owner , to give good advice which bus, or city train we should go to viosit Chinese ,mjapanise gardem, or sentosa, also its important at singaopoure, everydauy is posibiliy to have change / coins / from owner, because any ticket bus, train or cold dronk is pisibily buy only by coin, but noboidy at singapoure chenfe you note to coin, except abs hostel



Air Condition at room,.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Traveled to Singapore on route to KL with 5 other friends. We chose the 6-bed dorm type room for our first night stay at ABC. No windows. It was cramped and we barely had room to move around. There is only one electrical outlet so it was always a race to who's the first one to plug her charger in. But for the price of SG$ 21/bed, we really can't be choosers. We were basically out the whole day, so we didn't really miss our accommodation. It was just basically a place to sleep and rest.

The pantry where the guests take their self-service breakfast has a well-stocked bread basket, 2 types of jams, coffee, tea, hot water.

Bathrooms are clean, didn't see any molds at all. Towels are clean, ditto with the bedsheets, blankets and pillowcases.

On our return from KL we stayed at ABC again and this time we booked the 10-bed dorm type room. Now, there is a lot of space to move around. We paid SG$ 18/bed/night. There are already 6 of us so we just paid extra for the 4 other beds so we can have the room exclusively to ourselves. In this room, there is a multiple electrical charger that can accommodate up to 6. Room and shared bathrooms are likewise clean.

Walking distance to Bugis Junction, Bugis MRT Station, Sim Lim, Arab street and the bus stop.

We were able to buy discounted tickets to Universal Studios, SG$ 62. We went to US on a weekend, and the price of the ticket, if bought on site, was SG$ 72. That's SG$10 saved.

Cons:
1. Chinese receptionist (morning) looks perpetually a mixture of irritation, annoyance and anger. The night shift receptionist (Zeny) is more accommodating and pleasant.
2. More electrical outlets should be provided for the multiple bed rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ABC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC Hostel

Address: 3 Jalan Kubor, Singapore 19920, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#194 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your ABC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc Hotel Singapore
ABC Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABC Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.