We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was ok, but...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aqueen Hotel Balestier

Save Saved
You added Aqueen Hotel Balestier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   387 Balestier Road, Singapore 329795, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #105 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The room was ok, but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The bed is as hard as a wooden floor! I can't sleep very well during my stay there..

Also:
- The location was very far from MRT and the bus route is confusing too
- No concierge or anyone who could help me bring my luggage or in my case, my Ikea cupboard from the lobby to the room and when I checked out and bring to my taxi. Thank you for the nice man from the reception who helped me once
- During the first night, there was a cleaning service lady (?) who opened the door while I was inside the room
- On the second night, there was a fire alarm very early in the morning blaring over and over and over again, which happened to be the electricity error -- but the announcement was blaring everywhere for 15 minutes. In the morning. Not nice.
- They don't serve breakfast -- but there's a new food market few minutes away

The good point is: I got a room with a window

Am I gonna go back to this hotel the next time I go to Singapore? Definitely NOT.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    97
    45
    11
    3
See reviews for
12
28
67
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

First time I stayed at this hotel. The room was small but efisien, everything you need is there, and on reach. Simple, clean, and modern. It's like your own studio apartment. I only stayed for 3 days, I wish I had more time to explore Singapore while staying here. The location is good, not too crowded, but you can easily go everywhere you want to go. The staff was very helpful and friendly. At that time I stayed there, the main lobby was in renovation, so there's no bar or cafe when my friends visited me there, so we must go somewhere else to chat. The price compare to any other hotels on the same street, I think aqueen has the best price and it's worthed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustCareAqueen, Aqueen Hotel Management Team at Aqueen Hotel Balestier, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Kumilkriwil,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are an inspiration to the Aqueen Balestier Hotel team and we will relay your positive comments to all of them.

Thank you for choosing Aqueen Balestier Hotel as your lodging of choice and we are look forward to have you again.



Warm Regards,
Aqueen Hotel Management Team

customercare@aqueenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have 3 nights stayed in Aqueen Balestier. And yes I love it. Clean, modern,very convenient to get around, there is a new food court just open a few block from hotel. For me over all is ok, located near Orchard. We have to take a bus, but very easy and cheap. I don't have to walk far, because the bus stop its in front of hotel. Only SGD. 1.10. for bus fare , and Taxi SGD. 6.00 - 8.00. The room is small, so I don't have to walk far to get somethin I need :) It's free wi-fi. The receptions was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner is nice but a bit noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustCareAqueen, Aqueen Hotel Management Team at Aqueen Hotel Balestier, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Risa,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us.


We are very glad that you were able to use the location of the hotel to your advantage and we appreciate the compliments on our rooms and the staff.


It was our pleasure to have you as one of our guests and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you again for your future travel needs.



Warm Regards,

Aqueen Hotel Management Team

customercare@aqueenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hello, I have visited this hotel again!. This time I booked a superior room which did have more space.. The room was clean and had all the things you need: good bed, fast internet and clean shower/bathroom.

This hotel isn't luxury but for expensive Singpore its a good budget comprimise.. Taxi's are relatively cheap in Singapore and easy to flag down from the road... So you can travel from here to all key areas of Singapore..

The only downside to this hotel is the lack of breakfast and the lobby isn't so inviting.. (It wouldn't impress business clients, so the cafe/bar needs revising...)

Room Tip: pay slightly more for a superior room, with a few meters more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I have 2 nights stay in aqueen balestier hotel in queens bed which is no windows on singapore formlula one race 21st -23rd. Firstly i thought we can walk to hotel from toa payoh mrt station thru google map. Who knows we walk an hour still cant get thru,then just get a cab on road side which is only take 5 minutes to arrive.

Friendly staff which is already know my name when i walk in. And lead us that take 145 bus from hotel to mrt station after fast check in on 2.30pm something.

The room is small than i though.just a liltle bit smelly which is normal for no windows room. Confortable pillow and queens bed. With full amenities and coffee and tea in room.

Only one of the problem which is the housekeeping didnt change the bed sheet on the second night we stay.

Overall is good. For the refference to the others guest to stay in aqueen balestier, better take cab if you are carry big baggage or heavy backpack.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

As a mature couple we wanted somewhere clean, comfortable and reasonably priced for a Singapore stopover - not too far from the airport either. Aqueen foyer was clean and modern and the reception was friendly and helpful - gave us a map and directions for public transport to Chinatown that were very easy to follow (bus stop opposite hotel). Although there was plenty to choose from close to Aqueen we had a cheap and tasty meal in the Chinatown hawker's market and wandered the night market there before taking train and short bus ride back to Aqueen. Bathroom is very small by Austraian standards and frosted glass panel is all that's between you and the bed - nonetheless it was clean and with a hot shower. A comfy bed and kettle with complimentary tea bags too (no milk though - just coffee whitener). Public taxi was under $20 each way to/from airport - and less than 30 mins, maybe longer in peak hour though. Overall a good choice for a stopover with limited time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel rooms are clean,comfortable & compact.Check in & out is quick.It has good connectivity by bus or by metro to tourist spots in Singapore.There are quite a few eateries
nearby.All in all good value for money in a expensive country like Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustCareAqueen, Aqueen Hotel Management Team at Aqueen Hotel Balestier, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Kartik,

Thank you for your valuable feedback of Aqueen Hotel Balestier.

We are glad that you liked our location, service, and rooms. Your feedback serves as an inspiration for us to strive harder in meeting all our guests’ needs and expectations.

Warm Regards,

Aqueen Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqueen Hotel Balestier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqueen Hotel Balestier

Address: 387 Balestier Road, Singapore 329795, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#105 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqueen Hotel Balestier 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer executive class hospitality to business & leisure travelers. We strive to deliver comfort, warmth, friendly service & genuine quality to all our guests. We are located close to the Central Business District & are conveniently served by the Mass Rapid Transit network. We are also near convention venues such as Singapore Expo and the Suntec Convention Centre. The Hotel is surrounded by Singapore's famous eating places as well as cultural historical sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aqueen Hotel Balestier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqueen Hotel Balestier Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqueen Hotel Balestier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.