We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and functional but tiny” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqueen Hotel Balestier

Save Saved
You added Aqueen Hotel Balestier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   387 Balestier Road, Singapore 329795, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Lincoln, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clean and functional but tiny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here for two nights at the end of a trip to SIngapore and Malaysia. I was alone but the presence of two cups and two glasses in my room suggests that I had a double room. Thank goodness I didn't have to share it as it was pretty much the smallest room I've ever been in. It's pretty well designed, for a tiny room, but once I'd opened my suitcase there was pretty much no floor space left and there's not enough storage space in the room to unpack one suitcase, let alone two, so I have no idea how people use this space if they are travelling as a couple. I am only 5'6'' and my feet were hanging off the end of the bed. Tiny.

OK, the positives - the staff are brilliant! Soooooo, helpful. I emailed a few days before I arrived, asking for public transport directions and got a fantastically detailed reply that got me there with no trouble at all. Whilst I was staying at the hotel I used buses to get everywhere, which I absolutely could not have done without the help of the staff (buses in Singapore are reliable and cheap but finding out which ones go where is practically impossible). The room was clean and the wifi worked perfectly on my 'phone (though was weirdly temperamental on my laptop).

The location's not the greatest if you are a tourist, but if you are happy getting on the bus then it's perfectly fine - I would stay there again - and in fact it's quite nice to feel like you're staying in a proper neighbourhood rather than in tourist central. It's almost directly opposite a cinema, which I went to on my last night, which was rather nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    103
    45
    11
    3
See reviews for
12
29
70
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I frequently visit this Aqueen Hotel Balestier. The reasons are 1)good price tag 2)clealiness of the room 3) good facilities(having in-room-safe, free wifi) for this class of hotel. But the location is just good, not the best choice if you are 1st-time stayer in Singapore. The only drawback I can't satisfy is not having a mini-fridege in a room. It's a must-have item for this mid-class hotel.

Totally, I can recommend this Aqueen Hotel Balestier if you looking a good budget class hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I visited Singapore from 13th to 17th Aug and stayed at this place. it was a very nce experience staying at the hotel. its location is very good, near to little India as well as to the city. the Lavender food court is across the street. other important landmarks like MRT station, flyer and Marina Bay sands are 10 mins by cab. it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Me and my wife enjoyed the stay very much at Aqueen Hotel. It is a very clean, modern, and comfortable hotel. Located wiithin 10 minutes walk to Lavender MRT station or 5 minutes walk to Boon Keng MRT Station. Close to Lavender Food Court. A nice food court that provide Local food of Singapore.

I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Any room will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I visited singapore from 5th to 10th August 2013 and stayed in HOTEL AQUEEN LAVENDER.
The hotel is decent enough for stay. The place is far from singapore hot spot (Mustafa Market/Little india) The distance would be around 2KMS.
I would suggest people travelling from India to check for the hotel check in and check out timings in advance. I had terrible time after reaching. My flght from India landed at 6AM in morning and the hotel check in timings was 2PM. Had no clue what to do for 8 hours. The check out timing is 12 in afternoon which again does not go very well with flights to India.
The hotel has a very very small restaurent with limited option for food (both veg and non veg).
For having DECENT food you mght have to walk all the way to Mustafa market or spend min of 5SGD to reach there.

The hotel staff is co-operative and very polite. They really try to help you with what ever they can.

Another issue with the hotel is that they provide only 2 small bottles of water every day and there is no house keeping to get your luggage moving in and out from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Reception is always friendly and helpful. The room service (cleaning) is very considerate. They give us three bottles of water every day. And it's just 7 minute walk to the Lavender MRT station. There are two food centers nearby. It's convenient.

Room Tip: Choose the room not facing the main road on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Only really needed somewhere to sleep and shower for a couple of nights while doing some work in Singapore. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Advertising said there was a fridge but there wasn't. Staff were friendly, Wi-Fi was good and the area had lots of eateries of all types within easy walking distance. MRT not too close but the 131 or 21 bus takes you from the bus stop really close by to Novena MRT, so that wasn't really a problem.
Decent value for Singapore prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqueen Hotel Balestier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqueen Hotel Balestier

Address: 387 Balestier Road, Singapore 329795, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqueen Hotel Balestier 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer executive class hospitality to business & leisure travelers. We strive to deliver comfort, warmth, friendly service & genuine quality to all our guests. We are located close to the Central Business District & are conveniently served by the Mass Rapid Transit network. We are also near convention venues such as Singapore Expo and the Suntec Convention Centre. The Hotel is surrounded by Singapore's famous eating places as well as cultural historical sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Aqueen Hotel Balestier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqueen Hotel Balestier Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqueen Hotel Balestier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.