We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value for money.... easy to travel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqueen Hotel Balestier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aqueen Hotel Balestier to your Saves list
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   387 Balestier Road, Singapore 329795, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Mangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, value for money.... easy to travel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I visited Singapore from 13th to 17th Aug and stayed at this place. it was a very nce experience staying at the hotel. its location is very good, near to little India as well as to the city. the Lavender food court is across the street. other important landmarks like MRT station, flyer and Marina Bay sands are 10 mins by cab. it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    103
    46
    11
    3
See reviews for
12
28
72
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Me and my wife enjoyed the stay very much at Aqueen Hotel. It is a very clean, modern, and comfortable hotel. Located wiithin 10 minutes walk to Lavender MRT station or 5 minutes walk to Boon Keng MRT Station. Close to Lavender Food Court. A nice food court that provide Local food of Singapore.

I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Any room will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I visited singapore from 5th to 10th August 2013 and stayed in HOTEL AQUEEN LAVENDER.
The hotel is decent enough for stay. The place is far from singapore hot spot (Mustafa Market/Little india) The distance would be around 2KMS.
I would suggest people travelling from India to check for the hotel check in and check out timings in advance. I had terrible time after reaching. My flght from India landed at 6AM in morning and the hotel check in timings was 2PM. Had no clue what to do for 8 hours. The check out timing is 12 in afternoon which again does not go very well with flights to India.
The hotel has a very very small restaurent with limited option for food (both veg and non veg).
For having DECENT food you mght have to walk all the way to Mustafa market or spend min of 5SGD to reach there.

The hotel staff is co-operative and very polite. They really try to help you with what ever they can.

Another issue with the hotel is that they provide only 2 small bottles of water every day and there is no house keeping to get your luggage moving in and out from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Reception is always friendly and helpful. The room service (cleaning) is very considerate. They give us three bottles of water every day. And it's just 7 minute walk to the Lavender MRT station. There are two food centers nearby. It's convenient.

Room Tip: Choose the room not facing the main road on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Only really needed somewhere to sleep and shower for a couple of nights while doing some work in Singapore. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Advertising said there was a fridge but there wasn't. Staff were friendly, Wi-Fi was good and the area had lots of eateries of all types within easy walking distance. MRT not too close but the 131 or 21 bus takes you from the bus stop really close by to Novena MRT, so that wasn't really a problem.
Decent value for Singapore prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It's my second time to stay here, love it as always. You can feel the old Singapore in Balestier area. Plus I'm a foodie and there's so many good places to eat! Boon Tong Kee and Loy Kee has never failed me. Try the soursop juice, I like it very much.

Although the hotel is a bit far from MRT (Novena), but it close to a bus stop which you can take NO.21 or 131 to the nearest MRT. The staff is very polite and friendly, the room is tiny but got everything you need. There's many budget hotel on this street, but Aqueen is the best value one! Definitely will stay again. oh, there's no parking space in the hotel(only two slots), but you can park next to the building behind the hotel, and it's free after 5pm.

There's another Aqueen hotel in Lavender Road, but it's next to a funeral parlor, so go for it if you are a ghost lover :p

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indochina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

check-in - quite efficient, they were able to check me in with no problems or snags at all; the staff are very friendly, too

room - key card didn't work inside so had to call housekeeping/engineering to take a look; a panel needed to be lifted open on the ceiling to reach a switch that needed to be turned on; not a good welcome especially if you came in tired from a long flight and getting ready for a business meeting;
it was quite small as well; we stayed in Aqueen Lavender before so we know how accommodations could be; but this was a little more than a large stock room;
it was so small that you can't open any door (closet, dresser, etc) without hitting something;
the only good thing about it is that it is so small the housekeeping staff has no problems cleaning it nicely

internet - don't use this hotel for a biz trip where you need to keep in touch via the world wide web; this has got to be the worst internet connection in Singapore; it keeps cutting off, and when it's on it is slower than Myanmar internet;
next time just have the network operators (at the airport or somewhere else) open/activate your 3G and use that instead

location - it is good in the sense that just a few meters outside is the quite popular Boon Tong Kee, then there's Loy Kee Best Chicken Rice, then if you need your fastfood fix there's a McDonald's, KFC, etc in Shaw Plaza right across from the hotel

overall - place is not bad for a night's stay, any longer would get really frustrating

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqueen Hotel Balestier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqueen Hotel Balestier

Address: 387 Balestier Road, Singapore 329795, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#108 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqueen Hotel Balestier 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer executive class hospitality to business & leisure travelers. We strive to deliver comfort, warmth, friendly service & genuine quality to all our guests. We are located close to the Central Business District & are conveniently served by the Mass Rapid Transit network. We are also near convention venues such as Singapore Expo and the Suntec Convention Centre. The Hotel is surrounded by Singapore's famous eating places as well as cultural historical sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Aqueen Hotel Balestier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqueen Hotel Balestier Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqueen Hotel Balestier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.