We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the years, our fave mutton beryani place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islamic Restaurant

Islamic Restaurant
745 Northbridge Road, Singapore 198713, Singapore (Downtown Core)
62987563
Improve this listing
Ranked #702 of 7,094 restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Core
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Over the years, our fave mutton beryani place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Two words: mutton beryani! This restaurant consistently served quality mutton beryani everytime we visited since the 90's. It's an old classic Islamic restaurant in the old classic Arab quarters in Singapore. If you have a big group, either be prepared to wait or make a reservation. The lemon juice helps ease the heat from the spices and then relax with an after-meal "teh-tarik" - pulled hot milk tea. We always try to visit whenever we return to Singapore.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    9
    6
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food was great. Halal food and a lot of options for vegetarian. It's located near to Arab street or the Arab neighborhood. The athmosphere was good. Classic to take pictures. The service was excellent. The teh Tarik was good too. I will come back here again for sure

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampang
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Not the best in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The restaurant is located on the Arab Street stretch, just about 2 minutes walk from the Jalan Sultan Mosque. You may drop off either at Bugis or Lavendar MRT station and walk towards the Mosque to find Arab Street. If you are taking a cab, make sure you know the address as some taxi drivers are not familiar with this restaurant.

The restaurant size is small, so you may need to queue and wait for your turn, then eat fast and leave immediately to make way for others.

They serve beryani and other north indian cuisine. The quality of food is not the best in town, and personally, i feel beryani rice by ZamZam tasted way better.

The price is not expensive and is less than SDG10 per pax per meal. The 1st floor of the restaurant is reserved for buffet lunch.

Overall Experience - Not Satisfied

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Mutton Madras, yum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a great restaurant, the best curry in Singapore I've tasted so far. The mutton was tender and the sauce not too overpowering. As for the keema nan bread, wow! We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

So delicious! had the briyani set and the tandoori set for 10 bucks each and it was delicious! The naans were awesome as well! The service was good, our food came super fast, and it was really delicious, everything was great, the tea, the desserts and the food. Only thing is that they do not accept credit cards but honestly, if you are traveling, you should always be prepared for that and have a little cash on you...besides that it was fantastic, no complains!!! :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islamic Restaurant also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Islamic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islamic Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.