We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Little India

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Grand Hotel Little India to your Saves list
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Veerasamy Road, Singapore 207309, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here for a week in May 2013.The rooms were very small and basic but very clean.Please book this hotel only if you are travelling light and with less baggage bcoz there is hardly any space left apart from the bed.The Aircon was good and worked very well.
The Staff is very courteous and helpful.The Breakfast had to be taken next door and had very little choice available.Since we came only at night it was a good experience for us.
Book the executive room since they are slightly bigger if possible.
Overall satisfied if you leave the breakfast aside

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast, we have since taken corrective actions in order to improve our hotel standards. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    84
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
42
50
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Lucky we didn't bring the cat, the room was so small, there was no room to swing it.
It was a little cramped. Being 193cm, my feet hung off the bed considerably. The bathroom was a good size with a generous shower.

Breakfast was taken at the restaurant next door. The staff appeared disinterested with our presence as they served a myriad of locals with takeaway breakfast. Breakfast consisted of 4 photographic options. Only Indian food was available, but was ok.

All up, it was a great starting point to see Little India and was very well located.

Room Tip: We had deluxe room, don't expect too much, but it is clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, Little India is an Indian heritage area where Indian, culture, food and environment can be experienced. The next door Indian restaurant serves authentic local Indian breakfast and thank you for highlighting the matter to us, and we have since taken corrective actions to assure our hotel overall standard.

We recognize that some of the rooms are small, however, it may not be preferred by all travelers. We do have Santa Grand hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel East Coast to meet the diverse need of customers.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reichenbach, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hi, we had a real warm welcome ... the staff there is really nice and helpful. We heard for all our issues (arrive to early, oversleep on next day) just a "no problem" and it was a real nice time there.

Room Tip: we were not used to a non window room, but we got it just because we arrived to early and this was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for wonderful review! We are delighted to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will definitely share your positive comments to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Central, Fiji
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Rooms are so small. Breakfast was horrible and we could get a proper b/fast meal in the same area for only SGD5. It does not allow for any fruits, proper drinks that we could choose from. We are vegetarians with special requirements and only the carbohydrates were available such as dosa, paratha and idley. All other side dishes had onion and garlic and the restaurant serving the b/fast where not flexible. For continuous 3 days, I survived on dosa only and orange juice. For such a pricey hotel, you deserve better. I paid slightly higher amount at Parkroyal on Kitchener Road and just steps away from Mustafa centre and the rooms were 3 times larger than Santa Grand. I certainly expected a much much better experience.
As with tripadvisor, I wonder how the ratings are worked out. How could such pathetic room conditions earn such great ratings.

Room Tip: aircon noise was irritating. I asked for 2 deluxe rooms but surprisingly one room was a bit larger t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback about our complimentary breakfast and we are sorry to know that we disappointed you. However, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we have since taken corrective actions in order to improve our hotel standards.

Thank again for your constructive feedback and we hope to have an opportunity to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The staff were friendly and quite helpful but the rooms very tiny, the beds hard and water leaked over the floor from the shower. Without the forced upgrade our situation would have been dire as it was 160SG$ for this was appalling. My worst choice of hotel ever and I travel at least once a month. I've stayed in better places in Singapore and i regret now not having spent another 10-15SG$ for something that would have been far superior to this.
The location won me over as I enjoy Little India but aside from the location I would find very little to recommend this hotel EVER.

Room Tip: If 2 people travelling and you do decide to stay here you have to go for the Executive Room option i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our service and location. However, we disappointed that we did not meet your expectation in some area during your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback about the leakage issue and we have since rectified it. As regards our mattress, we apologize that you did not feel comfortable, please be assured that we have noted your comment and will improve the quality. Experience of our guests’ is first priority for all of us and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products and services consistently.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We hope to have an opportunity to host you in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed in this hotel after reading views on tripadvisor, the best thing in the hotel is its cooperative staff & cleanliness, the problem with the hotel its very small room without any wardrobe, its breakfast facility in a south india restaurant attached to it with limited option. So dont prefer it over perak & grand chancellor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will definitely share your positive comments to the team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

One thing that does not fit with me about this hotel is the Indian-style food for breakfast. I really don't like the smell of Indian foods. This food makes me sick in the stomach
What I like with this hotel is its location close to mustafa center that is open 24 hours. And close to the mosque to pray.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Little India is an Indian heritage area where Indian, culture, food and environment can be experienced. The next door Indian restaurant serves authentic local Indian breakfast and we will continuously review ways to improve.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back again with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Little India

Address: 3 Veerasamy Road, Singapore 207309, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Grand Hotel Little India 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the junction of Serangoon and Veerasamy Road, the Santa Grand Hotel Little India is surrounded by places of interest such as Arab Street, Little India Arcade and a Sikh temple, not to mention the well known shopping haven Mustafa Centre and the sights, smells and sounds of Little India. Offers an intimate boutique setting, rich, distinctive floral motif and ethnic design, this hotel was converted from a five-storey 1950s building. It offers all the convenience of a modern hotel with fantastic guest services. Critically located in the heart of Singapore's Indian Cultural enclave, the hotel will provide marketing opportunities for mostly visitors who wish to experience a holiday with an Indian culture or festival, key of which will be Deepavali and Thaipusam. It would also be a big attraction for the more up-market visitors who are in town for business or for sourcing of luxury goods. The IT mecca of Sim Lim is a second major draw for Little India. With this internationally known IT mall on our doorstep, many visitors will select Little India specifically to take advantage of the fantastic selection of IT products and accessories that are on offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Little India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Little India Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Grand Hotel Little India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.