We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Little India

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Grand Hotel Little India to your Saves list
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Veerasamy Road, Singapore 207309, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The staff were friendly and quite helpful but the rooms very tiny, the beds hard and water leaked over the floor from the shower. Without the forced upgrade our situation would have been dire as it was 160SG$ for this was appalling. My worst choice of hotel ever and I travel at least once a month. I've stayed in better places in Singapore and i regret now not having spent another 10-15SG$ for something that would have been far superior to this.
The location won me over as I enjoy Little India but aside from the location I would find very little to recommend this hotel EVER.

Room Tip: If 2 people travelling and you do decide to stay here you have to go for the Executive Room option i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our service and location. However, we disappointed that we did not meet your expectation in some area during your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback about the leakage issue and we have since rectified it. As regards our mattress, we apologize that you did not feel comfortable, please be assured that we have noted your comment and will improve the quality. Experience of our guests’ is first priority for all of us and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products and services consistently.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We hope to have an opportunity to host you in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    84
    56
    14
    8
See reviews for
41
50
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed in this hotel after reading views on tripadvisor, the best thing in the hotel is its cooperative staff & cleanliness, the problem with the hotel its very small room without any wardrobe, its breakfast facility in a south india restaurant attached to it with limited option. So dont prefer it over perak & grand chancellor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will definitely share your positive comments to the team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

One thing that does not fit with me about this hotel is the Indian-style food for breakfast. I really don't like the smell of Indian foods. This food makes me sick in the stomach
What I like with this hotel is its location close to mustafa center that is open 24 hours. And close to the mosque to pray.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Little India is an Indian heritage area where Indian, culture, food and environment can be experienced. The next door Indian restaurant serves authentic local Indian breakfast and we will continuously review ways to improve.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back again with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For the price paid our room was very good. It was small although we had a deluxe room and there wasn't any space left for our luggage. But the room has a safe, aircondition and a separate bathroom with a shower. And it was very clean.
The staff was very friendly and provided helpful advises.
The hotel is situated in a small but busy street in Little India which is not very far away from the city center. A hop on, hop off city sightseeing bus station is very close by.
An indian breakfast is served in the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: It's better to chose a deluxe room as the standard rooms are very small and some do not have win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will definitely share your positive comments to the team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and efficient reception and cleaning staff. Greeted by name as soon as I arrived. My single room was clean with everything I expected but small with no view. Good as a base for a few days. Plenty cheap Indian shops & cafes nearby. Basic Indian breakfast included in cafe next door. MRT station (Little India) a few minutes walk for cheap transport into centre of Singapore or the airport (2 changes)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will definitely share your positive comments to the team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back again with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

1). The so called "de-luxe" room is really a very small room, in which you cannot storage your luggage. I had to upgrade the room (20 Euro more for one night) to stay more comfortably.
2). Another problem is the breakfast: no continental, but a southern indian vegetarian plate (roti, curry, veg) served in the restaurant close to the hotel.
3). The rooms are noisy.
4). Air condition did'nt work properly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

We recognize that some of the rooms are small but we do have larger room available. Guest can state their preference during the booking and we will try our best to accede to your request. As regards the breakfast, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation.The Indian restaurant serves authentic local Indian breakfast. However, we will look into the point that you raised personally and make improvement.

Whilst Santa Grand Hotel Little India may not be preferred by all travellers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel East Coast or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse need of customers.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have a chance to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in Santa Grand Hotel Little India for 3 days and it was truly a a great experience. The staff in this hotel are very courteous and extremly helpful. The rooms were clean and very well maintained. It had all the amenities such as WiFi, hot water, refrigirator, hot water kettle, hair dryer, television and lift facility. The locality of hotel is very good with great connectivity to whole of Singapore. Only thing that I think which needs improvement is the complimentary break fast provided in the resturant next door, but that is not a major concern as we have lot of vegetarian Indian resturant hotels close by which serves very good food.

Room Tip: Staff are very courteous and well mannered and it was a pleasure stay in Santa Grand Hotel Little In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Little India, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will also gladly share your positive comments to the team about the great service they offered.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back again with us!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Little India

Address: 3 Veerasamy Road, Singapore 207309, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Grand Hotel Little India 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the junction of Serangoon and Veerasamy Road, the Santa Grand Hotel Little India is surrounded by places of interest such as Arab Street, Little India Arcade and a Sikh temple, not to mention the well known shopping haven Mustafa Centre and the sights, smells and sounds of Little India. Offers an intimate boutique setting, rich, distinctive floral motif and ethnic design, this hotel was converted from a five-storey 1950s building. It offers all the convenience of a modern hotel with fantastic guest services. Critically located in the heart of Singapore's Indian Cultural enclave, the hotel will provide marketing opportunities for mostly visitors who wish to experience a holiday with an Indian culture or festival, key of which will be Deepavali and Thaipusam. It would also be a big attraction for the more up-market visitors who are in town for business or for sourcing of luxury goods. The IT mecca of Sim Lim is a second major draw for Little India. With this internationally known IT mall on our doorstep, many visitors will select Little India specifically to take advantage of the fantastic selection of IT products and accessories that are on offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Little India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Little India Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Grand Hotel Little India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.