We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service, food not worth it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Stones

Hot Stones
3D River Valley Road | #01-06 Clarke Quay, Singapore 179023, Singapore
(65) 63334868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,800 of 7,410 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Horrible service, food not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I could look past the terrible service (TERRIBLE) if the food was good. The crab cakes looked as if they were defrosted in the microwave, the cuts of meat look like they came from the local 711, and the atmosphere was under a literal spotlight. A total ripoff indeed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    11
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“If I could give it minus 5... I would.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Dreadful does not come anywhere near in describing this place. Avoid like the plague. Tasteless, raw and incredibly expensive steaks served up on a cold plate. Not a hot stone in sight. Avoid, Avoid Avoid!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Service + Blurr Service = Suck Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was there last Fri , heard about tis restuarant but my 1st visit to it on last fri nite.
A totally dissapointment when i was in the restuarant , i will never step back in there again.
There are too many choices to choose in clark quay , don't waste your time to try it out.
The protion of the food is so mini that a kid will not be filled up after eating. Not to mention an adult for the price they are asking.
So damn smokey dispite that they have their hoot turned on seems like its just an accessary not really working that well.
The people working there are not well trained to give proper services. They worked with their eyes closed i reckon. While they were trying to serve us our food they happily just pushed their way in.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Total Ripoff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

First of all, the menu prices are not cheap to begin with, especially so for a cook-it-yourself meal. One would have thought that the servings will be satisfactory but they were pathetic! And the service was totally unimpressive to begin with. They had none of the imported bottled beers nor sake reflected on the menu, and two separate servers came by to ask if we needed to place any orders for beverages when obviously our drinks were still 3/4 full! We asked for tap water and they don't serve that, only sells evain at $7. I can understand if this is an upscale reputable restaurant but it is not. How can u not serve water especially when u are selling wine? We had quite a few glasses to wine so naturally u'll want some water to hydrate yourself.
Apart from this, the exhaust was weak hence resulting in very poor ventilation. We walked out of that place smelling like BBQ food. All in all it was a huge disappointment. Definitely not worth it!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Shame.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we didn't know this was a cook yourself restaurant (on the boat). So I was very surprised at the prices once we ordered and then told to cook it ourselves. The service was ok, but the poor "one" girl was rushed off her feet. The food was good tho (entree we didn't have to cook), good thing I know how to cook a steak!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Stones also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Hot Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Stones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.