We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scammy and below average” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tak Po

Tak Po
42 Smith Street, Singapore, Singapore (Chinatown)
+65 6225 0302
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,115 of 7,750 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Augsburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Scammy and below average”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We ate here with a group of five people. Every dish we ordered was smaller than expected and not good at all. The total price was 50$ and everyone was still hungry at the end. 3$ of this price was for the peanuts and wet napkins. This is a common scam they do to tourists in Beijing. At least you know it is authentic I guess. I tried four dishes and could not eat any of them. Someone ordered the frog and for 8$ it had about 25 grams of meat. Not good value ‚ quality‚ and they scam you. Definitely a must miss.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
“Food is good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Food is good / fair. 5/10. Not as good as Tim Ho Wan dim sum, but less expensive. Service was fast with the usual Singaporian style. Oh, and as others have said, be prepared for the mandatory peanut and napkin charge, lol.. It is a small price charge ( I forget the actual amount ) , but funny never the less…

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent dim sum at a very reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We went looking for this place in Chinatown as we had eaten there before . The menu is easy to follow and all the dishes are shown in pictures in case you aren't sure. It's not a posh place and the service is very efficient if not that friendly. We were served very quickly with the order spot on. They did add on small amounts for the wet tissue and peanuts that is a bit cheeky when you don't ask for them, the tissue for example was $0.30. We had a good selection of food and didn't leave anything. Would definately recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rude service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not a good atmosphere and the staff was very rude. When we asked a question about the food the waiter was not helpful at all and exclaimed "OMG", left and ignored us. They charge extra for peanuts, wet napkins and 7% GST without mentioning it anywhere. Food was eatable but not good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEDAN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice food with average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

we came here on sunday night.. hard to find the seat. very crowded. the waiter/staff very busy...
we order rice roll char siew, pork congee, claypork sliced pork, rice with chicken.
food are delicious and superb..but the service could be better, maybe because of the crowded situation.
toilet is very dirty.
price is average.
overall is good. recommended for family with young children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tak Po also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tak Po? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tak Po, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.