We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Out of 3 Isn't Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2 to your Saves list
Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2
Departure Transit Lounge South, Level 3, Changi Int'l Airport Terminal 2, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 298 Hotels in Singapore
McLeans Ridges, NSW, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One Out of 3 Isn't Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A transit hotel should be judged on 3 criteria - Location, Comfort & Quietness. After all, the primary purpose is to provide some down time inbetween flights.
The Ambassador certainly gets a thumbs up for Location. It is in the Singapore Airport premises, so you couldn't get much closer to your next connecting flight.
Comfort. Well if you like rock hard mattresses, then this is the place for you. If you also like rock hard, high pillows, then you are on a winner. I don't. Any other hotel in this price category would offer a range of pillows so you could work out a combination that suits you. This is probably a result of not having a wardrobe in the room, so there is nowhere to store extra pillows.
Quietness. I found it rather bizarre that I could not hear the roar of jets taking off and landing not far from my room, yet I could clearly hear the conversations of the mum, dad & 2 young daughters in an adjoining room, who were not there for a quiet rest before their next flight! So, the expected sleep time did not happen, and I am at a loss to understand the noise levels in a modern hotel such as this.
It is not cheap, and if you are in Singapore for more than 12 hours you might consider leaving the airport for another hotel. My 14 hour stay was disappointing.
Having said all this, the room was clean and provided most of what you might want on a brief stopover, and I can see why travellers on a short break might find this a refreshing place to stay.

Room Tip: You can't choose your neighbours, and when in Asia you learn to expect the 'concrete' ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    148
    62
    11
    6
See reviews for
44
77
85
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The ambassador transit hotel in Singapore airport was a perfect spot to rest in between flights. The rooms are clean, fairly small but comfortable. The front desk staff was friendly. Would use it again in my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A fantastic solution to a long layover. I have used this facility several times and cannot speak highly enough of the experience. As usual my room was immaculate, nicely furnished, complimentary coffee/tea, TV, alarm radio, comfortable bed and well equipped en-suite. It still amazes me that your right above the concourse, 30 seconds to the shops and you cannot hear a thing. The staff are efficient and pleasant........it's an oasis and just what you need on a long haul flight.

Room Tip: Their all good but you do need to book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Pluses:
* Staff at reception have improved a lot over the years - even offered me an 30 mininutes free when checking in
* Rooms (particularly the bathrooms) are improved/ cleaner/ fresher
* Location is unbelievable - where else can you be in your hotel room with 5 minutes of leaving the plane.

Cons:
* No bedside reading lights now - those ceiling mounted LED lights are not good for in-bed reading
* The room costs keep rising well above inflation - now S$153 for a 12 hr stay..

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - some of the corridor rooms get quite noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed in Terminal 2 Transit Hotel from 4 AM to 10 AM, the usual 6 hour slot. Check in was extremely quick just what we needed. Beds were comfy and we had a great sleep and much welcomed shower. Everything was clean, there was coffee/tea and kettle with cups which was great.There was a TV which we didn't use. Check out was also very quick.
Hotel is on the 3rd level and you can easily find it if you follow the TRANSIT HOTEL signs :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked a 6 hour block here on the way to Vietnam. Very easy to find, very clean and a great shower after a few hours sleep. Would look at this again after a overnight flight. Good valve for money. $80 I think we'll worth it. Woke up before the wake up call and they were a bit concerned that we left.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

transit hotel has all the basic amenities for a short nap and shower during a stopover. Rates are charged per hour so is perfect to freshen up after a long flight. The hotels are basically converted warehouse space so dont expect hotel standard furnishing. There was no window in the room we stayed in but the bathroom and toilet facilities were excellent. lots to do around the hotel as singapore airport is a city in itself. Plenty of food and drink nearby.

watch out for signs to the hotel as they are not clearly displayed - but otherwise ask the information desks for location details. Make sure to call ahead and confirm your booking as the rooms are quite busy throughout the day. check in is quick and done on the spot.

Room Tip: advise to stay in the hotel located in your departure terminal as the commute from 2 to 3 is about 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2

Address: Departure Transit Lounge South, Level 3, Changi Int'l Airport Terminal 2, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 298 Hotels in Singapore
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2 Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.