We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, comfortable, convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2
Departure Transit Lounge South, Level 3, Changi Int'l Airport Terminal 2, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Basic, comfortable, convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very conveniently located in terminal 2, just follow the signs to the "airport hotel". We did not make reservations and stayed on the day after Chinese New Year. We were so glad they had availability! Upon entering the room I was struck by how clean the bedroom area was, although completely basic... no pictures or wall hangings at all. That's fine, I was just there to sleep. The bathroom was clean with the exception of the shower drain which was full of nasty hair... which made me opt for wearing shower shoes. You can unfortunately hear hallway noise (people talking, opening/closing doors) very clearly and the airport wifi does not reach the rooms. Otherwise, a very comfortable stay. You may also need to know that rooms are rented by 6 hrs, but we added an hour to make 7. Affordable option considering this is Singapore!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    133
    59
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
71
76
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

For an overnight stopover in Singapore that is not long enough to make it worth while wandering out of the Changi Airport, the Ambassador Hotel provides a temporary refuge. The rooms are very much in demand so better make a reservation well ahead of your travel date. Their web site suggests two weeks before arrival.
Even the well planned trip is not immune from Murphy’s Law as I found myself walking into the hotel recently asking for a room. As expected the rooms were fully booked except for the budget rooms, which I assumed were unoccupied because of the on-going renovation of which the guests were earnestly warned of possible noise in the room. But I took the risk and was not bothered at all. I must have been in deep slumber after a long flight.
The budget room is very basic but adequate for a restful sleep. The bed is not the best but good enough, the room and common bathroom and toilet are clean. The room has one single bed, a flat screen TV and complementary bottle of water but no free wifi service in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very good for what it is a transit hotel; recently refurbished room; very clean; no internet access, but free outside hotel in terminal; not normally 'picky', but pillows ridiculously large and firm; rooms available with or without windows.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Good, clean room, but no internet connection and bad TV reception. Good for sleeping and nothing else. Also, construction is going on and can be noisy. No refund once you decide how many 6 hour blocks you are booking.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welkom, Freestate
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently traveled from Auckland to Johannesburg via Singapore. I was accompanied by my Grandchildren aged 11 and 8. Our lay-over time was 7 and a half hours, a long time when travelling with children. I booked the Transit Room for the 6 hour period and it was the best thing we could have done. We had a lovely shower, managed to get about 4 hours sleep and with a change of clothing we were ready for the next long flight to Johannesburg. The Hotel offers a wake up service so there is no problem with oversleeping. The 'windowless' rooms do have a bit of a claustrophobic feel about them but it didn't worry us. The rooms are clean and well equipped with essential toiletries and a tea/coffee making facility but beware of asking for extra towels, there is a $5 charge per towel (2 towels were provided but we were 3 occupants). It would have been nice to have had access to the free wi-fi available on the airport and I agree with other travelers that one does feel somewhat disconnected from the rest of the world once inside the room. All things taken into consideration I would highly recommend making use of this facility if you have a long wait for a connecting flight, it was worth every cent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The place is well maintained, very quite for sensitive sleepers and ideally located in the middle of the Terminal.
Yea, they should have WiFi access in the rooms, one feels like disconnected from the rest of the world once you are in this room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel books on a 6 hour block. Room was fine. Bed and Shower fine. Checkin and checkout quick and easy. Location great. Only comment is that they should have free wifi as the rest of the airport just a a few steps away has free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2

Address: Departure Transit Lounge South, Level 3, Changi Int'l Airport Terminal 2, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#98 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2 Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.