We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas and Much More in Singapore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Spanish Bar & Restaurant

Serenity Spanish Bar & Restaurant
No. 1 Harbour Front Walk, Vivo City #01-98/99, Singapore 098585, Singapore (Formerly Serenity Restaurant & Bistro)
63768185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,440 of 7,750 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tapas and Much More in Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My most favorite dish is Paella Valenciana and was more than pleasantly surprised that one of the best I have found anywhere would be at Vivo City in Singapore. But it wasn't just the Paella. We ordered the whole Roast Suckling Pig (need to preorder 1 day in advance with a deposit of 50% of the price). The presentation was superb and the Pig was so perfectly prepared that it was cut with the use of a plate after which the plate is smashed - an authentic Spanish tradition. The skin was perfectly crispy and the meat was juicy and fork tender. There were 6 people in our party and we devoured the whole pig and 90% of the paella. What is truly impressive is that we started with a tapas of fried baby squid (deicious) and a salad and ended with a shared pineapple soup for dessert (outstanding). It was a gastranomic feast which more than lived up to expectations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    22
    24
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Candlelight Dinner - Valentine's Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The restaurant was so romantic with the Valentine Decorations. The lights were dimly lit and so Romantic with the candlelights. The place was not very corweded and less noicy, but was live with Valentine's Day Romantic Candlelight Dinner mood. We were seated near to live band and still can see the Harbour View with Resort World Sentosa Casino.
Por Staters were Seafood soup and Bread. The hot soup came with right amount of seafood. Soup was creamy and well balanced with paprika. For Maincourse, I had grilled beef and my hubby had the cod fish. Dessert was Churros with hot chocolate and Honey Backed Orange. $120+ bill for 2 person was not cheap, with tasty food, romantic mood ambience and with live band singing romantic love songs, it was worth the spent.
The service was much more better, compared to my previous visit. We had a memorable Valentine Dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“left feeling ripped off and do not plan to go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visited for a few happy hour beverages - surprised that the server decided to serve a premium alcohol that was not included in the happy hour pricing , so my bill was double what i expected - when asked about the charges he insisted on the pricing - i relented , paid, and left vowing never to return

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tasty tapas. A bit oily and a tad expensive. Decent variety.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

They had a pretty diverse menu of tapas. I found many of the dishes a bit too oily though. The signature crispy duck was extremely tasty, but nonetheless also a tad oily. If it were less oily the signature crispy duck would have been perfect. Expensive for what you get, though. I dont know what the standards are for tapas in singapore. I wasn't blown away, decent, but I do hope there is better in Singapore. Service slightly slow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good tasty food but at a cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Seated and addressed promptly we found the extensive menu rather daunting with so many items that looked worth trying.

We had:

one red and one white sangria - very good, if a little on the small side.

Pan con Alioli - the house, home made herb bread - nice but rare to need to pay for bread in Singapore.

Calamares a la plancha - Freshly grilled squid - tender and well cooked, very tasty

Chistorra - Sauteed Spanish Chistorra sausage - pleasant but nothing to particularly write about.

Salteado de Setas - sauted mixed mushrooms with garlic - a very tasty tapas

Almejas de vino blanco - sauted clams in White Wine - again tasty and a good tapas portion

Finally we had a 1/4 suckling pig which was very well cooked, tender and worth recommending.

But for 2 sangrias, 4 tapas dishes, a bread plate and and 1/4 of a small piglet was it really worth a S$300 bill for two at lunch?

Sadly I think not and that is the let down, good but overpriced for what is a restaurant in a shopping centre

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serenity Spanish Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Serenity Spanish Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenity Spanish Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.