We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen to your Saves list
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189657, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BED+BREAKFAST+WIFI
Ranked #47 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I traveled to Singapore with friends in June and our pockets were a little tight so Hotel Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen came to the rescue. Being a Budget-Hotel it provided us cheap rooms for a make-do sort of comfortable stay. Hotel Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen is ideally located among Singapore’s most significant landmarks. Located on the city’s museum belt, The Hotel 81 Bencoolen is between a 5-10 minute walk to the National Museum, the National art Museum, and the Esplenade. Guests are also within walking distance of the shopping hub of Orchard Road, as well as Bugis Junction and Marina Square. It is also close to Dhoby Ghaut MRT, which is the biggest MRT station in Singapore. There are many food courts and inexpensive dining options surrounding the building, which is one of the many reasons the area is popular with the backpacking community.

When slightly low on money, Hotel Ibis Singapore on bencoolen , the budget hotel can provide you a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    2,466
    667
    75
    33
See reviews for
859
1,592
645
728
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We keep coming back and stay here every time coming to Singapore. The room is clean and has all the amenities we need. The hotel is well located near all the shops (e.g. great electronics shopping at Sim Lim Square right across the street) and food courts. Make sure if you are flying with Singapore Airlines, get a discount vouchers to stay at ibis at discount rate and free hotel-airport transfer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Proximity to Little India makes this a great location to stay.
Overall, good value

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Bus stop just in front of the hotel.
Bugis MRT only 5 minutes walk. Restaurants are around the corner.
Room is clean and big for Singapore standard.
Staffs are friendly and helpful.
They can arrange airport transport but you should make the reservation a day before as this transportation is not arrange by the hotel.
Taxi is really easy to get.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

the hotel staff is very unhelpful and not understanding. after profusely apologizing for arriving late on the day of arrival, e.g. book on the 25 and arrive at 26th morning, i was forced to pay for the night of 25th on which i did not manage to stay. i have also explain that my flight was delayed and cancellation was not possible since i took a 12 hour flight.
it would have been better if they charge me simply on the 26th onwards and simply cancel the 25th charges.
because of this, i am terribly discouraged to stay at the hotel after knowing that their charges are incredibly irrational (changing from one day to another)
in the end , i decided to visit another cheaper and better hotel just down the road.good for me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and we regret that we fail to provide you with the true ibis hospitality during your stay.

We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we had review on the areas of concern and corrective measures were put in place.

Rest assured that your experience was definitely not a true reflection of our standards and we are pleased to inform that we have attained the ISO 9001 certification late last year.

Hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to redeem ourselves and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best Regards,
Nam
Quality Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Hotel Ibis on Bencoolen in Singapore

Warmly welcome by bell girls from concierge when we arrived the hotel.
No problems at check in, quick, efficiency.
We took double beds room, and room is smaller than we thought, but tidy, clean. We did not see the mini-bar (which is very useful, if we buy milk, some soft drink from outside.) and felt something strange at that time. However, we saw it on our second day. We stayed at the hotel 3 nights.
Just some amenities, but has hair dryer, free Internet Wi-Fi in the room and free Internet for room guests (you have to give your email address to use it). There is (pay self-laundry) and free self-Ironing (Iron and Iron board) at the 3rd Floor. It is really good for some travelers.
The hotel location is very good. It is near 7-11 chain store, Bugis food junction, Bugis MRT station and busy business district.
We went to Marina convention center to attend Exhibition from the hotel. We are 4 persons and we decided to take taxi instead of going by bus or by MRT. So, we took taxi every morning to there from the hotel. You should also know about the taxi fare in Singapore. http://www.taxisingapore.com/taxi-fare
You have to aware about these “Surcharges” which are very rare to see in other countries.

“Peak Hour Surcharge”
Mon - Fri (6:00am to 9:30am) 25% of metered fare
Mon - Sun & Public Holidays (6:00pm to midnight) 25% of metered fare

Midnight Surcharge
Midnight to 5:59am 50% of metered fare

Central Business District (CBD) Surcharge
Mon - Sun & Public Holidays (5:00pm to midnight) $3.00

Location Surcharges
Changi Airport & Changi Air Freight Centre
- Fri to Sun (5:00pm to midnight)
- At all other times
$5.00
$3.00
Seletar Airport $3.00
Marina Bay Sands
- Sun & Public Holidays (6:00am to 4:59pm)
$3.00
Resorts World Sentosa $3.00
Singapore Expo Centre $2.00

Booking Fees Normal Limousine Chrysler
Mon - Fri (6:00am to 9:30am) $3.30 $10.00 $10.00
Mon - Sun & Public Holidays (6:00pm to midnight) $3.30 $10.00 $10.00
All other times including Sat, Sun and Public Holidays $2.30 $10.00 $10.00
Advanced Bookings (at least half an hour in advance) $8.00 $18.00 $20.00

Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) Charges
Please reimburse our driver for the ERP charges incurred during trip and for Fuji Xerox Tower drop-off.

In the conclusion, their hotel service is not bad, good location and good traffic communication. But there is a small room for two business people and lack of some amenities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni, Cyprus
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was a new hotel.Everything is well maintained and clean.
The staffs were friendly and communicative (in singaporean style).
The rooms were extremely satisfying, good view, quite vast for the hotel with the class.
The bathroom was nice and very accomodating and comfortable.
The bathroom amenities was very well equipped.
On the other hand, the room maid sometimes forgot to refill the soap and the sugar/coffee in the rooms.
Great location very near to Bugis MRT and junction.
Quite recommended for everyone who is looking for comfortable hotel near to the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Address: 170 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189657, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#43 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen 3*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal hotel location in Singapore next to Singapore shopping & business centers. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel .8-minute walk to Bugis MRT.TASTE Restaurant serves breakfast and local Singapore dishes. Best Economy Hotel in Asia Pacific by TTG in 2009-12.Certificate of Excellence awarded by Tripadvisor in 2012-14.FREE WiFi access, international adaptors, USB chargers, complimentary access to 2,300 newspapers, free use of a bicycle and EZ link card. TASTE Serves international breakfast and local Singapore dishes in tapas style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Singapore On Bencoolen Hotel Singapore
Accor Singapore On Bencoolen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.