We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room gap in window tight stairway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Haising Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Haising Hotel to your Saves list
Haising Hotel
37 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208801, Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“small room gap in window tight stairway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

booked on net for location there was severe construction work on road outside. Easy check-in but nobody would help us with suitcases even they had time. Clean and useful shower. Pity the window had a 1 cm gap what made the air conditioning struggle and the noise in.
Easy walk to local attractions and Bugis train station one could fare worse.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
3
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

its not a luxury hotel but it has a great location and it is clean. the showers are hot and that makes it excellent after a long day of walking - shop till you drop in sim lim square across the road or little india downstairs and behind. I slept well but the front rooms can be noisy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It's clean and for that price (around S$55 - 65 for single room), you never expect it would have at least 3 star facilities. You got your own towel (clean towel everyday if you request it), and they clean your room everyday with no extra charge just like a 4 or 3 star hotel, after heavy walking through out the day it's really nice to have an extra clean room, what I mean extra is, after heavy walk, exhausted and tired you will find your room spotless and ready to be sleep in.

The only drawback is you have to walk extra to find the MRT especially the Little India MRT (Little India, which is much less crowded then the Bugis MRT (also within walking distance, closer at least 5 - 8 minutes, while little india you will need 10 min walk). So after walking around all day, it's quite disconcerting to have to walk a long way to reach your hotel.

Room Tip: Choose level 3, they got wall with windows facing the neighborhood while level 2 is too stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I are backpacking around the world, we booked 6 nights here due to the low cost. If I had known what I do now, I wouldn't have bothered coming to Songapore for more than 1 or 2 days and stayed in a real hotel ( or even a hostel - I'm sure they'd be cleaner)!
I don't know where to start - basically, we've paid to be kept awake for 5 nights. You can hear everything from the paper-thin walls - when we stayed there was an obese man next to us who kept us awake by snoring and someone who was constantly being sick and making disgusting noises on the other side. There were also kids crying and TVs turned up loud. I could have slept better on the road! Then finally when I do fall asleep at 9am sharp every morning they blast classical music throughout the whole 'hotel' whilst the cleaners shout at each other from different floors. I am tired and miserable.
The bed sheets are absolutely disgusting - stained with urine, blood and probably other bodily fluids (looks and smells like they haven't been washed). I've used my own blanket that I got on the plane.
The first night we were greeted by red ants crawling all over the bed and pillows. Management sprayed them - leaving us to breathe in chemicals all night - I also got bitten all up my leg by bed bugs or ants.
They then moved us to a room without a window - it absolutely stank of mould.
I now feel ill from breathing in damp - also our clothes and shoes are wet from the rain and won't dry off.
This really isn't worth the money - I'm checking out a day early to go somewhere nice with a washing mahine and bath. I feel dirty and poorly.
If you haven't got the funds to stay somewhere nice in Singapore, I strongly suggest you don't bother coming!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed there more than 5 times during my trips around 2010-2012.Situated at Jalan Besar, close to Sim Lim Tower and at a Walking distance from two MRT stations (Bugis and Little India). You have an internet cafe downstairs. Cheers and 7/11 are extremely close by. There is a bus stop , next to the hotel ( at the bang opposite of the door ). The hotel staff are excellent, helpful and warm. The rooms are small with TV and Air Conditioning and a tiny toilet attached to it.( I stayed in single room always. There are double rooms available as well. There are two types of single rooms One with window and other without. There is no elevator. The hotel is managed by people who are warm, hospitable and helpful. There is a smaller food court downstairs on both sides of its entrance. The standard air conditioned food courts are there at Sim Lim Tower as well. The hotel offers you morning tea/coffee in a sachet. The new block rooms are better. The single room with window works well with me for all my of my trips. You can keep two luggage packed . Wi fi worked. Frankly speaking I do not have any more expectation being a single solo budget traveler. The hotel is approachable from Singapore Airport and taxis are easily available. Forgot to mention that the room is also having telephone.Good stay for budget and solo travelers. Highly recommend. If you are slightly of walking type, every thing appears close by. Great Value.

Room Tip: I stayed in standard single with window. As there is no elevator, the first floor rooms are best. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Me and my friends ended up at this hotel after fleeing from a (well-known) hostel that was heavily under construction. For an even lower price than the hostel, this hotel offers large, air-conditioned rooms with tv and your own bathroom. The location is great and located nearby SimLim Square and Bugis Junction. See you next time! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

You'll be warned when you book that rooms are very small and most are windowless. Friendly staff and good location, close to Bugis and Little India MRT stations. Good hawker centre and Bugis markets a very short walk away. Surprisingly quiet, apart from calls to prayer from a nearby mosque. Rooms have seen better days, but with good free wifi and location this is a good budget choice for able-bodied people. Be warned that there is no lift, so it would not be suitable for people with mobility problems.

Room Tip: With work going on till 2017 on development of a new railway station in Jalan Besar I doubt whether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haising Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haising Hotel

Address: 37 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208801, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Haising Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haising Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haising Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.