We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation needed ASAP” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Singapore to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Singapore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Renovation needed ASAP”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Curbside Impression: Stuck in the 80s.

Check in/out: Staff was courteous and helpful

Room: The minute we walked into our room, it reeked of cigarette smoke. The room was constantly humid and the A/C did nothing but circulated the smoky smell inside the room. Since the humidity was so high, I quickly pulled the bedsheets off to check for bed bugs, fortunately, I found none, but did spot quite a few pubic hair. I felt so uncomfortable, I slept in long sleeves to add another layer between myself and the mattress. The carpet looked and felt dirty. kept our slippers on 24/7.

Bathroom: The worst part of the room was the bathroom, it reeked of mildew. In fact, it smelled like the inside of an old Chinese dim sum restaurant. Black stains along the bath tub and after every shower, no matter how careful you are, we ended up with a big puddle of water in the middle of the bathroom floor.

We hated our bathroom so much that we tried to go as many times as possible when we were in nice shopping malls to avoid using our own.

Breakfast: Good selection of Asian and some western food.

Location: OK if you don't mind a 8-10 mins walk from the nearest subway stop. Easy bus stop out front for connection to all major tourist attractions.

Verdict: Go somewhere else, unless you have no other choice, or until they renovate the property.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    175
    176
    68
    56
See reviews for
111
75
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Bad attitude at check-in. Rooms filthy and loud. Found old socks under bed. Full of groups from China: Loud and unruly. Put us in wrong room. Asked us to repack. then changed again. High prices. Poor location. zero value beyond a bed. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July 2010. We had to have 2 rooms as they didn't seem to have family rooms or rooms for 2 adults and 2 children which is a pity and made it very expensive. However they did give us adjoining rooms, although not the promised upgrade that we were entitled too, and when I asked for a late check out, we were allowed an extra hour although the hotel wasn't busy (again this were supposed to be part of our booking). The furniture in the rooms was old fashioned but it was fine and the rooms were clean and quiet. The fridge was empty and you could have a mini bar on request which we thought was a great idea. Didn't use the restaurants as very expensive and plenty of food places nearby. Pool was quite small but underutilised so no problem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

From the first impression you can already tell this Hotel is not really presentable. Reception is small, everything is a bit worn out and the arrangement of VIP Rooms, Restaurants, breakfast room quite confusing. The room, it was an upgrade, still disappointing. They "added" a small room, furnished it with a sofa a table and a tv, no carpet but lamination... more like a waiting area at a low tier dentist. Worst thing, even if common in southeast asia: the frowst. Like mildew... Air con is leaking, windows don't really close and at the same time can't be opened. And it's loud outside... Breakfast is a torture. Especially if you are not a morning person you will like the crowded and loud cantine atmosphere.. no corner to hide. A picture on the wall, or a lamp on the desk would be helpful if you wanted to work in the evenings... New bedclothes would be nicer to sleep in then the worn out ones...And if you are the kind of person who likes to have ensured nightlife amusement in your hotel instead of going out and try your luck, you might make use of the nightclub, the KTV, or the "Vip-Room"... Well what's positive? Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We went to Singapore last year around April 2009 for 5 days for our honeymoon. We booked the room in Hotel Royal for 5 days. The weather was fine during the month of April. t is located on Newton road, very close to Orchard road and the rooms are beautiful and nice and clean. Entering the hotel area, there is a beautiful little pond with the golden fishes.

We used to go to Orchard road by local transport bus. Commuting is quick in Singapore and metro is the best medium of travel. The hotel has a nice restaurant and the buffet is served all three time. But we only pick the breakfast buffet. They serve american, english, indian and european food styles. Inside the room, a nice little fridge is present and loaded with cans of beer and other beverages. The cans in the fridge are not free.

The bathrooms are pretty nice and have showers. They also have a digital safe inside the wardrobe to keep the valuables. There are pubs and nearby markets near the hotel. The nearest metro station is Novena square and it is around 15 mins walk from the hotel.

Inside the hotel there are some shops also, and i bought the local mobile SIM and some post cards. The famous local mobile network is Singtel.

Overall i like the hotel and would definitely visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

As an airline pilot I live in Hotels! This one is fantastic value . The breakfast alone is worth the stay. The 24 hour coffee shop really is 24 hours and serves beer etc. The bars are good as is the shop. It takes about 4 mins to walk to Novena MRT and buses and taxis are nearly always available outside hotel . An added bonus is the availability of a tour operator in the lobby. The staff were all friendly and the facilities and rooms clean Will go again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Due to the nature of my travel I stayed in three "value hotels" whne in Singapore last week. Thomson Value Thomson, Aquuen Lavendar, and this one. I liked this one best!

Pro's: of the three closest to the MRT, but it's still a hike. The room they gave me was very large! I liked the amenities, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff here was fantastic-- warm, helpful, engaging, and sincerley interested in your requests. I asked about visiting a museum and they provided me eveything I needed, up to bus routes.

Cons- the rooms do need to be updated or remodeled. The oher two hotels are very new, this one is not. What you get in exchange is warm friendly staff, much larger rooms, a potentially better location, and a real large choice for breakfast.

If you're looking for a place to sleep, the other two are best, if you want value and will be looking for some room and some tourist advice and guidance, the Royal is a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal is strategically located right in the heart of Singapore's most exclusive district and is only minutes away from the renowned shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. The Novena MRT Station is within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. There are 3 major shopping malls namely Novena Square, Velocity and Square 2 are directly above the station. Public transport such as taxis & buses are also easily available from the hotel's main entrance to bring guests to all parts of Singapore. Guests staying in the hotel's newly refurbished 331 spacious guests' rooms and suites will enjoy 'Every Room A Home' feeling as all the rooms & suites are comfortably furnished with shades of beige curtains and bedspreads to blend with a contemporary colored wallpaper to enhance the cosiness of the rooms.Our rooms are among the most spacious in Singapore. For guests' convenience & entertainment, we have added a wireless broadband internet access facility and also additional satellite and cable TV channels linked to all guest rooms & suites, apart from the hotel's present 24 hours in-house movie channels. The hotel's 24 hours Trishaw Coffee House offers mouth-watering local delicacies and irresistible desserts. Room service is also available 24 hours. Weekend Hi-Tea Buffet is very well accepted by local & foreign guests. Other food & beverage dining like the Jade Room Chinese Restaurant offers daily lunch & dinner steamboat buffet and is a fabulous place to dine in comfort, whilst the Japanese restaurant Kandagawa (level 3), is well-appreciated for authentic Japanese cuisine & decor in the restaurant. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food.The latest added facilities are an in-house Gym for the health-conscious and also a Self-Launderette & Ironing Room for guests who prefers to do their own laundry whilst staying in the hotel.Please come by to Hotel Royal and experience the Traditional Royal Service that we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.